Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

Botulism and Honey

Botulism and Honey

Introduction

On 2 June 2010 , the Food Standards Agency of the United Kingdom (UK) issued a press release for reminding parents not to feed honey to babies who are under a year old. This follows a case of rare but serious illness, called infant botulism.

Botulism

Botulism is caused by a neurotoxin (destroyed if heated at 80 °C for 10 minutes or longer) produced by the bacterium Clostridium botulinum , which is anaerobic, gram-positive, spore-forming rod that commonly found in the soil. Although the toxin is destroyed by boiling for 10 minutes or longer; inactivation of spores requires much higher temperature. Three forms of botulism namely, food-borne, wound and intestinal (infant and adult) botulism are recognised, which differs in the site of neurotoxin production. The intestinal botulism was previously known as infant botulism.

Foodborne Botulism

  1. Human cases are often linked to the consumption of home-canned foods. Clostridium botulinum needs no oxygen to multiply . Canned, bottled or vacuum-packed foods, which are improperly processed, or only lightly processed and then stored in air tight containers at room temperature, will provide suitable environment for the bacterium to grow and produce toxin in these products. In addition, some strains of Clostridium botulinum can grow at refrigeration temperature; and foodborne botulism cases associated with refrigerated food stored in vacuum packaging or modified atmosphere packaging have been reported.
  2. Most foodborne botulism cases are caused by the ingestion of pre-formed toxin that is already present in food which was consumed without further cooking or reheating. Symptoms of foodborne botulism include marked fatigue, weakness, and vertigo often followed by blurred vision, dry mouth and difficulty in swallowing and speaking. Vomiting, diarrhoea or constipation may also occur. The toxin may also paralyse the breathing muscles and cause death if breathing assistance is not provided.

Infant botulism

  1. Infant botulism, first recognised in 1976, is caused by the ingestion of the Clostridium botulinum spores that germinate and grow in the intestine of infants and release toxin.
  2. Honey, which may be contaminated with the spores, is implicated in some cases. It is not known how honey becomes contaminated with Clostridium Botulinum. Spores of Clostridium Botulinum, which are commonly found in environment, may be picked up by bees and brought to the hive.
  3. Infant botulism rarely happens to persons over one year old as the better developed natural microbiological flora in their intestines do not favour the germination of the spores. Early symptom of infant botulism is constipation, followed by lethargy, difficulties in feeding, generalised muscle weakness and weak cry.  While most cases require hospitalisation, fatal cases are rare.

Local Case

Botulism was added to the list of statutory notifiable diseases in Hong Kong since 14 July 2008. There had been no confirmed case of botulism reported to Department of Health since it became a statutory notifiable disease.

Advice to the Trade

  1. ensure food products are properly processed to ensure safety, such as by following strict thermal processes, attaining appropriate pH values in the final products, and prudent use of preservatives.
  2. handle food products appropriately during transportation and storage to prevent the growth of the bacteria and the formation of toxin.

Advice to the Consumers

  1. Avoid feeding honey to infants less than one year old.
  2. Honey should not be added to baby food or used on a soother to quiet a fussy or colicky baby.
  3. For those individuals who do home-canning, follow proper canning requirements and hygienic procedures
  4. Boil home-canned food for at least ten minutes before eating as botulism toxin can be destroyed by high temperatures.
  5. Follow the handling and storage instructions given by manufacturers of canned, bottled and vacuum packed foods.
  6. Avoid consumption of food from containers (e.g. canned food) that appear to be damaged, bulged or spoilt.

