Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety >> Risk Assessment Studies Print Friendly

Joint Consumer Council Study: Sodium Content in Local Meal-on-One-Plate

Abstract

1. Excessive intake of sodium (salt) may have higher risk of developing hypertension. Untreated high blood pressure can lead to heart attack , stroke and kidney failure, etc. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), high proportions of sodium in the diet come from salt added in cooking and from sauces in Asian countries, while meal-on-one-plate (MOOP) is one of the categories of staple food in local daily diet. The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) and the Consumer Council (CC) thus have conducted a joint study, and tested the sodium content in some MOOP that are commonly available in local restaurants , as well as checked the nutrition labelling information of some of these prepackaged MOOP. This study aims to measure and compare among food outlets the levels of sodium in some local MOOP dishes; inform and assist the public to make informed choices when eating out; and encourage the trade to provide MOOP items with less sodium through recipe reformulation.

The Study

2. The study covered 100 samples (10 types) of non-prepackaged MOOP collected from Chinese, Western and Asian restaurants, local style cafés and fast-food chains during July to September 2016, which were tested for the sodium content by the Food Research Laboratory. Moreover, 3 more non-prepackaged samples of “steamed rice with barbecued pork without sauce” were collected and tested so as to understand the effect of the addition of sauce on the sodium content of MOOP. In addition, 8 samples (3 types) of prepackaged MOOP were obtained from supermarkets and retail outlets, and their sodium contents as declared on nutrition labelling were examined.

3. The mean, minimum and maximum sodium content per 100 g of the 10 types of non-prepackaged MOOP samples are summarised in the table below. Mean sodium content of “fried noodles with preserved vegetable and spare rib” ranked the highest whereas that of “steamed rice with bean curd sheet and roasted pork” ranked the lowest.

MOOP types

No. of non-prepackaged samples

Sodium content (mg/100 g)

Mean

Minimum

Maximum

Fried noodles with preserved vegetable and spare rib
( 味菜排骨炒麵 )

10

470

350

600

Braised E-Fu noodles
( 干燒伊麵 )

10

410

250

500

Spaghetti Bolognese
( 肉醬意粉 )

10

350

210

430

Fried rice noodles with sliced beef
( 乾炒牛肉河粉 )

10

340

230

440

Baked pork chop with rice
( 焗豬扒飯 )

10

340

240

460

Fried rice in Fujian-style
( 福建炒飯 )

10

310

180

420

Steamed rice with curry beef brisket
( 咖喱牛腩飯 )

10

270

190

390

Steamed rice with barbecued pork
( 叉燒飯 )

10

260

170

320

Steamed rice with chicken in scrambled egg sauce
( 日式滑蛋雞飯 /親子丼 )

10

240

150

320

Steamed rice with bean curd sheet and roasted pork
( 枝竹火腩飯 )

10

230

110

310

Overall

100

320

110

600

4. Sodium content varied quite widely among restaurants within certain MOOP types (e.g. a maximum sodium difference of nearly two folds was observed in “steamed rice with bean curd sheet and roasted pork”). This suggests that it is practicably possible for the trade to reduce the sodium content in MOOP.

5 . The mean sodium contribution of the 10 types of non-prepackaged MOOP to WHO’s recommended limit of daily intake (2,000 mg sodium per day) is summarised in the table below. Among all 100 MOOP samples, one portion of MOOP contributed a mean of 100% of WHO’s recommended limit of daily sodium intake. Nearly half of the samples contained sodium contents over WHO’s recommended limit of daily intake in one portion, while all samples contained sodium contents over one-third of that limit in one portion.

MOOP types

Mean sodium contribution to WHO’s recommended limit of daily intake in one portion [ range]

Number of sample reached WHO’s recommended limit of daily sodium intake in one portion

Fried noodles with preserved vegetable and spare rib
( 味菜排骨炒麵 )

150% [100-250%]

10

Fried rice in Fujian-style
( 福建炒飯 )

130% [ 89-150% ]

7

Braised E-Fu noodles
( 干燒伊麵 )

120% [ 65-210% ]

8

Steamed rice with curry beef brisket
( 咖喱牛腩飯 )

110% [ 59-170% ]

4

Baked pork chop with rice
( 焗豬扒飯 )

110% [ 81- 140 % ]

6

Fried rice noodles with sliced beef
( 乾炒牛肉河粉 )

100% [ 62-150%]

6

Spaghetti Bolognese
( 肉醬意粉 )

91% [ 35-130% ]

4

Steamed rice with bean curd sheet and roasted pork
( 枝竹火腩飯 )

73% [ 34-97% ]

0

Steamed rice with barbecued pork
( 叉燒飯 )

63% [ 37-91% ]

0

Steamed rice with chicken in scrambled egg sauce
( 日式滑蛋雞飯 / 親子丼 )

63% [ 44-88% ]

0

Overall

100% [ 34-250% ]

45

6. For the three types of prepackaged MOOP samples collected in this study, prepackaged “spaghetti Bolognese” was found to have mean sodium content per 100 g higher than that of its non-prepackaged counterparts. The mean sodium contents per 100 g of prepackaged and non-prepackaged “baked pork chop with rice” were relatively the same. On the other hand, prepackaged “steamed rice with curry beef brisket” was found to have mean sodium content per 100 g lower than that of its non-prepackaged counterparts. The findings suggested that both prepackaged and non-prepackaged products might have rooms for reformulation for lowering the sodium content.

