Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

Pesticide Residues in Food

Introduction

1. Pesticides are commonly applied to control pests in buildings, as well as in agricultural production to improve yield and quality. Pesticides may be applied to food or fodder crops to control pests, as plant growth regulator, defoliant, desiccant, fruit thinning agent or sprouting inhibitor. It may also be applied to animals to control external parasites.

2. Pesticide residues in food may be resulted from direct use of pesticides on the food crop, animal feeding on pesticide-contaminated feed and/or environmental contamination.

Safety and Public Health Significance

1. Depending on the nature of individual pesticide, the amount and duration of exposure, pesticides exceeding safety limits may cause acute and/or chronic effects in humans. Adverse health effects include damage to nervous system or other organs such as the liver and kidneys. Some may be transferred via the placenta or breast feeding, thereby affecting the foetal development.

2. While acute toxicity is unlikely nowadays, the Joint Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) and World Health Organization (WHO) Meeting on Pesticide Residues (JMPR)* is responsible for evaluating the safety of pesticide and estimating safety references like Acceptable Daily Intake (ADI) for estimation of chronic toxicity and Acute Reference Dose (ARfD) for estimation of acute toxicity.

3. Since ADI related to chronic toxicity, it should be noted that dietary intake above the ADI occasionally does not automatically mean that health is at risk. Transient excursion above the ADI would have no health consequences provided that the average intake over long period is not exceeded as the emphasis of ADI is a lifetime exposure.

Maximum Residue Levels (MRL) of Pesticides in Food

1. To protect the health of the consumers and at the same time facilitate international trade, based on data available, the Codex Alimentarius Commission (Codex) established Maximum Residue Limits (MRLs) for individual pesticide in selected commodities according to Good Agricultural Practice (GAP). The ultimate aim is to use the least possible amount of pesticides for the desired function, while keeping the exposure level below the safety reference value.

Local Regulatory Control

1. With effect from 1 August 2014, the Pesticide Residues in Food Regulation (Cap 132CM) came into force. The Regulation specifies in Schedule 1 a list of MRLs/EMRLs for certain pesticide-food pairs, in which the levels of pesticide residues present are not permitted to exceed. For pesticide residues with no specified MRLs/EMRLs in Schedule 1, the Regulation stipulates that except for exempted pesticides, import or sale of food containing such pesticide residues is allowed if the consumption of the food concerned is not dangerous or prejudicial to health based on risk assessment conducted by CFS.

2. The formulation of Schedule 1 to the Regulation was based primarily on the available standards recommended by Codex, supplemented by the available standards of the Mainland and other major food exporting countries to Hong Kong (including the United States and Thailand), taking into account comments received from stakeholders during public consultation.

3. Under the food surveillance programme of CFS, samples of different foods are taken for analysis and verification of compliance with the MRL/ EMRL stipulated in Schedule 1. CFS will take appropriate follow up action to ensure the problem has been rectified at source before their reintroduction to the local market.

Advice to the Trade

1. During the use of pesticide for crop protection, the farmers should follow GAP which include but not limited to the following recommendations –

  (a)
Use only permitted pesticides;
  (b)
Apply minimum quantities necessary to achieve adequate control;
  (c)
Leave residues that are the smallest amounts practical and that are toxicologically acceptable;
  (d)
Strictly adhere to the withholding period or pre-harvest interval specified on the label of the pesticide to avoid causing harvested crops to contain excessive pesticide residues.

2. For more information regarding the list of permitted pesticides in Hong Kong as well as the safe use of agricultural pesticides, please visit the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conversation Department's Website at http://www.afcd.gov.hk/english/quarantine/qua_pesticide/qua_pesticide.html.

Advice to the Public

1. Vegetables are an essential component of a healthy and balanced diet. Members of the public are also advised to maintain a healthy and balanced diet as a part of a healthy lifestyle.

2. Vegetables should be washed thoroughly in clean running water before cooking and consumption. When appropriate, scrub produces with hard surfaces with a clean produce brush to remove dirt and substances, including pesticide residues and contaminants, from the surface and crevices. CFS no longer recommends soaking or blanching in preparing vegetables due to the loss of nutrients during the process, low incidence and levels of pesticide residues detected in foods and lack of confirmed pesticide-related food poisoning cases as recorded by CHP in recent years. This advice has been endorsed by the Expert Committee on Food Safety of the CFS.

3. Use of soaps, special detergents or produce washes is not recommended.

4. Even though some pesticide residues may be transferred to the infant via human milk, WHO considers that breastfeeding is an unequalled way of providing ideal food for the healthy growth and development of infants; it also contributes to the health and well-beings of mothers.

Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety
March 2017

* JMPR is the abbreviated title for the Joint Meeting of the FAO Panel of Experts on Pesticide Residues in Food and the Environment and the WHO Core Assessment Group. The FAO Panel of Experts is responsible for reviewing residue and analytical aspects of the pesticides considered, estimating the maximum residue levels according to supervised trials and GAP. The WHO Core Assessment Group is responsible for reviewing toxicological data on the pesticides, estimating safety reference (i.e. acceptable daily intake) and levels of dietary intakes of pesticide residues. As necessary, acute reference doses for pesticides are estimated along with appropriate estimates of short-term dietary intake.

