Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (72nd Issue, July 2012) – Incident in Focus

Vibrio vulnificus in food

Reported by Ms. Janny MA, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

In June 2012, two fatal Vibrio vulnificus infection cases, including one causing necrotizing fasciitis (also known as flesh-eating disease), a serious bacterial infection that spreads rapidly and destroys the body's soft tissue, were reported to the Centre for Health Protection (CHP) of the Department of Health. Available information showed that both patients had underlying medical conditions and one of them had consumed raw mantis shrimp. In this article, we are going to talk about Vibrio vulnificus and its food-related risk.

Vibrio vulnificus

V. vulnificus is a bacterium naturally found in warm seawaters and estuaries. It is not surprising to find this bacterium in seafood that grows in these waters especially during summer months. High levels of V. vulnificus may even be present in bivalve molluscs like oysters due to their filter feeding activity that concentrates bacteria in water.

Although illnesses caused by V. vulnificus are relatively rare, with no foodborne outbreaks have ever been reported worldwide, this bacterium is a serious health threat predominantly to those with underlying chronic diseases, particularly liver disease or alcoholism, diabetes, haemochromatosis and HIV/AIDS.

Infections Caused by V. vulnificus

V. vulnificus infections are either foodborne or wound associated. People may contract the disease by eating contaminated raw or undercooked seafood or by exposure to seawater through an existing open wound or puncture wound caused by handling raw seafood.

Incubation period of foodborne V. vulnificus illness ranges from twelve hours to several days. In general, foodborne infection in healthy individuals is rare, but V. vulnificus can occasionally cause self-limiting gastroenteritis characterised by fever, vomiting, diarrhoea and abdominal pain. Nevertheless, the bacterium can cause primary septicaemia (blood infection), a serious and often fatal disease, in susceptible individuals as stated above.

On the other hand, wound infection caused by V. vulnificus can occur in both healthy and susceptible individuals, while the latter are at higher risk for invasion of the bacteria into the bloodstream and potentially fatal complications. The symptoms may appear within as few as four hours.

The average fatality rate of septicaemia cases and wound-infection cases is about 35% and 20% respectively. Prompt antibiotic treatment improves survival in V. vulnificus infection cases. Secondary lesions from septicaemia and primary wound infections caused by direct contact frequently require amputation. People who survive these bloodstream infections may require prolonged hospitalisation.

Local Situation

From 2007 to June 2012, there were 106 V. vulnificus infection cases reported to the CHP. Among them, 45 cases had the bacterium isolated from blood. Seventy-two cases developed necrotizing fasciitis after the infection. Fifty-nine (82%) of these patients with necrotizing fasciitis had underlying chronic illness or weakened immune system. Around half of the patients with necrotizing fasciitis required amputation. Considering risk factors for developing necrotizing fasciitis after V. vulnificus infection, 51 out of 72 patients (71%) reported history of contact with raw seafood, such as handling or cleaning, before onset of symptoms while more than half of these patients (32 patients) recalled cutaneous injury by the seafood such as fish, crab or shrimp during the contact.

Prevention

V. vulnificus is susceptible to extreme temperatures. Refrigerating food can minimise and/or prevent the growth of the bacterium. Cooking is an effective way to minimise the likelihood of illness arising from the consumption of V. vulnificus contaminated food. Always cook seafood, especially shellfish thoroughly before consumption. For shellfish in the shell, remove the shells before cooking if possible as they impede heat penetration or boil them at 100°C until their shells open; boil for additional three to five minutes afterwards.

Even though many people like consuming some shellfish live and raw or after insufficient cooking, susceptible subpopulations who are at greater risk of severe V. vulnificus infection should always avoid consuming raw or partially treated seafood and cook seafood thoroughly before consumption. Even though seafood specifically intended for raw consumption is harvested from waters with controlled faecal contamination, they are not free from V. vulnificus risk as the bacterium is naturally present in marine environments. In addition, both healthy and susceptible subpopulations should protect their skin when handling raw seafood like fish and shellfish, such as by wearing protective gloves, and avoid exposure of open wound to seawater or raw seafood harvested from seawater.

In the U.S., considerable amount of V. vulnificus illnesses are associated with consumption of raw Gulf Coast oysters
In the U.S., considerable amount of V. vulnificus illnesses are associated with consumption of raw Gulf Coast oysters (Photo by courtesy of National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, U.S.A.)

Key Points to Note:

  1. V. vulnificus can result in life-threatening illness in individuals with underlying chronic conditions, particularly liver disease, hence they should only consume seafood cooked thoroughly.
  2. Both healthy and susceptible individuals may contract serious V. vulnificus infection via open wounds.
  3. Food handlers should wear protective gloves and avoid exposure of open wound during handling of seafood.

    Advice to the Public, Especially the Susceptible Individuals

    • Avoid consuming raw or partially treated seafood.
    • Wear protective clothing (e.g. gloves) and cover all wounds when handling raw seafood.
    • Wash hands thoroughly between handling raw and cooked seafood.
    • If injured by raw seafood, wounds should be washed with soap and water as soon as possible and seek medical advice promptly if symptoms and signs of infection occur, e.g. increasing redness, pain and swelling.