7. The results of this study also showed that when having “steamed rice with barbecued pork” without consuming sauce, the reduced sodium intake accounted for as much as ~30% of WHO’s recommended daily limit. Similarly, when having “steamed rice with curry beef brisket ” without consuming gravy, the reduced sodium intake reached a quarter of WHO’s recommended daily limit on average. These results implied that limiting the consumption of sauce or gravy in MOOP could reduce sodium intake effectively.

Advice to Consumers

  • Limit the consumption of MOOP high in sodium and those MOOP items contain ingredients with high salt content (e.g. pickles, salted fish, preserved sausages).
  • Request no or less sauce to be added on MOOP; and ask for “less salt” or “less salty” option of the food.
  • Request dishes to be served separately from rice/noodles when making order, and taste before adding gravy.
  • Beware of the portion size of MOOP, share with others when the portion size is large.
  • Take note of the nutrient content to choose the suitable MOOP, such as reading nutrition labelling, making reference to the result of this study or the Nutrition Information Inquiry System (NIIS) of the CFS. When selecting a healthier option, apart from sodium content, other nutrition information such as fat content is also important.

Advice to the Trade

  • Avoid using food high in salt (e.g. pickles, salted fish, preserved sausages) or limit the amount when using such food by replacing with fresh ingredients, herbs and spices. Rinse or soak pickles in water when used, and adjust the amount of added salt and other sodium-containing seasonings.
  • Make reference to the CFS’ “Trade Guidelines for Reducing Sodium in Foods” to reformulate recipe and reduce adding salt and seasonings.
  • Serve sauce and dish in separate containers to allow consumers to add sauce and gravy based on their preference. Use standard measuring spoons to add the required amount of sauce on MOOP if needed, or add sauce upon consumers’ request.
  • Apart from providing the standard portion size of MOOP, offer MOOP in smaller portion size for consumers to choose based on their requirements.
  • Enable consumers to make informed choice by showing nutrition information (particularly sodium/salt) of MOOP on menus, price list and other printed matters.

More Information

8. The related article is published in the CHOICE MAGAZINE (Issue 485) released on 15 March 2017 (Chinese only).

 

March 2017
Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety
Food and Environmental Hygiene Department

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 15-03-2017

工作項目 >> 食物安全之風險評估 >> 風險評估研究 Print Friendly

消費者委員會聯合研究:本地碟頭粉麵飯的鈉含量

摘要

1. 攝取過多鈉(鹽)可能會增加患上高血壓的風險。而高血壓若不及早診治,可引致心臟病、中風和腎衰竭等。世衞指出煮食時添加鹽及不同的醬料是亞洲國家其中一個攝取鈉的主要來源,而碟頭粉麵飯是本港市民每日飲食其中一個主食類別。食物安全中心(中心)與消費者委員會合作,測試了部分本地食肆中較常見的碟頭粉麵飯的鈉含量,並檢視了數個預先包裝碟頭粉麵飯的營養標籤資料,以檢測及比較本地一些碟頭粉麵飯在不同食肆或商店的鈉含量,從而幫助公眾在外出用膳時能作出知情和適合個人情況的選擇,以及推動食物業界透過改良食品配方提供減鈉的碟頭粉麵飯。

研究

2. 中心在2016年7月至9月從中式食肆、西式食肆、亞洲食肆、港式茶餐廳及快餐店搜集了100個(共10種)非預先包裝碟頭粉麵飯,並由中心的食物研究化驗所對所有樣本進行鈉含量測試。此外,為了解添加醬汁對碟頭粉麵飯的鈉含量的影響,採樣時另搜集了3個沒有醬汁的叉燒飯樣本進行測試以作比較。同時,中心亦在超市及便利店搜集了8個(共3種)預先包裝碟頭粉麵飯,檢視了這些樣本的營養標籤上所標示的鈉含量資料。

3. 10種非預先包裝碟頭粉麵飯樣本所檢出的每100克鈉含量的平均值、最低值和最高值如下。平均鈉含量最高的碟頭粉麵飯種類為味菜排骨炒麵,而平均鈉含量最低的碟頭粉麵飯種類為枝竹火腩飯。

碟頭粉麵飯種類

樣本數目

100碟頭粉麵飯鈉含量(毫克)

