Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Previous Article

Food Safety Focus (68th Issue, March 2012) – Food Incident Highlight

Consuming Undercooked Pig Liver May Cause Hepatitis E Infection

The safety of eating pig livers has again raised public concern following recent local media reports on some serious hepatitis E cases, including a patient who had liver transplant and another patient admitted to hospital in critical condition who later passed away.

In recent years, there has been a rising trend of hepatitis E case notifications, from 38 in 2004 to 119 in 2011, in Hong Kong . Since 2008, hepatitis E has taken over hepatitis A and has become the most common acute viral hepatitis reported in Hong Kong .

Eating undercooked pig liver may cause hepatitis E.
Eating undercooked pig liver may cause hepatitis E.

Noting the possible risk of contracting hepatitis E from pig liver, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has published a risk assessment study , which provides an overview on the prevalence of hepatitis E virus (HEV) in fresh pig livers available in local market. Since HEV causes subclinical infections in pigs in most cases, laboratory analysis is needed for the detection of HEV in pig livers. Study results showed that about 30 per cent liver samples of roaster pigs (around four months old) were positive for HEV while negative results were found in all porker pig (around six months old) liver samples. In addition, some of the positive samples were found to have the same gene sequences with those in human cases, which suggested that undercooked pig livers could be one of the possible sources for hepatitis E in Hong Kong. As gene sequences of HEV found in many human cases did not match with those found in pig livers, other foodborne sources, such as shellfish, could exist.

To foster public awareness on preventing hepatitis E and other foodborne diseases, health advice such as always observing good personal and food hygiene and cooking animal offal, especially pig liver as well as meat and shellfish thoroughly before consumption have been emphasised in various CFS publications. For example, sliced raw pig liver should be boiled for at least three to five minutes depending on thickness and quantity. Guides on “Practise Food Hygiene to Prevent Hepatitis A and Hepatitis E” have also been prepared for the trade and consumers.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 21-03-2012

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

回到主頁 上一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一二年三月第六十八期 - 食物事故點滴

進 食 未 經 煮 熟 豬 肝 可 感 染 戊 型 肝 炎

近日有傳媒報道一些本地戊型肝炎嚴重個案,包括一人需要接受肝臟移植,另一人入院後情況危殆,其後死亡。事件再次令市民關注進食豬肝的安全問題。

近年,本港戊型肝炎呈報個案數字有上升趨勢,由二零零四年的38宗增至二零一一年的119宗。自二零零八年起,戊型肝炎已取代甲型肝炎成為本港最常見的急性病毒性肝炎。

吃未煮熟豬肝易染戊型肝炎

鑑於戊型肝炎可經進食豬肝傳播,食物安全中心(中心)曾發表風險評估研究,探討本港市面供應的新鮮豬肝含戊型肝炎病毒的情況。由於大部分受戊型肝炎病毒感染的豬隻在臨牀上不會出現任何症狀,因此必須透過實驗室化驗才能檢測豬肝是否含有戊型肝炎病毒。研究結果顯示,約有30%的燒種豬(約四月齡)的肝臟樣本對戊型肝炎病毒測試呈陽性反應,而肉豬(約六月齡)的肝臟樣本則全部檢測不到該病毒。此外,部分陽性樣本的病毒與本地人類感染個案檢出的病毒比對,兩者的基因序列相同。這表示未煮熟的豬肝可能是本地戊型肝炎個案的其中一個感染源。由於很多從人類感染個案檢出的病毒基因序列跟那些在豬肝檢出的並不一樣,其他食物感染源亦可能存在,例如介貝類水產。

為提高公眾對預防戊型肝炎及其他食源性疾病的意識,中心在不同刊物強調保持個人及食物衞生,以及進食動物內臟(特別是豬肝)、肉類及介貝類水產前須徹底煮熟等建議,例如切成薄片的生豬肝,視乎厚度和分量,須用沸水烹煮最少三至五分鐘。此外,中心亦分別為業界消費者編製了《奉行良好食物衞生守則 慎防甲型和戊型肝炎》的指引。

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 21-03-2012