Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

Caffeine Content in Coffee and Milk Tea Prepared in Local Food Premises

Abstract

Coffee and tea are some of the most widely consumed beverages throughout the world, including in this locality in Hong Kong. Local café style milk-tea has long been one of the signature items among our local delicacies. Besides, coffee culture has bloomed in recent years, making coffee more and more popular in Hong Kong. In the past year or so, there have been local media reports on caffeine content in coffee, which aroused concerns about the potential health effects of drinking coffee. Noting that comprehensive data on caffeine content in local coffee and milk-tea was not available, the Centre for Food Safety and the Consumer Council have conducted a joint study to examine the caffeine content in coffee and milk tea prepared in local food premises. This study aimed to enhance public understanding on caffeine content in these drinks, and to facilitate the public (especially among vulnerable population subgroups) in making informed and appropriate individual choices.

Background

2. Caffeine is a methylxanthine which occurs naturally in plants like coffee beans, tea leaves, cocoa beans, cola nuts and guarana. Food and drink products, such as coffee, tea, and chocolate, which are made with caffeine-containing raw ingredients contain certain amount of caffeine.

3. Caffeine can stimulate the central nervous system and enhance mental alertness. The reaction to and tolerance of the effects of caffeine differ widely from person to person.

4. For healthy adults, caffeine intake arising from moderate consumption of coffee and tea, in the context of balanced diet, would not pose risk of adverse effects. There is no internationally recognised health-based guidance value for caffeine for average adults.

5. However, certain vulnerable population subgroups including children, pregnant and lactating women, and individuals less tolerable to caffeine should be mindful about their caffeine intake.

6. In general, pregnant and lactating women are advised to limit caffeine intake to not more than 200-300 mg per day, whereas children are advised to limit daily caffeine intake to not more than 2.5-5 mg per kg body weight.

 

The Study

7. This study covered 80 samples of hot-served coffee and milk tea drinks commonly prepared in local food premises, comprising six items which included: (i) regular coffee; (ii) espresso; (iii) cappuccino; (iv) caffe latte; (v) local café style milk tea; and (vi) Taiwanese style milk tea.

8. These drink samples were purchased from various food premises such as chain and individual fast-food shops, local cafés, restaurants, specialist coffee shops, Taiwanese style beverage shops and convenient stores in Hong Kong between April and May 2013. The laboratory testing of these samples for caffeine content was completed by the Food Research Laboratory of the CFS in July 2013.

9. The mean caffeine content of the six coffee and milk tea drink items under testing are summarised in the table below:

 

 

Drink Item

No. of samples

Caffeine content ( mg )

Per Litre

Per Serving

Mean

Range

Mean

Range

Coffee

Regular coffee

20

880

320-1600

200

110-380

Espresso

12

3700

2000-7200

97

62-170

Cappuccino

4

390

230-520

110

55-160

Caffe latte

4

300

180-500

90

54-140

Tea

Local café style milk tea

30

730

330-960

170

73-220

Taiwanese style milk tea

10

320

250-490

130

100-160

 

Advice to the Public

  • Caffeine intake arising from moderate consumption of caffeine-containing drinks including coffee and milk tea would not pose risk of adverse effects in healthy adults. Nevertheless, consumers are advised to maintain a balanced and varied diet.
  • Results of this study showed that coffee and milk tea drinks contained rather high caffeine content, children are advised not to drink them and to maintain a balanced and varied diet.
  • Pregnant and lactating women should avoid excessive caffeine intake. Should they choose to consume coffee and milk tea with lower caffeine content, they should take note of the consumption amount to avoid excessive intake of caffeine. Individuals less tolerable to caffeine should make reference to their tolerance to caffeine and control their caffeine intake accordingly.
  • For those consumers who wish to reduce their caffeine intake, they may make special request when placing order. For example, they may specify the number of espresso shot when ordering specialist coffee like cappuccino and caffe latte, or specify for a "milder" version of regular coffee or milk tea in local cafés.
  • For individuals who are on caffeine restriction, they may consider to go for the decaffeinated version of coffee or milk tea.

 

Advice to the Trade

  • Traders, especially large chain operators, are encouraged to provide information on caffeine content of drinks to consumers, e.g. through menu, in-store posters, or other channels like company website, telephone hotline, etc.
  • To facilitate informed consumer choices particularly among vulnerable population subgroups, traders are recommended to offer for sale coffee and milk tea with different caffeine content including the decaffeinated version.
  • To cater for consumers’ request for "milder" version of coffee or milk tea in order to reduce the caffeine content in these drinks.

