Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

Sweeteners in Food

Introduction

  1. A wide range of sugars are available for sweetening foods, such as sucrose (table sugar), fructose, honey and maltose.

  2. In food industry, the use of low-calorie sugar substitutes or sweeteners to replace sugars is common.

What is Sweetener

  1. In legal term, sweetener means any chemical compound which is sweet to the taste, other than sugars and other carbohydrates or polyhydric alcohols.

  2. Sweeteners vary in sweetness but generally have intense sweetness many times that of sucrose. Neotame is 7 000-13 000 times sweeter than sucrose while cyclamate is only about 30 times sweeter than sucrose. As only a small amount of the sweeteners is used, the energy content of the food is reduced when compared with food sweetened by sugars. For example, 1g of aspartame can replace 200g of sucrose, providing 4 kilocalories of energy instead of 800 kilocalories from sucrose.

  3. Sweeteners are used in a wide variety of foods such as tabletop sweeteners (containing aspartame, saccharin or sucralose), diet carbonated drinks (containing aspartame, acesulfame potassium, and cyclamate) and chewing gums (containing aspartame and acesulfame potassium). It is common to use more than one type of sweeteners in a food product because they have synergetic effect on sweetness. Through the combination of sweeteners, they can enhance overall product taste, reduce the quantity used and save on the cost of the formulation.

  4. The most popular applications of sweeteners are:
    - To reduce the chance of tooth decay
    - To help obese people in weight control
    - To produce foods for diabetic

Safety of Sweeteners

  1. In Hong Kong, sweeteners approved for food uses have undergone safety evaluation by international authority i.e. the Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) sweeteners do not pose harmful effects, teratogenic effect or carcinogenicity on humans, provided they are consumed in moderation. According to available evidence, no special precaution applies to pregnant women and children.

  2. JECFA would assign an Acceptable Daily Intake (ADI) which represents the level of a food additive that can be safely consumed on a daily basis over a lifetime.

  3. Among commonly available sweeteners, cyclamate has the lowest sweetness intensity. If cyclamate is used to replace sugar in a can of soft drink (i.e. replacing 35 g of sugar by 1.17 g cyclamate), the dietary exposure of cyclamate of a 60kg individual from one can of soft drink per day would be 19.5 mg/kg body weight/day which exceeds the ADI for cyclamate (i.e. 11 mg/kg body weight/day). Nevertheless, in reality, cyclamate is usually used in combination with other sweeteners where a much smaller quantity of it would be needed. Therefore, usual consumption of foods containing combination of sweeteners is unlikely to lead to the ADI of cyclamates being exceeded.

  4. For other sweeteners that have higher sweetness intensity such as aspartame, a 60kg individual would have to consume approximately 5 litres of beverage (containing 0.48g aspartame/ litre) or 70 packets (containing ~0.034g aspartame/ packet) of table-top sweetener a day to reach the ADI (i.e. 40 mg/kg body weight/ day). It is therefore unlikely that a person may consume enough on a given day to reach the ADI.

  5. Nevertheless, patients suffered from a rare inherited disease phenylketonuria (PKU) are advised not to consume aspartame because they are unable to metabolise phenylalanine (aspartame is a source of phenylalanine ) effectively, leading to the accumulation of potentially harmful levels and can cause serious brain damage.

  6. The use of sweeteners in the local marketplace is mainly on snacks, rather than on staple foods. The dietary intake, and hence the health risk to the general population is therefore not expected to be high.

  7. The CFS has conducted risk assessment studies to ensure the usual consumption of foods containing sweeteners would not pose any adverse health effects to the general population.

Regulatory Control

  1. In Hong Kong, sweeteners are regulated under the Sweeteners in Food Regulations of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance, Cap.132. Under the legislation, only the following sweeteners are permitted to be used in food: Acesulfame Potassium, Alitame, Aspartame, Aspartame - acesulfame Salt, Cyclamic Acid (and Sodium, Potassium, Calcium salts), Saccharin (and Sodium, Potassium, Calcium Salts), Sucralose, Thaumatin, Neotame, and Steviol Glycosides. These sweeteners should be used under the condition of Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP).

  2. According to the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations of Cap.132, the functional class i.e. sweetener together with its specific name or identification number have to be labelled if any of the sweeteners are used in the pre-packaged food.

  3. The CFS have a food surveillance programme in place for sweeteners.

Advice to the Public

  1. Have a balanced diet and ensure that the same sweetener should not be consumed excessively. The advice also applies to pregnant women and children.

  2. For personal concern and medical reasons over the use of sweeteners, seek advice from health professionals.

  3. PKU patients or people who are sensitive to particular sweeteners should read the food label in detail to see whether the food contains the sweetener concerned..

Advice to the Trade

  1. Ensure the products comply with local regulations, including food additives and labelling requirements.

  2. Observe Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP) and apply sweeteners in a way that only the amount necessary to achieve the desired effect is added.

  3. To reduce the amount of exposure to each sweetener by consumers, using of more than one sweetener in a product can be considered.

Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety
October 2010

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 21-10-2010

工作項目 >> 食物安全之風險評估 友善列印

食 物 中 的 甜 味 劑

引 言

  1. 為使食物有甜味,可以使用不同種類的糖,例如蔗糖(砂糖)、果糖、蜜糖、麥芽糖。

  2. 食物業使用卡路里含量較低的代糖或甜味劑以代替糖的情況很普遍。

甚麼是甜味劑

  1. 根據法例的釋義,甜味劑是指任何帶甜味的化合物,但不包括糖及其他碳水化合物或多羥醇。

  2. 不同的甜味劑的甜味各異,但甜度通常比蔗糖高許多倍。紐甜的甜度是蔗糖的7 000至13 000倍,但環己基氨基磺酸的甜度只是蔗糖的30倍左右。由於甜味劑的使用分量小,與加入糖的食物比較,使用甜味劑的食物的能量會較低。例如1克天冬酰胺可取代200克蔗糖,產生的能量只有4千卡路里,而非蔗糖的800千卡路里。

  3. 多種食物都添加了甜味劑,例如餐桌代糖(含有天冬酰胺、糖精或三氯半乳蔗糖)、減肥汽水(含有天冬酰胺、醋磺內酯鉀和環己基氨基磺酸)和香口膠(含有天冬酰胺和醋磺內酯鉀)。食物業常會在一個食品中使用多於一種甜味劑,以產生甜味上的協同效應。把甜味劑混合使用,可使食品的整體味道更佳,減少用量,以及節省配製食品的成本。

  4. 甜味劑的最普遍用途為:
    - 減少蛀牙機會;
    - 幫助過胖人士控制體重;以及
    - 製造適合糖尿病患者的食物。

甜味劑的安全問題

  1. 在香港,批准在食物中使用的甜味劑都通過國際機構(即聯合國糧食及農業組織∕世界衞生組織聯合食物添加劑專家委員會(下稱“專家委員會”))的安全評估。這些甜味劑只要不是過量食用,不會對人體有害,也不會導致產生畸胎或致癌的情況。根據現有的證據,孕婦和兒童無須採取特別的預防措施。

  2. 專家委員會就食物添加劑訂定每日可攝入量,即一個人一生中每日可攝入該添加劑的安全分量。。

  3. 在常見的甜味劑中,環己基氨基磺酸的甜度最低。如以環己基氨基磺酸代替一罐汽水的糖(即以1.17克的環己基氨基磺酸代替35克 的糖),一個體重60公斤的人如每日飲用一罐汽水,按每公斤體重計算,其環己基氨基磺酸的攝入量是19.5毫克,已超出每日可攝入量(即按每公斤體重計算每日11毫克)。不過,實際上環己基氨基磺酸通常會與其他甜味劑混合使用,而所需的分量亦很小,因此正常食用含多種甜味劑的食物未必會超出環己基氨基磺酸的每日可攝入量。

  4. 至於其他甜度較高的甜味劑,例如天冬酰胺,一個體重60公斤的人,一日須飲用大約5升的飲品(每升含0.48克天冬酰胺)或食用70包的餐桌代糖(每包大約含0.034克天冬酰胺),所攝入的天冬酰胺分量才會達到每日可攝入量的水平(即按每公斤體重計算每日40毫克)。因此,人一日內進食的甜味劑分量,不大可能達到每日可攝入量的水平。

  5. 患有苯丙酮酸尿症這種罕見遺傳疾病的人由於身體不能有效分解苯丙氨酸(天冬酰胺是苯丙氨酸的來源),以致在體內積聚,達到可能影響健康的水平,並會令腦部嚴重受損,故他們不應進食天冬酰胺。

  6. 在香港市面,使用甜味劑的食物大多數是零食而非主要食物。因此,市民從飲食中攝入甜味劑以致危害健康的機會不大。

  7. 食物安全中心已進行風險評估研究,確保市民正常進食含有甜味劑的食物不會對健康造成損害。

法例規管

  1. 在香港,甜味劑受《公眾衞生及市政條例》(第132章)屬下的《食物內甜味劑規例》規管。法例規定,食物只准使用以下甜味劑:醋磺內酯鉀、縮二氮酸基酰胺、天冬酰胺、天冬酰胺-醋磺內酯鹽、環己基氨基磺酸(和鈉、鉀、鈣鹽)、糖精(和鈉、鉀、鈣鹽)、三氯半乳蔗糖、索馬甜、紐甜和甜菊醇糖苷。這些甜味劑應在符合優良製造規範的情況下使用。

  2. 《食物及藥物(成分組合及標籤)規例》(第132章)規定,預先包裝食物如含有甜味劑,須在標籤上標明作用類別(即甜味劑),以及其身所用名稱或識別編號。

  3. 食物安全中心已制定食物監察計劃,用以監察食物所含的甜味劑。

給市民的建議

  1. 應保持均衡飲食,並確保不會過量食用同一種甜味劑。這建議亦適用於孕婦和兒童。

  2. 基於個人及健康問題,應徵詢醫護人員對食用甜味劑的意見。

  3. 苯丙酮酸尿症病人或對某些甜味劑敏感的人在選購食物時,應細閱食物標籤,看看食物是否含有有關的甜味劑。

給業界的建議

  1. 確保食品符合本港的規例,包括食物添加劑和標籤的規定。

  2. 遵守優良製造規範,添加甜味劑的分量,應以發揮該甜味劑的預期作用所需的分量為限。

  3. 為減少食用者攝入每種甜味劑的分量,可考慮在一個食品中使用多於一種甜味劑。

 

食物安全中心
風險評估組
2010年10月

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 21-10-2010