Risk Communication >> Subject Areas >> Food Contaminants Print Friendly

Frequently Asked Questions

Iodine Prophylaxis and Health Concern

4.1 How is radiation related to thyroid cancer?

Radioactive iodine can be released during nuclear emergencies. If breathed in or swallowed, it will concentrate in the thyroid gland and increase the risk of thyroid cancer. The risk of thyroid cancer following radiation exposure is higher in children and young adults. Among persons exposed to radioactive iodine, the risk of thyroid cancer can be lowered by taking potassium iodide pills, which helps prevent the uptake of the radioactive iodine.

 

4.2 How much iodine do we need from our diet? What is the consequence of excessive intake?

World Health Organization (WHO) recommended a requirement of 150 μg/day iodine for adults. It is generally considered that intake of not exceeding 1000 μg iodine from diet daily would not cause adverse health effect to average adults. Moreover, the WHO recommended the upper limit (UL) of iodine for adults should not exceed 30 μg/kg bw/day. For example, for adults weighing 60 kg, iodine intake should not exceed 1800 μg/day (i.e. 1.8 mg/day). The UL is the highest nutrient intake value that is likely to pose no risk of adverse health effects for individuals in a given age and gender group.

Excessive intake of iodine can cause thyroid disorders, including hypothyroidism and hyperthyroidism.

 

4.3 Why is there a need to take very high level of iodine as prophylaxis in radioactive incident? Is it suitable for everyone as a general preventive measure against radiation contamination?

In the setting of a nuclear power plant accident, potassium iodide pills are given to saturate the thyroid gland and prevent the uptake of radioactive iodine. When given before or shortly after exposure, this step can reduce the risk of cancer in the long term.

However, potassium iodide pills are not "radiation antidotes". They do not protect against external radiation, or against any other radioactive substances besides radioactive iodine. They may also cause medical complications for some individuals such as persons with poorly functioning kidney (please see related questions by the Department of Health at http://www.dh.gov.hk/faq_eng.html).

 

4.4 Can iodine-rich foods (including seaweed) be taken as a prophylactic measure in radiation emergencies?

Iodine-rich foods including seaweeds are not appropriate to be used for prophylactic purpose in radiation emergencies. For example, one has to consume over 200 grams of seaweeds a day in order to obtain the equivalent dose of iodine that is contained in an iodine pills (i.e. 100 mg of iodine per pill). Excessive intake of iodine-rich foods for a long time may lead to thyroid disorders (please see the related question above).

 

4.5 What is the function of iodine in human body?

Iodine is an essential nutrient required for normal bodily function. It is necessary for the synthesis of the thyroid hormones which play a key role in regulating various metabolic functions in the human body. Iodine deficiency may lead to goitre, hypothyroidism, growth and mental retardation in children, etc.

 

4.6 What are the main sources of iodine in our diet?

Diet is the major source of iodine intake for humans. Certain foods such as marine fish and seaweeds are naturally relatively rich in iodine. Iodine is also present in many other foods, including iodized salt.

 

4.7 Why some salt in the market is being iodized?

Salt is commonly considered as a vehicle for iodine fortification for the general population. In some counties (especially developing counties), the population intake of iodine is relatively low. Salt iodization is mandatory or recommended in these countries to prevent the risk of iodine deficiency of the population.

 

4.8 Is there any international standard or recommendation on salt iodization?  

The World Health Organization (WHO) has recommended a level of 20-40 mg/kg for iodisation of salt.

 

4.9 What is the level of iodine in salt available in the local market?

According to a joint study between CFS and Consumer Council in 2005, salt labelled as being iodized contained 36-43mg iodine per 1kg salt. Other salt not indicated as being iodized contains nearly no iodine.

 

4.10 What are the adverse effects of consuming too much salt?

Many studies revealed that excessive intake of salt could lead to hypertension and increased risk of cardiovascular disease. In order to prevent chronic diseases, WHO recommended that salt intake should not exceed 5 gram per person per day.

Ingestion of 500-1000mg salt per kg body weight (i.e., intake of 6-12 teaspoon salt for an adult weighed 60kg) can be toxic to human, with symptoms including gastrointestinal tract ulceration, muscle dysfunction, and renal damage. It would also lead to dehydration and affect the nervous system. However, it is rare to have excessive intake of salt that would lead to toxicity responses.

