Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (81st Issue, April 2013) – Incident in Focus

Reduce Salt/Sodium Intake to Prevent High Blood Pressure

Reported by Dr. Violette LIN, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

The prevalence of diagnosed high blood pressure (hypertension) in Hong Kong is on the rise, from 9.3% in 2008 to 11.0% in 2011/2012. In view of this, on 2 April 2013, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS), in collaboration with the Department of Health, launched a territory-wide media and public education campaign on hypertension, especially on reducing sodium intake as one of the important preventive measures.

Relationship between Salt/Sodium Intake and Blood Pressure

An adult is said to have hypertension if blood pressure is persistently at or above 140/90 mmHg. Untreated or poorly controlled hypertension can damage the arteries and vital organs which in turn lead to coronary heart disease or stroke. The risk of developing hypertension and its complications can be reduced by reducing salt intake, eating a balanced diet, avoiding smoking and harmful use of alcohol, taking regular physical activity, etc.

Early this year, the World Health Organization (WHO) issued new guidance on sodium and potassium intake which recommends adults to consume less than 2 000 mg sodium (5 g salt) but at least 3 510 mg potassium daily from food to reduce blood pressure. As previously reported, Hong Kong people in general consume 10 g/day salt which doubles the WHO recommendation.

Major Source of Salt/Sodium Intake in the Local Diet

According to WHO, 75% of sodium in western diet is from salt in processed foods, whereas salt added during cooking and at the table is the major sodium source in traditional diets in Asia. Locally, the majority of sodium is from condiments and sauces, soup, etc. (see Figure). One needs to pay special attention in order not to exceed the WHO recommendation on dietary sodium intake (see Table).

Figure: Estimated distribution of sodium intake from local diet
Figure: Estimated distribution of sodium intake from local diet

Table: Sodium content of some foods high in sodium and their percentage contribution to WHO’s recommendation of 2 000 mg
Table: Sodium content of some foods high in sodium and their percentage contribution to WHO’s recommendation of 2 000 mg
(Source: Study on Sodium Content in Local Foods by the Centre for Food Safety)

Cut Sodium Intake and Ensure Sufficient Potassium Intake to Prevent Hypertension

Sodium is essential in maintaining the body’s electrolyte balance but 200-500 mg/day is the estimated minimum intake needed for proper bodily function. Potassium is also essential in maintaining the body’s electrolyte balance, which is commonly found in a variety of foods such as beans/peas, nuts, fresh fruits and vegetables. A diet high in processed foods and low in fresh fruits and vegetables is often high in sodium and may lead to high blood pressure. Contrarily, sufficient intake of potassium will lower blood pressure.

Examples of potassium–rich foods Examples of potassium–rich foods

As many Hong Kong people eat out and buy processed foods, sodium reduction therefore requires the concerted efforts of traders and consumers. Traders can refer to the Trade Guidelines for Reducing Sodium in Foods and support the activities of the CFS newly established Working Group on Reducing Sodium in Food by producing and promoting lower sodium foods. Consumers can search the Nutrient Information Inquiry System for the amount of potassium and sodium in foods. Reading nutrition label on prepackaged food can also help you choose low-sodium food.

Key Points to Note:

  • WHO recommends reducing sodium intake and simultaneously increasing potassium intake to reduce the risk of high blood pressure.
  • Reduce daily sodium intake to below 2 000 mg (less than one level teaspoon of salt) and ensure a daily potassium intake to above 3 510 mg.
  • Consume a balanced diet with less processed foods, more fresh fruits and vegetables, and unsalted beans/peas and nuts.

