Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (74th Issue, September 2012) – Incident in Focus

Iodine in Infant Formula

Reported by Ms. Shuk-man CHOW, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section,
Centre for Food Safety

On 8 August, two Japanese brands of infant formulae were voluntarily recalled from market after being found to have low iodine content. The testing is part of a two-year programme (2012-2013) of the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) to test the nutritional composition of infant and follow-up formulae available in the local market. As of 19 September 2012 , seven out of the 61 powdered infant formulae tested were found to have low level of iodine content to an extent that may cause health problems to those infants who have been solely fed on them.

Seven infant formulae were found to have low iodine content which may affect the normal function of the thyroid gland of infants solely fed on them
Seven infant formulae were found to have low iodine content which may affect the normal function of the thyroid gland of infants solely fed on them

Iodine for Infants

Iodine is an essential nutrient necessary for the production of thyroid hormones which are responsible for normal growth and development. Diet is the major source of iodine intake for humans. For exclusively formula-fed infants, infant formula is their only food source of dietary iodine. Iodine content in infant formulae will affect the daily iodine intake of these infants. A prolonged deficiency in iodine may affect the functioning of the thyroid gland. If thyroid function is significantly affected, there may be potential impact on brain development of infants.

Findings on Iodine Content of Infant Formulae

Iodine content in infant formula available in the market varies from brand to brand. The Codex Alimentarius Commission (Codex) sets a standard of 10 to 60μg/100kcal of iodine for infant formula. However, Codex only specifies the desirable level of iodine in food. Detected level below Codex standard does not necessarily mean the consumer’s health is at risk.

When assessing whether a product may pose health risk to the consumer, risk assessment has to be conducted to determine if the level of iodine in the diet meets the World Health Organization (WHO) recommended daily nutrient intake (the amount of a nutrient a person should consume in a day). According to WHO, infants might have lowered thyroid function with the risk of brain damage when the iodine intake is about one-third of this value.

Follow-up Measures

In view of the potential reliance on infant formula as the sole source of dietary intake for infants, as a precautionary measure, the CFS has advised the public to stop feeding infants with the concerned infant formulae and the trade should stop selling the affected products. The relevant importers were informed of the test results and voluntarily withdrew the products from market. To allay concerns associated with the incident, the CFS has set up a hotline (3978 0600) to provide information to concerned parents and handle any related enquires from the public. In addition, a dedicated website has been developed with frequently asked questions regarding iodine in infant formula, iodine levels in selected infant formulae available in Hong Kong, and the announced test results uploaded for the public’s information and reference.

Although seven infant formulae were found to have low iodine content which may affect the normal function of the thyroid gland of infants, as at 17 September 2012 , among the 111 blood samples tested by the Department of Health, only two were found to have thyroid hormone levels outside the normal reference range. According to specialists of the Hospital Authority (HA), both results were less likely caused by consumption of the iodine-deficient infant formulae. Nonetheless, the infants concerned were referred to the HA paediatric specialist clinic for follow-up.

Given the above surveillance finding, the CFS will continue testing on the nutritional composition of infant and follow-up formulae in the local market with respect to the Codex standard. Relevant testing results will be released in phases. The CFS will take appropriate follow-up actions if the findings indicate any potential health impact on infants. In view of the latest development, the Government will expedite preparatory work for legislation to regulate the nutritional composition and nutrition labelling for infant formulae.

Key Points to Note:

  • Iodine deficiency may result in lowered thyroid function, which in turn may affect growth and brain development in infants.
  • Use the nutrition label on infant formula to find out its iodine content.
  • So far, there have been no apparent clinical cases of abnormal thyroid function due to the consumption of the concerned infant formulae.

Advice to Trade

  • Stop selling the products of concern.
  • Formulate infant formula in accordance with Codex standards. Ensure the composition poses no health risk to the local population.
  • Provide labelling information according to Codex standards to allow consumers to make informed choices.

Advice to Consumers

  • Follow WHO’s recommendation on exclusive breastfeeding for the first six months after birth, with safe and appropriate complementary foods and continued breastfeeding for up to two years or beyond.
  • Stop feeding infants with the concerned products and switch to other infant formulae with adequate iodine content.
  • Read the nutrition information on the product label when choosing infant formula.
  • Consult family doctors or paediatricians if in doubt.
    Back  Back to Top
     
