Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety >> Food Commodities / Ingredients Print Friendly

Risk in Brief

Risks and Benefits of Fish Soup Consumption

Introduction

  • Fish soup has been regarded as a nutritious food and is considered by the Chinese traditionally to be particularly good for lactating women as part of the postpartum confinement diet. Public concern has been raised that the contaminants present in the fish may leach into the soup which may pose risk to their foetus and infant if the pregnant or lactating women drink fish soup frequently.
  • Fish contain high quality proteins and many essential nutrients, such as long-chain n-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids (LCn3PUFAs) (i.e. omega-3 fatty acids). On the other hand, fish may also contain higher levels of contaminants such as methylmercury, and dioxins and dioxin-like polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs).
  • In recent years, the risks and benefits of consuming fish have aroused public debates and drawn attention of the scientific community. According to the assessment conducted in January 2010 by the Joint FAO/WHO Expert Consultation on the Risks and Benefits of Fish Consumption, it concluded that moderate consumption of a variety of fish is recommended. However, risks and benefits assessment of fish soup consumption has not been reported. Hence, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) conducted a study to evaluate the risks and the benefits of fish soup consumption in a limited scale and is going to submit the results to World Health Organization.

Safety and Public Health Significance

  • Methymercury, an organic form of mercury, is the most toxic form of mercury. The primary health effect of methylmercury is impaired neurological development of foetuses, infants and children. Methylmercury can cross the placenta into the foetus in pregnant women and build up in the foetal brain and other tissues. In addition, infants may be exposed to methylmercury through breast milk but its transport from blood to milk is less efficient than transport across the blood-brain and blood-placenta barriers. Therefore, methylmercury exposure of infants through lactation is lower than exposure of foetues.
  • Dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs are persistent organic pollutants (POPs) ubiquitous in the environment. Dioxins occur naturally and as by-products of combustion and various industrial processes, in contrast, PCBs were manufactured in the past for a variety of industrial uses, and their uses have been banned by most countries since 1970s. Concerns on dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs are mainly due to their toxic effects on a number of systems, including endocrine and immune systems, the developing nervous system and their cancer-causing potentials. Dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs can excrete from breast milk.

Risks and Benefits Assessment

  • The study on the risks and the benefits of fish soup consumption focused on five kinds of fish, which are considered common for preparing fish soup for women after childbirth or lactating women in Hong Kong. They are small snakehead, grass carp tail, flat-head, crucian carp and catfish. The levels of dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs, methylmercury, and LCn3PUFA including eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA), docosapentaenoic acid (DPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) in the fish soup were determined ( see Table ). In general, a higher level of methylmercury / dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs was found in fish soup with a higher LCn3PUFA content.
  • Our dietary exposure assessment suggests that adverse effect of the local population including the women of childbearing age due to the exposure of methylmercury or dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs from the fish soup alone is unlikely.
  • The effects of prenatal exposure to DHA and EPA versus methylmercury on child IQ were compared. The risk and benefit comparison was conducted with reference to the approach recommended by the Joint FAO/WHO Expert Consultation on the Risks and Benefits of Fish Consumption (January 2010). The findings suggested that the benefits gained from consumption of fish soup outweighed the risks. For example, consumption of catfish soup, which was found containing the highest methylmercury level and also the highest DHA and EPA content, resulted in an estimated net gain of 4.6 – 5.5 IQ points if the child’s mother consumed four bowls of catfish soup per day.

Advice to public

  • The public is advised to maintain a balanced and varied diet, including a variety of fruits and vegetables.
  • Since fish contain many essential nutrients, such as omega-3 fatty acids and high quality proteins, moderate consumption (including pregnant women and young children) of a variety of fish is recommended. In addition, fish soup can be a source of nutrients such as omega-3 fatty acids.
  • Pregnant women, women planning pregnancy and young children should avoid eating predatory fish and the types of fish that may contain high levels of methylmercury (e.g. tuna, alfonsino, shark, swordfish, marlin, orange roughy and king mackerel) ( For reference of study report on methylmercury in different types of fish, please click here).

