Risk Communication >> Subject Areas >> Food Contaminants Print Friendly

Frequently Asked Questions

Nuclear Incident and Health

1.1 In light of the growing nuclear crisis in Fukushima , what measures would the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) take to ensure that no affected food products will enter Hong Kong ?

In response to the quake-led nuclear incident in Japan , the CFS has, since 12 March, stepped up surveillance on fresh food products from Japan including milk, vegetables, fruits and meat, and conducted radiological testing. Consignments will be screened by Hand-held survey meters for surface contamination and samples will also be taken for testing using the Contamination Monitoring System (CMS). Also, the CFS has contacted Japanese authorities for more information and will closely monitor the latest development of the incident in Japan .

Centre for Food Safety tests imported Japanese fresh produce for radiation level ( 12 March 2011 )

 

1.2 What is the background radiation dose?

Humans are constantly exposed to different kinds of radiations, especially natural radiation. The annual dose received by the public in Hong Kong from natural background radiation is about 2 mSv. In general, the annual dose received by the public in the world ranges from 1 mSv to 10 mSv. However, different areas in the world may have different background radiation levels. For example, the background radiation in some regions in Iran and India may reach 200 mSv per year. According to the report of the United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR) in 2000, the worldwide average annual effective dose through ingestion (including foods and drinking water) is 0.3 mSv. Moreover, people are also exposed to radiation in other ways, for example, 0.4 mSv per year from cosmic rays, 0.5 mSv per year from terrestrial gamma rays and 1.2 mSv per year from inhalation (mainly radon).

 

1.3 What is “half-life” for radionuclide?

Half-life is the time required for a radioactive substance to lose 50% of its activity by decay. Each radionuclide has a unique half-life.

 

1.4 What are the possible radionuclides being released in a nuclear emergency? How long these radionuclides will remain in the environment?

If a nuclear power plant does not function properly, radioactivity may be released into the surrounding area by a mixture of products generated inside the reactor ("nuclear fission products"). These include radioactive iodine-131 (I-131), caesium-134 (Cs-134), caesium-137 (Cs-137), strontium-90 (Sr-90), ruthenium-103 (Ru-103), ruthenium-106 (Ru-106) and cerium-144 (Ce-144). The main radionuclides representing health risk are radioactive caesium and radioactive iodine which have been covered in CFS’s surveillance programme for radioactivity in food.

Since the duration of radionuclides remains in the environment may be affected by factors like weather conditions, the type and concentration of radionuclide involved, it is difficult to estimate accurately the persistence of these radioactive materials. Radionuclides with longer half-life such as Cs-137 may remain in the environment for years.

Radionuclide

Half-life

I-131

8.04 days

Cs-134

2.1 years

Cs-137

30.17 years

Sr-90

28.6 years

Ru-103

39.35 days

Ru-106

368.2 days

Ce-144

284.3 days

 

1.5 What are the possible health effects of the exposure to radioactive caesium?

Radioactive caesium, caesium-134 (Cs-134) and caesium-137 (Cs-137), can be released during nuclear emergencies. External exposure to large amounts of radioactive caesium can cause burns, acute radiation sickness, and even death. Exposure to radioactive caesium can increase the risk for cancer. Internal exposure to radioactive caesium, through ingestion or inhalation, allows the radioactive material to be distributed in the soft tissues, especially muscle tissue, increasing cancer risk.

 

1.6 What is the measurement for human exposure to radioactive substances?

The exposure is expressed as effective dose which represents the total detriment to an individual resulting from an exposure to ionising radiation. The effective dose is equal to the energy deposited by ionising radiation per unit mass of irradiated material (in grays) multiplied by the radiation weighting factor which accounts for the harmfulness of different types of radiation (alpha, beta or gamma) and multiplied by the tissue weighting factors which account for the different sensitivities to radiation induced biological effects of different human organs or tissues. Its unit is Sievert (Sv), or the more commonly used millisievert (mSv). The annual dose received by the public in Hong Kong from natural background radiation is about 2 mSv.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 07-12-2015

風險傳達 >> 主題項目 >> 食物污染物 友善列印

常 見 的 問 題

核事故與健康

1.1 鑑於福島核電廠事故不斷擴大,食物安全中心會怎樣確保受影響的食物不會進入本港?

