Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly
Halogen Oven and Food Safety

Halogen Oven and Food Safety

1. Halogen oven (turbo cooker) is regarded by some people as an energy efficient and healthy alternative to conventional oven. Similar to conventional oven, halogen oven can also produce brown and crispy food. Previously, media reports stated that consuming foods cooked with halogen oven may increase the intake of carcinogens which can be formed in a way similar to cooking by grilling. This has raised public concerns on the food safety of using halogen oven.

Introduction to Halogen Oven

1. In general, a halogen oven consists of a glass bowl with a lid that contains a fan and halogen bulbs. When switched on, beams of infrared (or more specifically, far-infrared) radiation are released from the halogen bulbs to produce heat. The fan circulates hot air over and around the food to cook. Halogen oven can be used to roast, grill, bake, steam, barbecue or dehydrate food, with no need of preheating.

2. When food is exposed to the infrared radiation, large amounts of energy are transferred in a short time. The energy induces water molecules and organic compounds, such as proteins, fats and starches, to vibrate/rotate, producing heat to kill microorganisms and give the food brown and crispy surface. In the food industry, infrared is used as a means of thermal disinfection to inactivate bacteria, spores, yeast and mould in both liquid and solid food. Disinfection via infrared can allow freshly baked bread to enjoy a longer shelf-life without the addition of preservatives. It can also be applied to dehydrate vegetables for preservation.

Food Safety Regarding the Use of Halogen Oven

1. The cooking process of the halogen oven is also a type of dry - heat cooking which either air or fat is used as the medium of cooking . A higher temperature can be achieved as compared with moist-heat cooking, which uses water and steam as the medium of cooking.

2. During the dry-heat cooking process, the high temperature (usually well above 100 °C) can cause chemical changes in the major components in food (i.e. carbohydrates, fats and proteins) and subsequently generate process contaminants, such as acrylamide, polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) and heterocyclic amines (HCAs). Acrylamide as well as certain PAHs, and HCAs have been shown to cause cancer in experimental animals while benzo[a]pyrene, a PAH, is carcinogenic to humans.

3. The formation of HCAs and PAHs depends on the meat type, the cooking method, and “doneness” level. Muscle (the protein-rich part of meats) cooked at high temperatures, or that are cooked for a long time tend to form HCAs. Cooking methods that expose meat , especially high-fat meats, to smoke or charring contribute to PAH s formation. These contaminants can be found in charred foods, barbecued meats, and “Siu Mei”, etc.

4. On the other hand, acrylamide is an inadvertent contaminant produced by cooking food, generally above 120°C. Information shows that acrylamide is formed when certain foods, particularly plant-based foods that are rich in carbohydrates and low in proteins, are cooked at high temperatures such as in frying, roasting or baking. Major food items with higher levels of acrylamide include potato chips, crisps, coffee, pastries, cookies, bread, rolls and toasts. In addition, certain stir-fried vegetables, including Chinese flowering cabbage, water spinach, zucchini and onion were detected with relatively high level of acrylamide in a study conducted by the Centre for Food Safety.

5. According to available product information of certain type of halogen oven, temperature setting of the oven can be ranged from 50°C to 250°C and the high temperature is comparable to certain types of dry-heat cooking shown in the table below . As such, it is believed that the said process contaminants resulting from high temperature cooking may also be present in food prepared by halogen oven, depending on the time and temperature for cooking etc.

Temperature of dry-heat cooking methods:

Methods

Cooking Temperatures

Deep-frying

~160 ° C – 180 °C

Baking

Up to ~220 °C

Charcoal grilling

Up to ~370 °C

Gas/electric grilling

Up to ~315 °C

6. However, halogen oven carries an emitter that releases infrared radiation, where large amounts of energy are transferred in a short time. This may help to reduce the cooking time which in turn may reduce the levels of certain process contaminants in food.

7. With regards to the risk of PAHs, halogen oven is a safer choice than charcoal grilling for making barbecued meat, as it does not expose meat to smoke and avoids direct contact of meat with flame.