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 15-03-2017

工作項目 >> 食物安全之風險評估 友善列印

食 物 中 的 殘 餘 除 害 劑

引言

1. 除害劑通常用於治理樓宇的害蟲問題,以及在農務上使用,以提高農作物的產量和質素。此外,除害劑亦可用於糧食作物或飼料作物,以防治蟲害,或作植物生長調節劑、落葉劑、乾燥劑、疏果劑或發芽抑制劑之用,又或在動物身上施用,以抑制體外寄生蟲。

2. 食物含有殘餘除害劑,可能因為除害劑曾直接施用於糧食作物,或食用動物曾被餵食受除害劑污染的飼料,以及∕或環境污染所致。

對安全與公眾健康的影響

1. 人類因攝入超出安全上限的除害劑而可能造成的急性及∕或慢性影響需視乎個別除害劑的性質、劑量和攝入時間的長短而定。除害劑對健康的影響可包括損害神經系統或人體器官,如肝臟、腎臟等。有些除害劑亦可能會經由胎盤或母乳傳給胎兒,影響胎兒發育。

2. 儘管因攝入除害劑引致急性中毒的機會不大,聯合國糧食及農業組織(糧農組織)∕世界衞生組織(世衞)農藥殘留聯合會議(農藥殘留聯合會議)*仍肩負起評估除害劑安全性和釐訂其安全參考值的工作,例如與慢性毒性相關的「每日可攝入量」,以及用於評估急性毒性的「急性參考劑量」。

3. 每日可攝入量是就慢性毒性而言的安全參考值,因此,即使除害劑攝入量短期超出每日可接受水平,也不表示健康一定會受損。由於每日可攝入量着眼於人一生攝取的分量,只要攝入量並非長期超出該水平,偶然高於每日可攝入量,不會造成健康影響。

食物中除害劑最高殘餘限量

1. 為保障消費者的健康和促進國際貿易,食品法典委員會根據現有數據和優良務農規範,為選定的食物釐定個別除害劑的最高殘餘限量,最終目的是盡可能使用最少的除害劑以發揮預期作用,使除害劑的攝入量低於安全參考值。

本地的監管措施

1. 《食物內除害劑殘餘規例》(第132CM章)已於2014年8月1日生效。該規例附表1列明某些“除害劑-食物”組合的最高殘餘限量∕最高再殘餘限量,食物的除害劑殘餘含量不得超出附表指明的限量。此外,該規例規定,除獲豁免除害劑外,如食物含有除害劑殘餘而附表1並無訂明相關的最高殘餘限量∕最高再殘餘限量,只有在食用有關食物不會危害或損害健康(食物安全中心(中心)會根據風險評估,加以確定)的情況下,才可進口或售賣該等食物。

2. 在制定該規例附表1時,我們主要採納食品法典委員會釐定的可用標準,並以內地和向香港出口食物的其他主要國家(包括美國和泰國)可用的相關標準作補充,同時亦有考慮在公眾諮詢期間從持份者收集到的意見。

3. 在食物監察計劃下,中心採集不同食物的樣本化驗,以確定食物所含的除害劑是否高於上述附表1訂明的最高殘餘限量∕最高再殘餘限量;如測得超出限量,中心會採取適當的跟進行動,確保有關問題食物獲得糾正後方可在本地市場重新發售。

給業界的建議

1. 務農者在施用除害劑保護農作物時,應遵行(包括但不限於)下列的優良務農規範建議:

  (a) 只施用當局准許使用的除害劑;
  (b) 使用足以防治蟲害的最少量除害劑;
  (c) 盡可能降低除害劑殘餘量,使殘餘物的毒性不至超出可接受水平;以及
  (d) 嚴格依循除害劑標籤指明的停藥期或安全採收期,以免採收的農作物含過量除害劑殘餘。

2. 有關香港准許使用除害劑的一覽表和如何安全使用農用除害劑的資料,業界可瀏覽漁農自然護理署網頁 (http://www.afcd.gov.hk/tc_chi/quarantine/qua_pesticide/qua_pesticide.html),進一步了解詳情。

給市民的建議

1. 蔬菜是健康均衡飲食必不可少的一部分。市民應養成健康和均衡的飲食習慣,保持健康的生活方式。

2. 蔬菜應以流動清水徹底沖淨,方才烹煮食用。在適當的情況下,可用乾淨的刷子刷洗帶有硬皮的農產品,以去除表面和縫隙間的污物雜質,包括除害劑殘餘和污染物。由於浸泡或沸水速煮會令蔬菜的營養素流失,加上近年食物中驗出除害劑殘餘的情況並不多見,即使檢出除害劑殘餘含量亦偏低,而衞生防護中心也沒有錄得確診攝入除害劑引致食物中毒的個案,因此中心不再建議市民以浸泡或沸水速煮方式處理蔬菜,中心的食物安全專家委員會亦已採納這項意見。

3. 中心不建議市民使用肥皂、配方洗滌劑或農產品清潔劑來清洗蔬菜。

4. 雖然某些除害劑殘餘可經由母乳傳給嬰兒,但世衞認為母乳是最理想的嬰兒食品,有利嬰兒健康成長和發展,非使用代乳品可比,而授乳的母親身心健康也會得益。

食物安全中心
風險評估組
2017年3月

* 農藥殘留聯合會議是指由糧農組織食品及環境中殘餘除害劑專家小組與世衞核心評估小組聯合會議的簡稱。糧農組織專家小組負責評估有關除害劑的殘餘及分析方法,按照受監督的田間試驗和優良務農規範估計最高殘餘限量。世衞核心評估小組則負責評估除害劑的毒性資料,估計安全參照標準(即每日可攝入量),以及從膳食攝取到的除害劑殘餘量。如有需要,在適當地估計短期從膳食攝取的分量時,亦估計除害劑的急性毒性參考劑量。

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 15-03-2017