Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

Risk in Brief: Canola oil and food safety

Risk in Brief: Canola oil and food safety

Introduction

  1. The Consumer Council has rebuked an urban myth regarding canola oil in the September 2010 issue of CHOICE magazine. The myth continued to circulate on the Internet and via e-mail. Whilst there is no scientific evidence that canola oil is associated with mustard gas, bovine spongiform encephalophy (BSE, also known as Mad Cow Disease) or fatty degeneration in organs such as heart and kidneys, the concerns on its erucic acid and glucosinolates content are discussed below.
  2. Misinformation about the safety of canola oil may arise from the erroneous belief that it is the same as rapeseed oil. In fact, the composition of canola oil is different from the traditional rapeseed oil (may contain very high levels of erucic acid up to 60% total fatty acids). Canola oil is made from the plant developed from natural cross breeding of the rapeseed plant and has very low levels of erucic acid (below 2% total fatty acids).

Safety and Public Health Significance

  1. Canola oil is low in saturated fat and has high proportion of unsaturated fat. It is a good source of both essential fatty acids, linoleic (18:2 n-6) and α-linolenic (18:3 n-3) acids ( ALA ), which cannot be produced in human. Essential fatty acids are important for normal fetal and infant growth and development, in particular, for brain development and visual acuity. In the body, ALA can be converted to eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA). EPA and DHA are associated with decreased risk of coronary heart disease.
  2. Erucic acid present in edible oil is a monounsaturated fatty acid (22:1 n-9). Tests on experimental animals found that excessive intake of erucic acid may damage their heart tissues, but this link has not yet been established in humans.
  3. Glucosinolates are toxins naturally present in Brassica plants such as rapeseed, cauliflower, cabbages, broccoli and Brussels sprouts. Glucosinolates in rapeseed (for producing rapeseed oil) and in the cross bred plant (for producing canola oil) can be reduced by heating during the oil processing. Glucosinolate-derived compounds may interfere with iodine uptake and thyroid function.

Regulatory Control

  1. Under the Harmful Substances in Food Regulations (Cap 132AF), erucic acid in any food containing oil or fat (including food to which oil has been added) shall not exceed 5 per centum by weight of the total fatty acid content. Any person who imports, manufactures or sells any food containing erucic acid in concentration greater than stipulated commits an offence and is liable to a fine and to imprisonment.

Advice to the Public

  1. Canola oil is safe for consumption as part of a balanced diet. Reduce the use of oils during food preparation.
  2. When purchasing cooking oils, read the ingredient list and the nutrition label for an informed choice.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Observe Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP) in food processing and in edible oils production.
  2. Ensure the products comply with local regulations.

    Risk Assessment Section
    Centre for Food Safety
    April 2011

    Back  Back to Top
     
    copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 08-04-2011

工作項目 >> 食物安全之風險評估 友善列印

風險簡訊:芥花籽油與食物安全

風 險 簡 訊 : 芥 花 籽 油 與 食 物 安 全

引言

  1. 消費者委員會在2010年9月出版的選擇月刊指責,坊間流傳有關芥花籽油的謠言不盡不實。有關謠言繼續在互聯網上和透過電郵方式流傳。現時沒有科學證據顯示芥花籽油與芥子氣、牛海綿體病(又稱瘋牛症)或心臟、腎臟等器官產生脂肪變性有關。由於市民對芥花籽油的芥酸和葡萄糖異硫氰酸鹽含量問題表示關注,下文將闡述有關問題。
  2. 有關芥花籽油安全性的失實資訊,可能源於誤信芥花籽油就是菜籽油的謬誤所引起。事實上,芥花籽油的成分有別於傳統的菜籽油(芥酸含量極高,可佔總脂肪酸60%)。芥花籽油是由透過菜籽自然雜交方式而培植出來的植物提煉而來,其芥酸含量極低(佔總脂肪酸低於2%)。

安全性及對公眾健康的影響

  1. 芥花籽油含低飽和脂肪且含豐富不飽和脂肪,可提供兩種人類本身無法製造的必需脂肪酸,即亞油酸(18:2 n-6)和α-亞麻酸(18:3 n-3, ALA)。必需脂肪酸對胎兒和嬰兒的正常發育和成長十分重要,特別是腦部發展和視覺敏銳度。α-亞麻酸在人體內會轉化為二十碳五烯酸(EPA)和二十二碳六烯酸(DHA),兩者都有助減低患冠狀動脈心臟病的風險。
  2. 食油所含的芥酸屬於單元不飽和脂肪酸(22:1 n-9)。在動物實驗中發現,攝入過量芥酸可損害動物的心臟組織,但在人類這結果並未得到證實。
  3. 葡萄糖異硫氰酸鹽是天然存在於蕓薹屬植物(例如菜籽、椰菜花、椰菜、西蘭花和抱子甘藍)的毒素。食油生產過程中的加熱程序,會減低菜籽(用作生產菜籽油)和其雜交植物(用作生產芥花籽油)內的葡萄糖異硫氰酸鹽含量。葡萄糖異硫氰酸鹽衍生的化合物可能會影響碘的攝入和甲狀腺的功能。

法例規管

  1. 根據《食物內有害物質規例》(第132AF章),任何含有油或脂肪的食物(包括加入油而製成的食品),其所含的芥酸重量不得超過總脂肪酸重量的百分之五。任何人如在香港輸入、製造或售賣含有超過上述濃度的食物,即屬違法,可被罰款及監禁。

給市民的建議

  1. 芥花籽油可作為均衡飲食的一部分供安全食用。配製食物時應盡量減少用油。
  2. 購買食油時,細閱配料表和營養標籤,以作出知情的選擇。

給業界的建議

  1. 奉行優良製造規範加工處理食品和生產食油。
  2. 確保所有食品符合本地法例。

食物安全中心
風險評估組
2011年4月

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 08-04-2011