Advice to Consumers

  1. When cooking, gradually reduce the use of salt or sodium-containing seasonings in foods to allow the taste buds get adapted to the new taste.
  2. When eating out, ask for less condiments/sauces and condiments/sauces to be served on the side rather than on the dishes.
  3. When purchasing pre-packaged foods, read the nutrition label and select lower sodium options.
Advice to the Trade
  1. Make reference to the Trade Guidelines to produce and promote products with lower sodium content.
  2. Remove condiment/sauce containers from the table and only present them to the customers when requested.
  3. Stepwise reduction of the use of salt and seasonings in the food supply according to the characteristics of individual food products.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 17-04-2013

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一三年月第八十期) - 焦點個案

預防高血壓 — 減少攝入鹽/鈉

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任林伏波博士報告

香港確診高血壓的患病率呈上升趨勢,由二零零八年的9.3%上升至二零一一/一二年的11.0%。有鑑於此,食物安全中心(中心)於二零一三年四月二日與衞生署攜手在全港展開高血壓公眾教育運動,尤其是以減低鈉的攝入量作為預防高血壓的重要措施之一。

攝入鹽/鈉與血壓的關係

就成年人來說,高血壓是指血壓持續處於140/90毫米水銀柱或以上的水平。患上高血壓而不加以治療或控制不佳,動脈和身體主要器官會受到破壞,引致冠心病或中風。減少攝取鹽分、維持均衝飲食、避免吸煙及酗酒、保持恆常運動等均可降低患高血壓及其併發症的風險。

今年年初,世界衞生組織(世衞)發表了關於攝入量的新指引,建議成人每日從膳食攝入的鈉不多於2000毫克(5克鹽),但攝入的鉀則最少要有3510毫克,以降低血壓。然而,早前有報告指港人的鹽分攝取量一般每日達10克,較世衞建議的每日攝取限量超標一倍。

港人攝入鹽/鈉的主要膳食來源

世衞指出,在西方飲食中,鈉主要來自加工食物中的鹽(約佔75%)。在亞洲國家的傳統膳食中,鈉則主要來自在烹調或進食時加入食物的鹽。在本港,鈉主要來自佐料及醬料,以及湯水等(見圖)。我們應小心留意每天的膳食,以免攝入的鈉超過世衞的建議限量(見表)。

本港市民攝入鈉的膳食來源估計分布圖
本港市民攝入鈉的膳食來源估計分布圖

表:部分高鈉食物的鈉含量及其佔世衞2 000亳克標準的百分比
部分高鈉食物的鈉含量及其佔世衞2 000亳克標準的百分比
(資料來源:食物安全中心《本港食物鈉含量的研究》)

減鈉足鉀以防高血壓

雖然是維持人體電解質平衡的必需元素,但估計每天攝入200至500毫克已足夠維持身體正常功能。鉀也是維持人體電解質平衡的必需元素,許多食物都含有鉀,例如豆/豌豆、堅果、新鮮蔬果等。加工食品多新鮮蔬果少的膳食通常會攝入過多鈉,從而導致高血壓。相反,攝入足夠的鉀可降低血壓。

含鉀豐富的食物
含鉀豐富的食物

很多港人都愛出外用膳和購買加工食品,因此減鈉需要業界和消費者同心協力才能成功。業界可參考《降低食物中鈉含量的業界指引》,並支持中心新成立的“降低食物中鈉含量工作小組”的活動,生產和推廣鈉含量較低的食物。消費者則可利用營養資料查詢系統,找出不同食物中的鉀和鈉含量。另外,善用預先包裝食物上的營養標籤,亦有助選購低鈉食物。

注意要點:

  • 世衞建議減少攝入鈉,同時增加攝入鉀,以減低患上高血壓的風險。
  • 降低鈉的攝入量至每日低於2 000 毫克(即少於一平茶匙鹽),並確保鉀的攝入量每日高於3 510 亳克。
  • 維持飲食均衡,少吃加工食品,多吃新鮮蔬果及不加鹽的豆/豌豆和堅果。
給消費者的建議
  1. 烹調時,逐步減少用鹽或含鈉調味料的分量,讓味蕾慢慢適應清淡的味道。
  2. 出外用膳時,要求減少佐料/醬料,並要求把佐料/醬料另上而非淋在食物上。
  3. 參考預先包裝食物的營養標籤,選擇較低鈉的產品。

給業界的建議

  1. 參照業界指引的建議,生產和推廣較低鈉含量的產品。
  2. 餐桌上不放置佐料/醬料瓶,當消費者要求時才奉上。
  3. 因應個別食品的各種特性,按部就班地減少在食物中加入鹽和調味料。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 17-04-2013