 

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 07-12-2015

風險傳達 >> 主題項目 >> 食物污染物 友善列印

常 見 的 問 題

預防性碘劑與健康

4.1 輻射和甲狀腺癌有何關聯?

核事故發生時可能會釋出放射性碘。如人體吸入或食入放射性碘,放射性碘會蓄積在甲狀腺中,導致甲狀腺癌顯著增加。兒童和年輕人受輻射後患甲狀腺癌的風險較高。對受放射性碘照射的人而言,服用碘片可減少甲狀腺吸收放射性的碘,以減低患上甲狀腺癌的風險。

 

4.2 我們需要從膳食攝取多少碘?過量攝取碘會有甚麼後果?

根據世界衞生組織(世衞)建議,成人每日需要攝取150微克碘。一般認為如從日常飲食中攝取的碘每天不超過1000微克,不會對一般成年人的健康構成影響。同時,世衞建議成人每日碘可耐受最高攝入量按每公斤體重計算不應超過30微克。例如,一個體重60公斤的成年人,每天不應攝取碘多於1800微克(即1.8亳克)。可耐受最高攝入量是指通常不會對某特定年齡及性別羣組的人健康帶來不良影響的營養素最高攝入數值。

過量攝取碘可擾亂甲狀腺的正常功能,以致出現甲狀腺功能亢進、甲狀腺功能減退等。

 

4.3 為甚麼在發生輻射事故後需要服用大劑量的碘作為防護?這是否是一個適合所有人的一般防護輻射污染的措施?

在核電廠發生事故時,服用碘片可使甲狀腺內的碘飽和,從而阻止甲狀腺攝取放射性碘。在暴露前或暴露後短時間內服用碘片,可降低患癌的長期風險。

然而,碘片並非“解毒劑”,不能保護來自於外部的放射性,也不能阻止身體吸收除碘以外的放射性物質。服用碘片亦可能對部份人士引起不良健康後果,例如腎功能欠佳的人(請參閱衛生署相關的問題: http://www.dh.gov.hk/faq_tc.html )。

 

4.4 碘含量豐富的食物(包括海藻)可否被用作緊急輻射情況的預防措施?

碘含量豐富的食物包括海藻是不適合用作緊急輻射情況的預防措施。舉例,每日要進食超過200克的海藻,才相當於一粒碘片的劑量(即每片含100亳克碘)。長時間過量進食碘含量豐富的食物可擾亂甲狀腺的正常功能(請參閱相關以上問題)。

 

4.5 碘在人體中有何功用?

碘是維持人體正常功能所需的營養素。人體製造甲狀腺激素需要碘,而甲狀腺激素調節人體多個新陳代謝的功能。人體缺乏碘可引致甲狀腺腫(俗稱「大頸泡」),甲狀腺功能減退,及影響兒童的生長和智力發展等。

 

4.6 哪些食物是碘的主要來源?

人類主要從飲食中吸收身體所需的碘質。一些食物例如海魚和海藻天然含較豐富的碘質。碘亦存在於很多其他食物當中,包括碘化鹽。

 

4.7 為甚麼市面上一些食鹽中添加了碘?

食鹽是為普羅大眾強化碘的一個常用媒介。一些國家(尤其是發展中國家)發現人群的碘攝入量偏低,為預防市民缺碘,強制規定或建議在食鹽中添加碘。

 

4.8 國際間有沒有制定在食鹽中添加碘的標準或建議?

世界衞生組織(世衞)建議每千克食鹽可添加20至40毫克碘。

 

4.9 市面上出售的食鹽的碘含量如何?

根據中心於2005年與消委會聯合進行的調查,市面上出售的已標明添加碘的食鹽,碘含量為每千克鹽36-43毫克。至於一般沒有標明添加碘的食鹽,則幾乎不含碘。

 

4.10 進食過量的食鹽對健康有何影響?

多項研究發現,進食過量食鹽可引致血壓高及增加患上心血管疾病的風險。為預防慢性疾病,世衞建議每人每日的鹽分攝入量不多於5克。

人類進食超過每千克體重500–1000毫克食鹽(即一個體重60千克的成年人約進食6至12茶匙的食鹽)可能產生中毒反應,症狀包括腸胃潰瘍、肌肉無力及腎臟受損,導致缺水及影響神經系統。不過,進食過量食鹽而導致中毒的情況亦為罕見。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 07-12-2015