    Last Revision Date : 19 -09-2012

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一二年九月第七十四期- 焦點個案

嬰 兒 配 方 奶 粉 中 的 碘

食物安全中心
風險傳達組
科學主任周淑敏女士報告

入口商於八月八日自願回收兩款被驗出碘含量偏低的日本嬰兒配方奶粉。這次檢測是食物安全中心(中心)就市面上初生嬰兒及較大嬰兒配方奶粉的營養素含量進行的兩年檢測計劃(2012-2013)的一部分。截至二零一二年九月十九日,在61個嬰兒配方奶粉樣本中,有七個產品的碘含量偏低,單純以這些產品餵哺嬰兒,有可能影響其健康。

七款嬰兒配方奶粉被驗出碘含量偏低,單純以這些產品餵哺嬰兒,有可能影響其甲狀腺功能
七款嬰兒配方奶粉被驗出碘含量偏低,單純以這些產品餵哺嬰兒,有可能影響其甲狀腺功能

嬰兒與碘

是一種用來製造甲狀腺素的基本營養素,甲狀腺素對促進人體生長發育十分重要。人體攝入的碘主要來自食物。對於單純以嬰兒配方奶粉餵哺的嬰兒,奶粉是他們攝取碘的唯一食物來源。因此,奶粉中的碘含量直接影響嬰兒每天攝取碘的分量。身體長期缺乏碘有可能影響甲狀腺功能。若甲狀腺功能顯著受損,可能會令嬰兒的腦部發育受影響。

嬰兒配方奶粉碘含量的檢測結果

市面上不同品牌的嬰兒配方奶粉的碘含量各有差異。根據食品法典委員會訂立的標準,每100千卡的初生嬰兒配方奶粉須提供10至60微克碘。不過,這個標準所列出的只是食品中碘含量的理想水平,檢測值低於這個標準的食品並不一定會對消費者的健康構成風險。

在評估一個產品是否對消費者構成健康風險時,中心會進行風險評估研究,以判斷產品的碘含量是否符合世界衞生組織(世衞)建議的每天營養素攝入量(人體每天應攝取的營養素分量)。世衞指出,如果嬰兒的碘攝入量少於世衞建議的三分之一,可能會出現甲狀腺功能減退,以致有腦部受損的風險。

跟進措施

鑑於嬰兒依靠配方奶粉為唯一食糧,為安全起見,中心呼籲市民停止向嬰兒餵哺問題奶粉,業界則應停售有關產品。相關入口商獲知會有關檢測結果後,已自願回收受影響的產品。為釋除市民的疑慮,中心開設了熱線電話(3978 0600),為家長提供相關資料,並回覆公眾查詢。此外,中心亦設立了專題網頁,上載有關嬰兒配方奶粉中碘含量的常見問題、香港部分品牌的嬰兒配方奶粉中碘含量的資料,以及相關的檢測結果等多項資料,供公眾查閱及參考。

雖然有七款嬰兒配方奶粉驗出碘含量偏低,可能會影響嬰兒的甲狀腺功能,但截至二零一二年九月十七日衞生署測試的111個血液樣本中,只有兩個樣本的甲狀腺素水平在參考標準之外。醫院管理局的專家表示,這兩宗個案都不太可能是由於食用碘含量不足的嬰兒配方奶粉所致。有關的嬰兒已獲轉介往醫管局兒科專科診所作跟進。

鑑於上述監察結果,中心會繼續以食品法典委員會的標準為準則,檢測市面上初生嬰兒及較大嬰兒配方奶粉的營養素含量。相關的檢測結果日後會陸續公布。如檢測結果顯示嬰兒的健康有可能受影響,中心會採取適當的跟進行動。因應最新情況,政府將盡快訂立嬰兒配方奶粉的營養素成分及營養標籤的規管方案,並着手準備有關的立法工作。

注意要點:

  • 嬰兒缺碘會令甲狀腺功能減退,進而影響生長和腦部發育。
  • 細閱營養標籤,找出嬰兒配方奶粉的碘含量。
  • 暫時未有因為進食問題嬰兒配方奶粉而引致甲狀腺功能受影響的臨床病例。

給業界的建議

  • 停售有關問題產品。
  • 按照食品法典委員會的標準生產嬰兒配方奶粉,確保奶粉的營養素含量不會對本港市民構成健康風險。
  • 按照食品法典委員會的規定提供標籤資料,讓消費者作出知情的選擇。

給消費者的建議

  • 依照世衞的建議,嬰兒出生後首六個月純以母乳餵哺。之後在哺乳的同時開始添加安全而合適的補充食物,直至孩子兩歲或以上。
  • 停止以問題產品餵哺嬰兒,轉用其他碘含量足夠的嬰兒配方奶粉。
  • 在選購嬰兒配方奶粉時,參閱包裝上的營養資料
  • 有疑慮,徵詢家庭醫生或兒科醫生的意見。
    上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
     
    最近修訂日期 : 19 -09-2012