Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (75th Issue, October 2012) – Incident in Focus

Listeriosis and Pregnancy

Reported by Ms. Janny MA, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Last month, the Centre for Health Protection (CHP) reported that, by end of August this year, there have already been 21 reported cases of listeriosis, much higher than the annual reported figures of 3 to 17 between 2004 and 2011. This marks the highest number recorded since listeriosis became a notifiable disease in 2008. Although listeriosis is an uncommon disease in healthy individuals, it may pose significant health risk to certain subpopulations including pregnant women. This article discusses foodborne listeriosis in regnant women.

Listeriosis in Pregnant Women

Listeriosis is an infectious disease usually caused by eating food contaminated with Listeria monocytogenes. This bacterium is commonly found in the natural environment, for example, soil, water, decaying plants and animal intestines.

During pregnancy, the immune system is weakened and thus pregnant women are more susceptible to listeriosis. While pregnant women, when infected, may just experience mild, flu like symptoms or even with no symptoms, L. monocytogenes can pass to the baby through the placenta. During the first trimester of pregnancy, listeriosis may cause miscarriage. As the pregnancy progresses to third trimester, listeriosis can result in preterm birth, delivery of a low-birth-weight infant or even infant death. About half of the infants infected at or near term may die.

Foetuses who suffer a late infection may develop a wide range of health problems, including mental retardation, paralysis, blindness, impairments of the brain, heart and kidney.

Local Situation

Among the 106 listeriosis cases recorded by the CHP between June 2004 and August 2012, 14 (13%) cases were related to pregnant women.

Four out of the 14 pregnant cases had spontaneous abortion or stillbirth. One mother had a preterm delivery but the baby died one day after birth. The other nine pregnant women delivered their babies in stable condition with two of the babies infected and required antibiotic treatment. All pregnant women were clinically stable and recovered after treatment.

High Risk Foods

Due to its ubiquity in the environment, low concentration of L. monocytogenes may be present in food. In general, foods containing low levels of L. monocytogenes (e.g. < 100 colony-forming unit (cfu)/g) pose very little risk to consumers. However, as the number of bacteria increase, consumers will be at risk of listeriosis.

Although L. monocytogenes can be killed under normal cooking temperature and that it cannot grow at frozen temperature, unlike other food poisoning bacteria, it may continue to grow slowly at refrigerated temperature as low as 0°C. This characteristic makes long shelf life (greater than five days) refrigerated ready-to-eat food a potential high risk item for listeriosis. Prolonged storage in refrigerator may allow L. monocytogenes to have sufficient time to grow gradually to exceed 100 cfu/g throughout the shelf life. This may lead to infection when the food is consumed without further cooking.

From 2008 to July 2012, the Centre for Food Safety tested around 1 800 food samples for L. monocytogenes, in which seven of them, including six smoked salmon and one smoked ham were found unsatisfactory.

Pregnant women should choose foods carefully and avoid high risk foods e.g. smoked salmon and smoked ham
Pregnant women should choose foods carefully and avoid high risk foods e.g. smoked salmon and smoked ham

Prevention

In general, proper food handling by applying 5 keys to food safety can help prevent listeriosis. Since L. monocytogenes can easily be destroyed under normal cooking temperature, immediate consumption of freshly and thoroughly cooked food should be safe from listeriosis. Since L. monocytogenes can still grow slowly at low temperatures (e.g. at 4 °C ), refrigerated perishable foods including leftover food should be consumed as soon as possible and reheated thoroughly before consumption. While eating out, only eat cooked and hot served food but not those which are raw/ undercooked and served lukewarm.

In addition, avoiding high risk foods and/or choosing safer alternatives is an effective way to prevent listeriosis (see Table).

Table: Examples of high risk foods and their safer alternatives

Key Points to Note:  

  1. Listeriosis can cause serious implications for susceptible subpopulations like pregnant women.
  2. Even food stored in a refrigerator at lower temperatures (e.g. at 4°C ) may allow L. monocytogenes to grow slowly.
  3. Pregnant women should avoid eating high risk foods especially refrigerated (excluding frozen) ready-to-eat foods with long shelf life.

Advice to Pregnant Women  

  1. Maintain good food and personal hygiene.
  2. Avoid high risk foods especially refrigerated ready-to-eat foods with long shelf life.
  3. Keep perishable food at refrigerator operates at or below 4 °C and avoid cross-contamination.
  4. Cook all food including raw, processed and leftovers thoroughly and use ready-to-eat food as soon as possible.

Advice to Trade  

  1. Estimate the demand of each food carefully to avoid over-production.
  2. Keep perishable foods at refrigerator operates at or below 4°C and avoid cross-contamination.
  3. Cook food thoroughly before serve.