 

More Information

10. The related article is published in the CHOICE MAGAZINE (Issue 444 released on 15 October 2013) (Chinese only).

 

October 2013
Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety
Food and Environmental Hygiene Department

 

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 15-10-2013

工作項目 >> 食物安全之風險評估 友善列印

本地食肆調製的咖啡和奶茶的咖啡因含量

摘要

咖啡和茶是世界各地,包括本港,其中最廣泛飲用的飲品。港式奶茶向來是本港著名的道地美食之一,而近年本地咖啡文化盛行,咖啡亦越見普及。在過去一年,本地媒體曾報導咖啡中的咖啡因含量,引起了公眾關注飲用咖啡所帶來的潛在健康影響。考慮到目前未有本地咖啡和奶茶的咖啡因含量的詳細數據,食物安全中心(下稱中心)聯同消費者委員會,合作測試一些於食肆調製的咖啡和奶茶的咖啡因含量。是次研究的目的是增加公眾對這類飲品的咖啡因含量的認識,從而幫助他們(特別是較容易受咖啡因影響人士)作出知情及恰當的個人選擇。

背景

2.咖啡因屬於一類名為甲基黃嘌呤的化學物質,天然存在於咖啡豆、茶葉、可可豆、可樂樹的堅果及瓜拉拿藤等植物。以含有咖啡因原材料製成的食品和飲品,如咖啡、茶和朱古力,會含一定分量的咖啡因。

3.咖啡因能刺激中樞神經系統,有提神作用。每個人對咖啡因的反應和耐受性存在差異。

4.對一般健康的成年人而言,只要保持均衡飲食,適量飲用咖啡和奶茶所攝取的咖啡因,應不會產生健康問題。現時國際間對一般成年人的咖啡因攝取量並未有統一的建議。

5.然而,較容易受咖啡因影響的群組,包括兒童、孕婦、授乳婦女和個別對咖啡因有較大反應的人士應特別留意其咖啡因攝取量。

6.一般而言,孕婦和授乳婦女應限制咖啡因的攝取量於每日不超過200-300毫克,兒童則每日不應攝取超過每公斤體重2.5-5毫克的咖啡因。

 

研究

7.是次研究搜集了共80款於食肆調製的熱咖啡和奶茶類飲品,分為六個種類,分別是: (i) 一般咖啡;(ii) 特濃咖啡(Espresso);(iii) 泡沫咖啡(Cappuccino);(vi) 鮮奶咖啡(Caffe latte);(v) 港式奶茶;以及(vi) 台式奶茶。

8.這些飲品樣本於2013年4月至5月,從不同食肆,例如連鎖和個別的快餐店、茶餐廳、餐廳、精品咖啡店、台式飲品專門店、便利店等購買。中心的食物研究化驗所於2013年7月完成有關樣本中咖啡因含量的檢測工作。

9.六種類咖啡和奶茶樣本的平均咖啡因含量列載於下表:

 

飲品種類

 

樣本數目

咖啡因含量(毫克)

每升計

每杯分量計

平均值

範圍

平均值

範圍

咖啡

一般咖啡

20

880

320-1600

200

110-380

特濃咖啡

12

3700

2000-7200

97

62-170

泡沫咖啡

4

390

230-520

110

55-160

鮮奶咖啡

4

300

180-500

90

54-140

奶茶

港式奶茶

30

730

330-960

170

73-220

台式奶茶

10

320

250-490

130

100-160

 

給消費者的建議

  • 一般健康的成年人適量飲用咖啡和奶茶等含咖啡因的飲品,所攝取的咖啡因應不會引致健康問題,但消費者仍應保持均衡及多元化飲食。
  • 是次測試結果顯示咖啡和奶茶類飲品的咖啡因含量較高,故不建議兒童飲用,並建議兒童應保持均衡及多元化飲食。
  • 孕婦和授乳婦女應避免過量攝取咖啡因;即使飲用含較少咖啡因的咖啡或奶茶,亦應注意飲用分量,以免因飲用過多而攝取過量咖啡因。個別對咖啡因有較大反應的人士則應按個人對咖啡因的耐受性來控制其咖啡因攝取量。
  • 消費者如欲減少咖啡因攝取量,可考慮在購買或落單時要求減少咖啡或茶的分量,例如點選精品咖啡(如泡沫咖啡、鮮奶咖啡)時指定特濃咖啡的使用份數,或在茶餐廳叫咖啡或奶茶時要求較淡。
  • 需要限制咖啡因攝取量的人士,可考慮飲用脫咖啡因的咖啡或奶茶。

給業界的建議

  • 中心鼓勵業界,特別是大型連鎖店,應以提供有用的訊息給消費者為原則,為消費者提供飲品的咖啡因含量資料作參考,例如可透過餐牌、店內海報,或其他途徑如公司網頁、電話熱線等,發放相關資訊。
  • 為了讓消費者,特別是較容易受咖啡因影響人士有所選擇,建議業界供應不同咖啡因含量(包括脫咖啡因)的咖啡和奶茶。
  • 按消費者要求,調製較淡的咖啡或奶茶,從而減少飲品中的咖啡因含量。

其他資料

10.2013年10月15日出版的選擇月刊(第444期)載有相關文章。

 

食物環境衞生署
食物安全中心
風險評估組
2013年10月

 


上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 15-10-2013