Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

To the main page Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (75th Issue, October 2012) – Food Safety Platform

Want to Get Less Fat from Instant Noodles? Count on Nutrition Label

Reported by Ms. Michelle CHAN, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section, Centre for Food Safety

This is the first article of a series of three that focuses on the use of nutrition labels for choosing food with lower fat, sodium and sugar content. In this article, we will introduce the three-steps to use nutrition labels (three-steps) and demonstrate how it helps reduce fat intake from instant noodles.

Take a Look at Fat

Fat is a kind of macronutrients that provides a concentrated source of energy with each gram yielding nine kilocalories (kcal). Depending on the chemical structure, fat can be divided into saturated fat and unsaturated fat. Whereas eating too much fat increases the risk of overweight and obesity, excessive saturated fat intake raises the Low Density Lipoprotein (LDL) cholesterol, commonly known as “bad” cholesterol, which in turn elevates the chance of developing heart diseases.

The World Health Organization and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations recommend that total fat and saturated fat intake should not exceed 30% and 10% of the daily energy intake respectively. Based on a 2000-kcal diet, the upper limit of the daily intake of total fat and saturated fat is about 60 g and 20 g accordingly.

Instant Noodle and Fat

Instant noodle is a popular food item in Hong Kong as well as in other places. It is mainly made with wheat flour providing a rich source of carbohydrates. During the manufacturing process, the pre-cooked and flavoured noodles undergo drying process and are compacted into its dehydrated form. The final package usually comes with a seasoning pack.

Depending on its drying process and the ingredients in the seasoning pack, the total fat and saturated fat content of instant noodles varies. While deep fried instant noodles tend to have a higher fat content, those undergo air drying or oven heating contain less fat. If palm oil, butter or lard is used in frying oil and/or seasoning oil, the saturated fat content will also increase.

Get Less Fat from Instant Noodles with Three-steps

Nutrition labelling has become part and parcel of our eating experience since the implementation of Nutrition Labelling Scheme in 2010. By following the three steps below, consumers can choose the types and amount of foods, including instant noodles, which meet their needs.

Table: Total fat and saturated fat content of 48 instant noodle samples in joint Centre for Food Safety / Consumer Council study in 2010

Firstly, read the nutrition label. Pay attention to the level of total fat and saturated fat. A joint Centre for Food Safety/Consumer Council study in 2010 revealed from the nutrition labels that the range of fat content among 48 instant noodle samples was wide. Those carrying the descriptions of “non-fried” or similar terms had generally lower amount of total fat and saturated fat.

Secondly, know how much I eat. Check out the reference amount on the nutrition labels for calculating nutrient intake. Usually, the nutrition labels of instant noodles are expressed as “per package”. If you consume the whole pack of noodles including the seasoning, your nutrient intake will be the same as the value showed on the nutrition label. Referring to the example below, you will get 20.7 g of total fat and 7.8 g of saturated fat after consuming a whole package of instant noodle A.

 Nutrition label of instant noodle A
Nutrition label of instant noodle A

Thirdly, make better choices. Compare your nutrient intake to your daily intake upper limit. Based on a 2000-kcal diet, consuming a pack of instant noodle A accounts for 35% and 39% of the daily limit of total fat and saturated fat respectively. To make better choices, you can:

  • eat instant noodle A less frequently;
  • decrease total fat and saturated fat intake from other foods on that day by adopting low fat cooking method such as steaming and grilling or avoiding food with ingredients high in saturated fat such as butter and lard; or
  • use nutrition labels to choose other instant noodles with lower total fat and saturated fat content.

More Healthy Tips

Last but not least, consumers should not overlook the sodium content of instant noodles since salt in the noodle itself, the flavour enhancer and sauce in the seasoning pack all provide sodium.