因應日本發生地震後引發的核電站事故,中心已由3月12日起,對日本進口本港的新鮮食品,例如牛奶、蔬菜、水果及肉類,加強監察,進行輻射水平測試。食物安全中心利用手提輻射儀器及輻射污染監察系統,在被抽驗的食品批次,分別量度整體批次表面及食品樣本中的輻射水平。此外,中心已與日本當局聯絡,以取得更多資料,並密切注視當地事態的發展,監察最新情況。

食物安全中心對日本進口新鮮食品進行輻射水平測試(2011年3月12日)

 

1.2 一般之本底輻射量為何 ?

我們每日都會接觸到各種各樣的輻射,特別是天然輻射。在本港,平均每人每年吸收的天然本底輻射劑量大約為2毫希(mSv)。在世界各地,每人吸收的天然本底輻射劑量一般都是由每年1毫希(mSv)到10毫希(mSv)不等。不過,不同地區差異造成各地區的本底輻射劑量會有所不同,例如在伊朗和印度一些地方可達到每年200毫希(mSv)。根據聯合國原子輻射效應科學委員會(UNSCEAR)第2000年報告(只有英文版),世界各地人民平均每年攝入輻射劑量大約為0.3毫希(mSv)(包括水及食物)。此外,人們亦會從不同途徑吸收輻射劑量,例如來自宇宙射線的平均每年為0.4毫希(mSv),來自地面伽瑪射線的平均每年為0.5毫希(mSv),吸入(主要是氡)的平均每年為1.2毫希(mSv)。

 

1.3 什麼是放射性物質的半衰期 (Half-life)?

半衰期是放射性物質經由衰變失去其50%的活度所需要的時間。每一種放射性核素有其獨有的半衰期。

 

1.4 核事故可能會釋出哪些放射性核素?這些放射性核素會在環境中存留多久?

如核電廠未能正常運作,反應堆內會產生放射性混合產物(“核裂變產物”),以致可能會把輻射外泄至附近地區。這些產物包括放射性碘-131(I-131)、放射性銫-134(Cs-134)、放射性銫-137(Cs-137)、放射性鍶-90(Sr-90)、放射性釕-103(Ru-103)、放射性釕-106(Ru-106)及放射性鈰-144(Ce-144),當中會損害健康的主要為放射性銫及放射性碘,而這兩種放射性核素已涵蓋在食物安全中心有關食物中的放射性監察計劃內。

射性核素

半衰期

碘-131

8.04日

銫-134

2.1年

銫-137

30.17年

鍶-90

28.6年

釕-103

39.35日

釕-106

368.2日

鈰-144

284.3日

由於受到外泄的放射物質種類、濃度、天氣等多項因素影響,這些放射物質於環境中存留的時間很難準確預測。半衰期較長的放射性核素如銫-137可能存留多年。

 

1.5 接觸放射性銫可能會對人體造成哪些影響?

放射性銫(例如銫-134及銫-137)可在發生核事故情況下釋出。如透過外照射方式接觸大量的放射性銫,可造成灼傷和急性放射病,甚或死亡。接觸放射性銫會增加患癌的機會。至於透過食入或吸入的內照射方式接觸放射性銫,則會令這種放射性物質分布在軟組織內,特別是肌肉組織,因而增加患癌的機會。

 

1.6 人體接觸放射性物質的量度單位為何?

這種接觸情況會以有效劑量表達,代表一個人因接觸電離輻射而受到的損害總量。有效劑量相等於每單位質量的受照物質因電離輻射所得的能量(以戈瑞表達)乘以輻射權重因子(代表不同輻射(阿爾發、貝他或伽瑪)的危害程度)及組織權重因子(代表不同人體器官或組織對輻射所引致生物效應的敏感程度)。有關單位為希沃特(希),較常稱為毫希沃特(毫希)。在本港,平均每人每年吸收的天然本底輻射劑量大約為2毫希(mSv)。

 

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 07-12-2015