Advice to Users

  • Use lower temperatures to achieve grilling effect.
  • Avoid overindulgence in barbecued meats, including those prepared with halogen oven.
  • Do not over-heat food but ensure the food is cooked thoroughly.
  • Maintain a balanced and healthy diet by eating plenty of fruits and vegetables.
  • Cook food thoroughly, especially poultry and meat which should be cooked until their juices run clear and no pink colour remains.
  • Avoid eating charred foods

Risk Assessment Section
October 2013

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 16-10-2013

工作項目>>食物安全之風險評估 友善列印
光波爐與食物安全

光波爐與食物安全

1.光波爐被部分人視為代替傳統焗爐的節能健康爐具。光波爐好像傳統焗爐,同樣可令食物變得金黃香脆。較早時有傳媒報道稱,食用以光波爐烹煮的食物,或會增加攝入類似以燒烤方式烹煮食物可能產生的致癌物,引起市民關注使用光波爐的食物安全問題。

光波爐簡介

1.一般而言,光波爐包括兩部分:一個玻璃鍋和一個連風扇及鹵素燈的蓋子。當接上電源,鹵素燈會發射出紅外線(更確切地說是遠紅外線)產生熱能,而風扇會使熱空氣於鍋內均勻流動,煮熟食物。光波爐無需預先加熱,就可用來燒烤、烤焙、烘焙、蒸煮食物或為食物進行脫水。

2.食物接觸紅外線時,大量能量會在短時間內轉移,導致水分子和有機化合物(例如蛋白質、脂肪和澱粉)旋轉∕振動,產生熱能殺死微生物,並令食物變得金黃香脆。食物業界使用紅外線對液體和固體食物進行加熱消毒,殺死食物中的細菌、孢子、酵母菌及霉菌。紅外線消毒令剛焗好的麵包無須添加防腐劑便可享有較長的保質期,又可對蔬菜進行脫水保存。

使用光波爐的食物安全

1.光波爐的烹煮過程也是一種乾熱烹煮,原理是利用空氣或脂肪烹煮食物。與利用水和蒸氣烹煮食物的水煮方法相比,乾熱烹煮所產生的溫度較高。

2.在乾熱烹煮的過程中,所產生的高溫(通常遠高於攝氏100度)會導致食物中的主要成分(即碳水化合物、脂肪和蛋白質)出現化學變化,繼而產生加工過程污染物,例如丙烯酰胺、多環芳香族碳氫化合物(PAHs)、雜環胺(HCAs)等。目前,已有證據證明丙烯酰胺、某些PAHs和HCAs會導致實驗動物患癌,而苯并[a]芘這種PAH則可令人類患癌。

3.烹煮過程會否產生HCAs和PAHs,取決於肉類的種類、烹煮方法和“煮熟”程度。肌肉(肉類中含豐富蛋白質的部分)經高溫或長時間烹煮,往往較易產生HCAs。以煙燻的方法烹煮肉類(尤其是高脂肪的肉類)或燒焦食物,也會產生PAHs。因此,燒焦的食物、燒烤肉類、“燒味”等食物,都可能含有這類污染物。

4.另一方面,丙烯酰胺是在烹煮食物時(溫度通常超過攝氏120度)不經意產生的污染物。資料顯示,某些食物,特別是含豐富碳水化合物但蛋白質較少的植物類食物,如以高溫烹煮,例如煎炸、燒烤或烘焙,便會產生丙烯酰胺。丙烯酰胺含量較高的食物主要包括薯條、脆片、咖啡、糕餅、曲奇、麵包、餡卷和多士。此外,在食物安全中心進行的一項研究中,發現數款炒菜(包括菜心、蕹菜、翠玉瓜和洋葱),其丙烯酰胺含量較高。

5.根據某類光波爐的現有產品資料,光波爐的溫度設定由攝氏50度至250度,其高溫相當於下表所列數種乾熱烹煮方法的溫度。因此,以光波爐配製的食物相信也會含有高溫烹煮所產生的加工過程污染物,視乎烹煮時間和溫度等而定。

乾熱烹煮方法的溫度︰

方法

烹煮溫度

油炸

約攝氏160度至180度

烘焙

最高約攝氏220度

炭爐燒烤

最高約攝氏370度

氣體爐∕電爐燒烤

最高約攝氏315度

6.不過,光波爐會有發射體釋放出紅外線,大量能量會在短時間內轉移,這或有助縮短烹調時間,從而減少食物中某些加工過程污染物的含量。

7.至於PAHs的風險,以光波爐製作燒烤肉類較炭爐燒烤安全,因為光波爐不會使肉類受到煙燻和避免肉類直接接觸火焰。

給用家的建議

  • 利用較低的溫度以達燒烤效果。
  • 不宜過量進食燒烤肉類,包括以光波爐配製的燒烤肉類。
  • 不應用過高的溫度烹煮食物,但必須徹底煮熟食物。
  • 多進食蔬果,保持均衡健康的飲食。
  • 徹底煮熟食物,特別是家禽和肉類,應煮至流出的汁液清澈和沒有血水為止。
  • 避免進食燒焦的食物。

風險評估組
2013年10月

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期:16-10-2013