 

Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety
July 2010

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 12-07-2010

工作項目 >> 食物安全之風險評估 友善列印

肉毒中毒與蜜糖

肉毒中毒與蜜糖

引言

在發生一宗罕見但嚴重的嬰兒肉毒中毒個案後,英國食物標準管理局 (Food Standards Agency of the United Kingdom) 在二零一零年六月二日發出新聞公報,提醒家長切勿給 1 歲以下的嬰兒餵食蜜糖。

肉毒中毒

肉毒中毒是由肉毒桿菌產生的神經毒素 ( 加熱至攝氏 80 度並維持 10 分鐘或以上可破壞這種毒素 ) 所引致。肉毒桿菌能產生孢子,是一種屬於革蘭氏陽性、呈棒狀的厭氧菌,普遍存在於土壤中。雖然煮沸 10 分鐘或以上能破壞這種毒素,但是要 使 這些孢子 喪失活性 ,則需要更高溫度。肉毒中毒根據神經毒素的產生位置,分為食源性、傷口性和腸道性 ( 嬰兒及成人 ) 三種,其中腸道性肉毒中毒前稱為嬰兒肉毒中毒。

食源性肉毒中毒

  1. 人類患上這疾病通常與進食自製罐裝食物有關。肉毒桿菌是在無氧環境下繁殖的。罐裝、樽裝或真空包裝食物如未經妥善加工處理,又或只是略作加工便放進密封容器內並貯存在室溫下,便會提供有利環境讓此細菌生長,在食物中產生毒素。此外,部分肉毒桿菌的菌株可在冷藏溫度下生長;過去也曾發生與真空或氣調包裝的冷藏食物有關的食源性肉毒中毒個案。
  2. 大部分食源性肉毒中毒個案是因吃下含有毒素但未經再烹煮或翻熱的食物。食源性肉毒中毒病徵包括非常疲倦、虛弱無力、眩暈,繼而出現視力模糊、口乾和吞嚥及說話困難。病者也可能出現嘔吐、腹瀉或便秘。此外,這種毒素又可能會令呼吸肌肉癱瘓,如沒有呼吸儀器的輔助,可引致死亡。

嬰兒肉毒中毒

  1. 嬰兒肉毒中毒 是在一九七六年首次發現。嬰兒吃下肉毒桿菌孢子後,孢子在其腸道內發芽和生長,繼而釋出毒素。
  2. 部分病例與可能受肉毒桿菌孢子污染的蜜糖有關。至於蜜糖如何受肉毒桿菌孢子污染,現時仍是未知之數。肉毒桿菌孢子普遍存在於環境四周,可能經由蜜蜂帶到蜂巢。
  3. 這疾病極少發生在 1 歲以上的人身上,因為其腸道內的天然微生物羣已發展得較為成熟,不利這些孢子發芽。嬰兒肉毒中毒的早期病徵是便秘,繼而出現睏倦、餵哺困難、肌肉普遍無力、哭聲微弱。雖然大部分患者均需接受住院治療,但致命的情況較罕見。

本地情況

自二零零八年七月十四日起,肉毒中毒加入香港法定須呈報的疾病名單。自從肉毒中毒成為法定須呈報的疾病後,衞生署並無接獲有關這疾病的確診呈報個案。

給業界的建議

  1. 採取各項措施,例如遵從嚴格的加熱程序、使製成品達至適當的酸鹼值或恰當使用防腐劑,以確保食物經妥善處理,符合安全標準。
  2. 在運送和貯存期間適當處理食物,以防止細菌生長和毒素形成。

給消費者的建議

  1. 避免給 1 歲以下嬰兒餵食蜜糖。
  2. 不應把蜜糖加入嬰兒食物內或塗在奶咀上,以令挑吃或腹痛的嬰兒安靜。
  3. 如自製罐裝食物,應遵從正確製造罐裝食物的守則及衞生程序。
  4. 把自製罐裝食物持續煮沸至少 10 分鐘後才進食,因高溫可破壞肉毒毒素。
  5. 遵從罐裝、樽裝及真空包裝食物的製造商提供的處理和貯存食物指示。
  6. 如容器 ( 例如罐頭 ) 看來已破爛、膨脹或已損壞,便不要進食該容器內的食物。

 

食物安全中心
風險評估組
二零一零年七月

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 12-07-2010