平均

最低

最高

味菜排骨炒麵

10

470

350

600

干燒伊麵

10

410

250

500

肉醬意粉

10

350

210

430

乾炒牛肉河粉

10

340

230

440

焗豬扒飯

10

340

240

460

福建炒飯

10

310

180

420

咖喱牛腩飯

10

270

190

390

叉燒飯

10

260

170

320

日式滑蛋雞飯/親子丼

10

240

150

320

枝竹火腩飯

10

230

110

310

整體

100

320

110

600

4 . 本研究發現部分由不同食肆配製的相同種類碟頭粉麵飯,樣本間的鈉含量差異頗大(如枝竹火腩飯,鈉含量最高與最低的樣本相差接近兩倍),這表示業界在配製這類碟頭粉麵飯時其實有空間去調節配方中的鈉含量。

5. 10種非預先包裝碟頭粉麵飯的鈉含量平均佔世衞建議每日攝取限量(2,000毫克鈉)的百分比如下。整體來說,平均進食一碟碟頭粉麵飯所攝入的鈉佔世衞建議每日攝取限量的100%。個別來說,接近一半樣本每碟的鈉含量皆超過世衞建議每日攝取限量,而全部樣本每碟的鈉含量皆超出該限量的三分之一。

碟頭粉麵飯種類

平均每碟鈉含量佔世衞建議每日攝取限量的比率[範圍]

每碟鈉含量達世衞建議每日攝取限量的樣本數目

味菜排骨炒麵

150%[100-250%]

10

福建炒飯

130%[89-150%]

7

干燒伊麵

120%[65-210%]

8

咖喱牛腩飯

110%[59-170%]

4

焗豬扒飯

110%[81-140%]

6

乾炒牛肉河粉

100%[62-150%]

6

肉醬意粉

91%[35-130%]

4

枝竹火腩飯

73%[34-97%]

0

叉燒飯

63%[37-91%]

0

日式滑蛋雞飯/親子丼

63%[44-88%]

0

整體

100%[34-250%]

45

6. 本研究的3種預先包裝碟頭粉麵飯樣本中,預先包裝肉醬意粉樣本每100克的平均鈉含量高於非預先包裝樣本,預先包裝焗豬扒飯樣本與非預先包裝樣本每100克的平均鈉含量十分接近。至於咖喱牛腩飯,預先包裝樣本每100克的平均鈉含量則較非預先包裝樣本的為低。結果反映,非預先包裝及預先包裝產品均有空間改變配方,以降低產品的鈉含量。

7. 本研究結果亦顯示若購買叉燒飯時要求食肆走汁,每碟所減少的鈉攝入量最高可佔世衞建議每日攝取限量近三成。而進食咖喱牛腩飯時減少進食餸汁,每碟所減少的鈉攝入量平均超過世衞建議每日攝取限量的四分之一。可見減少進食碟頭粉麵飯的醬汁、豉油和餸汁有效降低鈉的攝取量。

給消費者的建議

  • 應減少進食鈉含量高及含有高鹽分配料(例如醃菜、鹹魚、臘腸)的碟頭粉麵飯。
  • 要求食肆不要或減少在碟頭粉麵飯上添加醬汁、豉油;並反映想少鹽/少鹹。
  • 點餐時,要求食肆把餸菜與粉麵飯分開送上,並在試味後才添加適量的餸汁。
  • 留意碟頭粉麵飯的分量,如分量超過個人食用分量,可考慮與他人分享。
  • 留意營養資料選擇合適的碟頭粉麵飯,例如參考營養標籤、本研究結果或食安中心的營養資料查詢系統,以配合個人需要。要選擇較健康的碟頭粉麵飯,除留意鈉含量外,亦應留意其他營養資料例如脂肪含量。

 給業界的建議

  • 減少使用一些含有高鹽分的食品(例如醃菜、鹹魚、臘腸)或減少其使用分量,盡量以新鮮配料或香草和香料代替。如要使用,可用水沖洗或浸泡醃菜,並調整使用鹽和其他含鹽/鈉的調味料的分量。
  • 參考食安中心的《降低食物中鈉含量的業界指引》,改良食譜和減少使用鹽和調味料。
  • 以獨立容器盛載醬汁、豉油及餸菜,讓消費者按其口味添加調味料和餸汁。若醬汁、豉油必須加到粉麵飯上,利用標準量匙添加所需要的標準分量或只在消費者要求時才添加。
  • 除提供標準分量的碟頭粉麵飯外,可提供較少分量如輕量版的碟頭粉麵飯,讓消費者按所需的分量來選擇。
  • 在菜單、價目表及其他印刷品上展示所供應的碟頭粉麵飯的營養成分資料(尤其是鈉/鹽),讓消費者作出知情的選擇。

其他資料

8. 2017年3月15日出版的選擇月刊(第485期)載有相關文章。

 

食物環境衞生署
食物安全中心
風險評估組
2017年3月

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 15-03-2017