Risk Communication >> Subject Areas >> Food Contaminants Print Friendly

Frequently Asked Questions

Radiological Standard for Bottled/Packaged Waters under Routine Condition

7.1 Why Centre for Food Safety (CFS) adopts a more stringent standard to replace the Codex guideline levels for contaminated food following radiological or nuclear emergency for bottled/packaged waters?

Since it is now well over one year after the quake-led nuclear incident in Japan, CFS considered that it is an appropriate time to adopt the radiological standard stipulated in the Codex “General Standard for Bottled/Packaged Drinking Waters (Other Than Natural Mineral Waters)(CODEX STAN 227-2001)" for bottled/packaged waters under routine condition, after taking into account currently international standards, risk assessment and other relevant factors.  This standard states that no bottled/packaged waters shall contain substances or emit radioactivity in quantities that may be injurious to health and all bottled/packaged waters shall comply with the health-related requirements of the most recent Guidelines for Drinking-water Quality (GDWQ) published by the World Health Organization (WHO).  According to the 2011 version of GDWQ, the guidance level is 10 Bq/L for I-131, Cs-134 and Cs-137 respectively. The sum of the radiation level should not exceed 10 Bq/L if multiple radionuclides are detected in one sample. The Water Supplies Department has also been following WHO's GDWQ as the standards for the quality of drinking water in Hong Kong.  The Expert Committee supported the CFS’s adoption of this standard for bottled/packaged water under routine condition.

7.2 Does the above radiological standard apply only to bottled/packaged waters imported from Japan?

The above radiological standard is applicable to bottled/packaged waters imported from Japan and all other countries. 

7.3 What is the radiological standard for other food commodities?

For food commodities other than bottled/packaged waters, the Expert Committee noted that there is no standard for routine condition and recommended the CFS to continue adopting the “General Standard for Contaminants and Toxins in Food and Feed (CODEX STAN 193-1995, Amended 2010)" (GSCTFF) guideline levels for import control of food imported from Japan and other parts of the world following a nuclear or radiological emergency.  Since the Codex guideline levels are widely acceptable for international trade and provide sufficient protection for public health, CFS will continue adopting the GSCTFF guideline levels for other food commodities.
 
7.4 When does the new radiological standard for bottled/packaged waters become effective?

The effective date is on 1 August 2012.

7.5 Will the CFS announce the test results of satisfactory samples detected with low level of radionuclides to the public?

To facilitate the public to make informed choices, the CFS will continue to upload the test results of food imported from Japan, including those with radionuclides below GSCTFF guideline levels, on the CFS’s website on working days.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 07-12-2015

風險傳達 >> 主題項目 >> 食物污染物 友善列印

常 見 的 問 題

瓶裝∕包裝食水在正常情況下的放射性核素含量標準

7.1 為何食物安全中心(中心)對瓶裝∕包裝食水採用一個更嚴格的標準以取代食品法典委員會有關發生輻射或核事故後受污染食物的指引限值?

自日本發生由地震引起的核事故以來,至今已超過一年。中心考慮過有關的國際標準、風險評估及其他相關因素後,認為現時是合適的時間採用食品法典委員會在《瓶裝∕包裝飲用水(天然礦泉水除外)通用標準(CODEX STAN227-2001)》訂定的標準,作為瓶裝∕包裝食水在正常情況下的放射性核素含量標準。這套標準訂明瓶裝∕包裝食水所含的物質分量或釋出的輻射量不會達到危害市民健康的水平,同時所有瓶裝∕包裝食水必須符合世界衞生組織最新公布的《飲用水水質準則》(準則)的衞生要求。根據2011年版的準則,碘-131、銫-134和銫-137的限值為每公升10貝可。若同一樣本檢出多於一種放射性核素,其含量總和不應超過每公升10貝可。水務署亦一直採用有關的世衞發布的準則作為香港的食水水質標準。食物安全專家委員會(專家委員會)支持中心以這套標準作為瓶裝∕包裝食水在正常情況下的標準。

7.2 上述輻射標準是否只適用於從日本進口的瓶裝∕包裝食水?

上述輻射標準適用於從日本和所有其他國家進口的瓶裝∕包裝食水。

7.3 其他食物有什麼適用的放射性核素含量標準?

專家委員會注意到,除瓶裝∕包裝食水外的其他食物是沒有訂定在正常情況下的放射性核素含量標準,因此建議中心繼續採用《食品和飼料中污染物和毒素通用標準(CODEX STAN 193-1995)》中,就發生輻射或核事故後對從日本和世界其他地區進口的食物實行進口管制而訂定的指引限值。由於食品法典委員會訂定的指引限值在國際貿易中廣受採納,而且已為公眾健康提供足夠的保障,中心會繼續對其他食物採用《食品和飼料中污染物和毒素通用標準》的指引限值。

7.4 瓶裝∕包裝飲用水的新放射性核素含量標準何時生效?

生效日期是2012年8月1日。

7.5 中心會否公布合格但檢測到少量放射性核素的樣本的檢測結果?

為方便市民作出知情選擇,中心將繼續每個工作天上載日本進口食品的檢測結果到中心網頁,包括含輻射量低於《食品和飼料中污染物和毒素通用標準》指引限值的檢測結果。

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 07-12-2015