Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

To the main page Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (80th Issue, March 2013) – Food Safety Platform

Micronutrients in Formula Products and Prepackaged Foods for Infants and Young Children

Reported by Dr Violette LIN, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In the previous issues, we have discussed the macronutrients and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) in formula products for infants and young children (0-36 months). In this issue, we will look at vitamins and minerals in these products and in prepackaged foods for children aged 6-36 months as complementary (weaning) foods or part of a well-balanced diet.

Optimal Intake of Vitamins and Minerals

Vitamins and minerals are micronutrients, that are needed in small amounts but are essential for growth, development and normal body functions. During infancy and early childhood, the requirement for micronutrients is high relative to their body size to meet the need for rapid growth and development. A well nourished lactating mother will generally provide adequate micronutrients for full-term infants 0-6 months through breastmilk. Children 6-24 months enter the stage of transitional feeding. They progress to having regular family meals and eating a balanced diet of variety and quality to obtain optimal nutrients.

Functions of some vitamins and minerals provided in a formula product
Functions of some vitamins and minerals provided in a formula product.

The World Health Organization recommends infants to be exclusively breastfed for the first six months of life, and thereafter receive complementary foods while breastfeeding continues for up to two years of age or beyond. When mothers choose formula products (include infant formula and follow-up formula) over breastfeeding for various reasons, and parents/caregivers choose commercial over home-made weaning foods for convenience sake, they should be aware that too much of some nutrients in these products is as harmful as not enough. For example, excessive sodium intake may lead to dehydration as a result of high blood sodium levels, a tendency to prefer salty food and elevated blood pressure in the long run.

Choose a Formula Product

Formula products are essentially formulated with reference to the nutritional composition of breastmilk which is considered the best for babies. Manufacturers have to adhere to the national or international standards. The Codex Alimentarius Commission (Codex) sets the minimum and maximum levels of some vitamins and minerals, and requires manufacturers to declare their contents on the label of both formulae.

Infants 0-6 months: All infant formulae shall have a composition meeting the normal nutritional requirements of full-term infants when used as the sole source of nutrition. Parents/caregivers may choose anyone meeting the Codex requirement unless a child has a medical condition that requires a special formula.

Children 6-36 months: As a substantial amount and a variety of complementary foods are consumed, milk intake can be decreased. Infants 6-12 months of age can continue to consume infant formula, or follow-up formulae meeting the national or international requirements including the Codex.

Choose a Prepackaged Weaning Food

The Department of Health (DH) and many overseas health authorities recommend the use of home-prepared weaning foods over the commercial ones in the transition to a family diet consisting of foods with a variety of tastes, appearances, flavours and textures. This can also help reduce the likelihood of children becoming fussy eaters. Conversely, commercial weaning foods in jars/ packets may have limited textures and flavours.

As for micronutrients, the Codex has requirements on the maximum level of sodium for all cereal-based (e.g. rice-based milk cereal, congee, rusks, biscuits) and other (e.g. fruit juice/puree) foods for children aged 6-36 months. Requirements on vitamin B1 level are also provided for all cereal-based foods; whereas requirements on calcium, vitamins A and/or D level are given to some cereal-based foods. Read the nutrition label to make a better choice.

Parents/caregivers may visit the DH’s website for recommendations on formula milk feeding for young children and preparation of home-made complementary food.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 21-03-2013

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

回到主頁 上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一三年三月第八十期)- 食物安全平台

配方奶產品和嬰幼兒預先包裝食品中的微量營養素

食物安全中心
風險評估組
林伏波博士報告

我們在上兩期探討了0至36個月嬰幼兒配方奶產品中的常量營養素DHA。這期我們會談談這些產品和供6至36個月嬰幼兒食用的預先包裝食品中的維他命和礦物質,作為補充(斷奶期)食品或均衡正餐的一部份的問題。

維他命和礦物質的最佳攝取量

維他命和礦物質屬於微量營養素,雖然需要量很少,卻是人體生長發育和維持正常運作必不可少的營養素。嬰幼兒正處於快速生長期,他們這時候的體型雖小,身體卻需要較多微量營養素以促進發育。哺乳的母親只要營養充裕,母乳中的微量營養素一般可以滿足零至六個月大嬰兒的需要。而6至24個月是孩子學習進食固體食物的過渡期,他們開始和家人一起進食正餐,從均衡及多樣化飲食中攝取足夠的營養。

配方奶產品中部分維他命和礦物質的功用
配方奶產品中部分維他命和礦物質的功用

世界衞生組織建議,嬰兒出生後首六個月應該純以母乳餵哺。之後在哺乳的同時開始添加補充食物,直至孩子兩歲或以上。如果母親因種種原因而選用配方奶產品(包括嬰兒配方奶及較大嬰兒配方奶)代替母乳餵哺,或父母/照顧者因方便購買現成的斷奶期食品,而不自製食物,便須留意這些產品中的營養素含量,因為某些微量營養素過多與不足對身體同樣有害。舉例來說,鈉攝取過多會使血液中鈉的濃度太高而出現脫水,另外口味傾向越來越嗜鹹,長此以往,血壓便會升高。

選購配方奶產品

母乳是嬰兒的最佳食品,所以配方奶產品的營養成分組合均盡可能接近母乳。生產商在生產配方奶時須遵循國家或國際標準。食品法典委員會為部分維他命和礦物質釐定了最低和最高含量,並要求生產商在嬰兒配方奶及較大嬰兒配方奶的標籤上標明有關含量。

0至6個月的嬰兒:所有嬰兒配方奶作為足月嬰兒唯一的營養來源時,其成分組合必須能夠滿足他們的正常營養需求。除非孩子患病,需要食用特殊配方奶,否則父母/照顧者可選擇任何一款符合食品法典委員會標準的嬰兒配方奶。

6至36個月的嬰幼兒:當孩子進食補充食品的分量和種類足夠時,便可減少喝奶。6至12個月大的嬰兒既可繼續食用嬰兒配方奶,亦可以改吃符合國家或國際機構(包括食品法典委員會)標準的較大嬰兒配方奶。

選購預先包裝斷奶期食品

衞生署和多個海外衞生當局一樣,建議市民自製幼兒斷奶期的食物,因為家庭自製的食物在味道、形狀、顏色和口感方面的變化遠勝現成的斷奶期食品,亦能減少他們日後“揀飲擇食”的情況。相反,現成的樽裝/盒裝斷奶期食品無論是口感還是味道的選擇亦較為有限。

至於微量營養素,食品法典委員會對6至36個月嬰幼兒食用的所有穀基類(例如米做的奶米粉、粥、甜麵包乾/牙仔餅和餅乾)和其他食品(例如果汁/果蓉)的含量設有上限;對所有穀基類食品的維他命B1含量亦有所規定;另外亦為部分穀基類食品的維他命A及/或維他命D含量設立了標準。市民應細閱營養標籤,以作出更佳選擇。

父母/照顧者可瀏覽衞生署網頁,參閱有關寶寶飲用配方奶的建議及如何自製補充食物

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 20-02-2013