    Advice to Trade

    • Wash hands thoroughly between handling raw and cooked seafood. Cook seafood thoroughly before serving.
    • Cover sore or cut on hands by waterproof bandages or gloves.
    Back  Back to Top
     
    Last Revision Date : 19-07-2012

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一二年七月第七十二期)- 焦點個案

食 物 中 的 創 傷 弧 菌

食物安全中心風險評估組
科學主任馬嘉明女士報告

 

二零一二年六月,衞生署轄下的衞生防護中心接獲兩宗感染創傷弧菌的死亡個案,其中一宗引致壞死性筋膜炎(又稱“食肉菌感染”)。壞死性筋膜炎是一種嚴重的細菌感染,能迅速蔓延並引致身體軟組織壞死。資料顯示兩人均是長期病患者,其中一人曾進食生的瀨尿蝦。本文將探討創傷弧菌及相關的食物風險。

創傷弧菌

創傷弧菌是一種天然棲息於和暖的海水和河口中的細菌。尤其是在夏季,在這些水域生長的海產中不難發現這種細菌的存在。蠔等雙殼貝類軟體動物更可能含大量創傷弧菌,因為這些動物以過濾方式進食,海水中的細菌會在其體內積聚。

雖然由創傷弧菌引致的疾病較為罕見,至今世界各地尚未有與其有關的食源性事故報告,但這種細菌主要對長期病患者,尤其是肝病或酗酒人士、糖尿病、血色素沉着病和愛滋病患者有嚴重的健康威脅。

創傷弧菌引起的感染

創傷弧菌可藉由食物或傷口造成感染。進食生的或未經煮熟的受污染海產或傷口接觸到海水的人士,包括處理生的海產時遭割傷和有外露傷口等,都有可能受到感染。

食源性創傷弧菌感染的潛伏期介乎12小時至數天左右。一般來說,健康人士從食物中感染創傷弧菌較為罕見,但可偶爾引致發燒、嘔吐、腹瀉及腹痛等自行痊癒的腸胃炎症狀。然而,這種細菌可在上文提及的長期病患者身上引起原發性敗血病(血液感染) ― 一種十分嚴重且往往致命的疾病。

另一方面,無論是健康或高危人士都有可能因創傷弧菌而造成傷口感染,但後者出現血液感染及致命併發症的風險較高。感染症狀最快可於四小時內出現。

敗血病和傷口感染的平均死亡率分別約為35%和20%。及時施以抗生素治療有助提高創傷弧菌感染的存活率。患者因敗血病而出現繼發性病變或由傷口直接感染創傷弧菌多須接受截肢手術,即使能夠存活下來也須長期住院治療。

本港情況

由二零零七年至二零一二年六月期間,衞生防護中心共接獲106宗創傷弧菌感染報告,其中45宗於血液培養出創傷弧菌。在72宗感染後患上壞死性筋膜炎的病例中,59人(佔82%)有長期病患或免疫系統較弱。約半數壞死性筋膜炎的病人須接受截肢手術。關於感染創傷弧菌而引致壞死性筋膜炎的風險因素,在72名病人中,51人(佔71%)表示發病前曾接觸(如處理或清洗)生的海產,而過半數(32名病人)記得曾被魚蝦蟹等活海鮮割傷。

預防之道

創傷弧菌既不耐寒也不耐熱。把食物放在雪櫃可減少及/或預防細菌繁殖。烹煮能有效減低因進食受創傷弧菌污染的食物而致病的可能性。海產(尤其是貝類)進食前一定要先徹底煮熟。可以的話,帶殼貝類在烹煮前宜先去殼, 好讓熱力較易滲透;或以攝氏100度煮至貝殼張開,然後再多煮三至五分鐘。

很多人嗜吃生的或半熟的貝類,但較易受創傷弧菌嚴重感染的高危人士對生的或未經徹底煮熟的海產應避之則吉,進食前宜先徹底煮熟。即使專供生吃的海產是來自實施糞便污染控制的水域,也不代表沒有創傷弧菌,因為這種細菌是天然存在於海洋環境的。此外,無論是健康或高危人士,在處理生的海產如魚及貝類時,均應好好保護皮膚(如戴上保護手套),並避免傷口觸及海水或從海中捕獲的生海產。

在美國,相當數量的創傷弧菌感染與進食墨西哥灣的生蠔有關
在美國,相當數量的創傷弧菌感染與進食墨西哥灣的生蠔有關(照片由美國 National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration 提供)

注意要點:

  1. 長期病患者(尤其是肝病)感染創傷弧菌後可引發致命疾病,故只應進食徹底煮熟的海產。
  2. 無論是健康或高危人士都有可能從外露的傷口造成嚴重的創傷弧菌感染。
  3. 食物從業員在處理海產時應戴上保護手套和避免傷口外露。

給市民,尤其是高危人士的建議

  • 避免進食生或未經徹底煮熟的海產。
  • 處理生的海產時使用保護衣物(如手套)及蓋好傷口。
  • 處理生和熟的海產之間要徹底洗淨雙手。
  • 如被生的海產所傷,應以肥皂和水盡快清洗傷口。如出現感染症狀(例如皮膚紅腫、疼痛的情況越來越嚴重),應立即就醫治療。

給業界的建議

  • 處理生和熟的海產之間要徹底洗淨雙手。海產須徹底煮熟才待客。
  • 用防水膠布或手套蓋好手上的瘡或傷口。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 19-12-2012