 

    Back  Back to Top
     
    Last Revision Date : 17-10-2012

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一二年十月第七十五期)- 焦點個案

李斯特菌病與懷孕

食物安全中心 風險評估組
科學主任馬嘉明女士報告

衞生防護中心上月報告,截至本年八月底,本港已錄得21宗李斯特菌病個案,遠高於二零零四至二零一一年每年3至17宗的數字。這是李斯特菌病在二零零八年列為法定須呈報的傳染病以來的最高記錄。雖然身體健康的人很少患上李斯特菌病,但這種病對某些群組包括孕婦可能構成嚴重的健康風險。本文將探討孕婦感染食源性李斯特菌病的問題。

李斯特菌病與孕婦

李斯特菌病是一種傳染病,一般由進食受李斯特菌污染的食物引致。李斯特菌廣泛分布於泥土、水、腐爛的植物和動物的腸道等自然環境中。

由於免疫系統在懷孕期間較弱,因此孕婦較易染上李斯特菌病。孕婦染病後或只有輕微類似流感的病徵,有時甚至毫無徵狀,但李斯特菌可通過胎盤傳染給胎兒。孕婦在妊娠第一期患上此病可引致流產;如在妊娠第三期才患病,可引致早產、嬰兒出生時體重過輕甚至死亡。在受李斯特菌感染的足月或臨近足月胎兒中,約有半數可能夭折。

較後期感染李斯特菌病的胎兒出生後亦可能會出現智力障礙、癱瘓、失明,以及大腦、心臟和腎臟受損等多種健康問題。

本港情況

由二零零四年六月至二零一二年八月期間,衞生防護中心共有106宗李斯特菌病的記錄個案,其中14宗(佔13%)的患者是孕婦。

在這14宗懷孕個案中,其中四宗引致自然流產或胎死腹中;一名孕婦早產誕下嬰兒,但嬰兒在出生一天後夭折;其餘九名孕婦順利誕下嬰兒,其中兩名嬰兒受感染,須接受抗生素治療。所有孕婦均情況穩定,經治療後已完全康復。

高風險食物

由於李斯特菌在環境中無處不在,食物中有少量此菌不足為奇。一般而言,含有少量李斯特菌的食物(例如每克食物少於100個菌落形成單位)對消費者的健康影響極微。然而,細菌數目一旦增加,消費者便有染上李斯特菌病的風險。

雖然正常的煮食溫度可消滅李斯特菌,而且該菌不能在冷凍溫度下生長,但與其他引致食物中毒的細菌不同的是,李斯特菌在低至零度的冷藏溫度下仍可緩慢地生長。因此,保質期較長(超過五天)的冷藏即食食物是感染李斯特菌病的高風險食物。食物長期存放在雪櫃,有機會令李期特菌有充裕的時間慢慢繁殖,繼而在保質期內每克食物超逾100個菌落形成單位。進食這些未有進一步烹煮的食物可能會受感染。

由二零零八年至二零一二年七月期間,食物安全中心對近1 800個食物樣本進行李斯特菌測試,其中七個(包括六個煙三文魚及一個煙火腿)不合格。

 孕婦應小心選擇食物,避免進食煙三文魚和煙火腿等高風險食物
孕婦應小心選擇食物,避免進食煙三文魚和煙火腿等高風險食物

預防之道

一般而言,處理食物時奉行食物安全五要點可預防李斯特菌病。由於一般煮食溫度已可殺死李斯特菌,立即食用新鮮烹調並徹底煮熟的食物便不會有染病之虞。由於李斯特菌在低溫下(如攝氏4度)仍能緩慢生長,因此應盡快食用雪櫃內的容易腐壞食物包括剩菜,並在食用前徹底翻熱。外出用膳時,只進食徹底煮熟及上桌時仍然滾熱的食物,那些生/未煮熟和半冷不熱的不吃為妙。

此外,為有效預防李斯特菌病,孕婦應避免進食高風險食物,以及/或選擇較安全的食物(見表)。

高風險食物及較安全的選擇一覽表

注意要點: 

  1. 李斯特菌病對較易受影響的群組如孕婦會造成嚴重影響。
  2. 食物即使存放在低溫(如攝氏4度)的雪櫃,李斯特菌仍能緩慢生長。
  3. 孕婦應避免進食高風險食物,尤其是保質期較長的冷藏(冰凍除外)即食食物。

給孕婦的建議 

  1. 保持食物及個人衞生。
  2. 避免進食高風險食物,尤其是保質期較長的冷藏即食食物。
  3. 容易變壞的食物應存放在攝氏4度或以下的雪櫃內,並避免交叉污染。
  4. 所有食物,包括生的食物、加工食物及剩菜均應徹底加熱烹煮;即食食物應盡快食用。

給業界的建議

  1. 小心預算每種食物的需求量,以免製作過量。
  2. 容易變壞的食物應存放在攝氏4度或以下的雪櫃內,並避免交叉污染。
  3. 食物徹底煮熟後才奉客。
    上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
     
    最近修訂日期 : 17-10-2012