In the next issue, we will show you how to get less sodium from crispy chips with the three-steps.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 17-10-2012

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

回到主頁 上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一二年十月第七十五期)- 食物安全平台

吃即食麵但怕脂肪過多?營養標籤幫到你

食物安全中心 風險傳達組
科學主任陳家茵女士報告

我們將一連三期介紹如何利用營養標籤,選擇脂肪、鈉和糖含量較低的食物。今期將首先介紹活用營養標籤三部曲(三部曲),並示範如何利用三部曲,減少從即食麵攝入脂肪。

認識脂肪

脂肪是主要營養素之一,能提供豐富的能量(每克脂肪提供9千卡能量)。根據化學結構,脂肪分為飽和脂肪及不飽和脂肪。攝入過多脂肪容易引致超重和肥胖症,而攝入過多飽和脂肪則會增加低密度脂蛋白膽固醇(俗稱“壞”膽固醇),“壞”膽固醇水平偏高的人較容易患上心臟病。

世界衞生組織及聯合國糧農組織建議總脂肪及飽和脂肪應不超過每日能量攝入量的30%和10%。按照這個準則,在2000千卡的膳食中,一般人每天應攝取不多於60克總脂肪及20克飽和脂肪。

即食麵與脂肪

即食麵在各地均極受歡迎,亦是港人喜愛的食物之一。即食麵主要由麵粉製成,含豐富碳水化合物。在製造過程中,已煮熟及調味的麵條進行乾燥處理後,被壓製成麵餅,最後在包裝內加入調味包。

每款即食麵所含的總脂肪和飽和脂肪的分量都不同,視乎乾燥過程及調味包的配料而定。經油炸處理的麵條含較高脂肪,而經風乾或熱烘處理的脂肪含量則較低。如即食麵的炸油及/或調味油採用的是棕櫚油、牛油或豬油,亦會令產品的飽和脂肪含量增加。

活用三部曲 減少從即食麵攝入脂肪

自二零一零年實施營養標籤制度後,營養標籤已成為我們日常飲食不可或缺的一部分。消費者可依照以下三部曲,選擇適合自己需要的食物(包括即食麵)種類和分量。

圖表:二零一零年食物安全中心與消費者委員會的合作研究中48個即食麵樣本的總脂肪及飽和脂肪含量 

首先,“睇營養標籤”。留意總脂肪和飽和脂肪的含量。二零一零年食物安全中心與消費者委員會的合作研究發現,根據48個即食麵樣本的營養標籤資料,各款即食麵的脂肪含量相差頗大。當中,在包裝上載有“非油炸”或相若字眼的即食麵的總脂肪及飽和脂肪含量一般較低。

其次,“知我食多少”。計算營養素攝入量時,先找出營養標籤上的食物參考量。即食麵的營養標籤一般以“每包裝”標示。如果你把整包麵連同調味料都吃光,你的營養素攝入量便相等於營養標籤所標示的營養素含量。以下方的即食麵A為例,吃一包便會攝取到20.7克總脂肪及7.8克飽和脂肪。

即食麵A的營養標籤
即食麵A的營養標籤

其三,“揀啱我需要”。將你的營養素攝入量與自己的每天攝取上限比較。以2000千卡的膳食計,吃掉一包即食麵A所攝入的總脂肪及飽和脂肪,已分別佔這兩種營養素每日攝入上限的35%和39%。想“揀啱需要”,你可以:

  • 減少吃即食麵A的次數;
  • 當天減少從其他食物攝入脂肪,例如用清蒸和烤等烹調方法,或避免進食含高飽和脂肪配料(如牛油和豬油)的食物;或者
  • 查看營養標籤,選購其他總脂肪和飽和脂肪含量較低的即食麵。

更多健康貼士

最後,另一樣同樣不容忽視的是即食麵的鈉含量。無論是麵條本身的鹽分,還是調味包裡的增味劑和醬料都含有鈉。

下一期我們會詳述如何利用三部曲,減少從小食脆片攝入鈉。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 17-10-2012