Risk Assessment Section
December 2013

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 12-12-2013

工作項目 >> 食物安全之風險評估 >> 糧 食 / 成 份 友善列印

風 險 簡 訊

飲 用 魚 湯 的 風 險 和 益 處

引言

  • 眾所周知,魚湯營養豐富,也是中國傳統上認為適合作為授乳婦女產後的調理膳食。然而,引起市民關注的是,魚類所含的污染物可能滲進魚湯,孕婦或授乳婦女經常飲用魚湯會對她們的胎兒及嬰兒構成風險。
  • 魚類含優質蛋白質和多種必要營養素,例如長鏈n-3多元不飽和脂肪酸(即奧米加-3脂肪酸)。不過,魚類又同時含有分量頗高的污染物,如甲基汞、二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯。
  • 近年,進食魚類的風險和益處引起公眾多番討論,並引起科學界的關注。根據聯合國糧食及農業組織∕世界衞生組織進食魚類風險和益處聯合專家諮詢會在2010年1月的評估,所得的結論是建議適量進食多種魚類。不過,我們卻未有發現有關飲用魚湯的風險和益處的評估報告。因此,食物安全中心(中心)進行小型研究,評估飲用魚湯的風險和益處,並會將有關結果提交世界衞生組織。

 

安全性和對公眾健康的影響

  • 甲基汞是有機形態的汞,屬最強毒性的汞形態。甲基汞對健康的主要影響是導致胎兒、嬰兒和兒童的腦神經發育不全。甲基汞可經由孕婦的胎盤進入胎兒體內,在胎兒腦部和身體其他組織積聚。此外,嬰兒也會從母乳攝入甲基汞,但經由血液輸送至乳汁的甲基汞的效率,相對經輸送血腦屏障和血胎盤屏障為低。因此,嬰兒從母乳攝入甲基汞的分量,低於胎兒所攝入的分量。
  • 二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯普遍存在環境中,屬持久性有機污染物。二噁英可自然形成,亦是燃燒及各種工業過程產生的副產品。反之,多氯聯苯則是人工製造的物質,過往作不同工業用途,但自上世紀七十年代開始,大部分國家已紛紛禁用。兩者所引起的關注,主要在於其對身體多個系統,包括內分泌和免疫系統、發育中的神經系統產生毒性,以及其誘發癌症的潛在風險。二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯可經由母乳排出體外。

風險和益處評估

  • 是次進行飲用魚湯的風險和益處的評估集中研究通常用作配製魚湯供產後或授乳的婦女飲用的5種魚類,包括山斑魚、鯇魚尾、牛鰍魚、鯽魚和塘虱魚。研究測定魚湯內的二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯、甲基汞、長鏈n-3多元不飽和脂肪酸(包括二十碳五烯酸(EPA)、二十二碳五烯酸(DPA)和二十二碳六烯酸(DHA))含量(參閱附表)。結果顯示長鏈n-3多元不飽和脂肪酸含量較高的魚湯,一般其甲基汞或二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯的含量亦較高。
  • 中心的膳食攝入量評估結果顯示,香港市民(包括育齡女性)僅因飲用魚湯而攝入甲基汞或二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯的分量,不大可能造成不良影響。
  • 中心就產前攝入DHA和EPA與甲基汞之間對兒童智商的影響作出比較。中心參考聯合國糧食及農業組織/世界衞生組織進食魚類風險和益處聯合專家諮詢會(2010年1月)建議的方法進行風險和益處比較,結果顯示飲用魚湯所得的益處高於風險,例如,塘虱魚湯的甲基汞含量最高,但同時其DHA和EPA的水平亦最高,如果孩子的媽媽每天飲用4碗塘虱魚湯,估計可致智商淨增加4.6-5.5點。

給市民的建議

  • 市民應保持均衡及多元化的飲食,包括進食多種蔬果。
  • 魚類含有奧米加-3脂肪酸和優質蛋白質等多種人體所需的營養素,市民(包括孕婦和幼童)宜適量進食多種魚類。此外,魚湯也是奧米加-3脂肪酸等營養素的來源。
  • 孕婦、計劃懷孕的婦女和幼童應避免進食捕獵魚類和甲基汞含量可能偏高的魚類(例如吞拿魚、金目鯛、鯊魚、劍魚、旗魚、橘棘鯛和大王馬鮫魚)。(如欲參考有關各種魚類的甲基汞含量的研究報告,請按這裏)。

風險評估組

二零一三年十二月

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 12-12-2013