Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

To the main page Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (67th Issue, February 2012) – Food Safety Platform

The Fowl, Avian Flu and the Food

Reported by Dr. Benedict TSANG, Veterinary Officer,
Veterinary Public Health Section,
Centre for Food Safety

 

In the pervious issue of Food Safety Platform, we briefly introduced why animal diseases that are transmissible to humans (zoonosis) became a concern in food safety. This time, let’s take a look at a zoonotic disease that has often grabbed news headlines in recent years — Avian Influenza (AI).


Avian Influenza - A Known Public Health Threat

The catastrophic potential of avian influenza (or bird flu) on human beings was well-recognised by the Hong Kong people since the first local human H5N1 case detected in 1997. That year, 18 confirmed cases with six deaths were reported and the outbreak was finally controlled by a territorywide slaughter of more than one million chickens. To date, avian influenza is still an important public health threat with a few to a hundred human infections annually over the past decade throughout the world. Diagram 1 shows the cumulative number of confi rmed human cases of H5N1 worldwide since 2003.

Diagram 1. Areas with confirmed human cases of H5N1 since 2003, according to World Health Organization as of 24 January 2012.
Diagram 1. Areas with confirmed human cases of H5N1 since 2003, according to World Health Organization as of 24 January 2012.


Avian Influenza Connecting Birds and Humans

Avian influenza caused by the influenza virus type “A” affects mainly birds including chickens, turkeys, quails, guinea fowl, etc. There are many different strains of AI virus (such as H5N1, H5N2, H7N7, H9N2, etc.). Most of them are found naturally among birds, particularly waterfowl and shorebirds, around the world. These birds normally carry the viruses in their respiratory or intestinal tracts and usually do not get sick (asymptomatic infection), and are often viewed as reservoirs for AI viruses. While most of the AI viruses can only cause mild clinical infection in domestic poultry, others, called highly pathogenic strains, can kill up to 90–100 per cent of poultry in a flock. The notorious H5N1 is one of such highly pathogenic strains.

Infected birds can shed AI viruses in their saliva, nasal secretions, and faeces. Susceptible birds become infected when they have contact with excreta from infected birds, or through contaminated fomites. Though avian influenza is usually highly species-specific, on rare occasions, few of them may have the abilities to cross the species barrier to infect human and bring serious outcomes including death.


Safeguarding Food Safety from Avian Influenza

There is no evidence to suggest that the AI virus can be transmitted to humans through consumption of properly prepared poultry or eggs. Most human infections with AI viruses have occurred following direct or indirect exposure to infected live or dead poultry or contaminated environments. To this end, slaughtering, defeathering, handling carcasses of infected poultry, and preparing those poultry for consumption, especially in household settings, are more important risk factors.

To address these risk factors, the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department and the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department have been working together in implementing a series of comprehensive measures to guard against the occurrence and spread of avian influenza at farm, border, wholesale and retail levels.

Besides, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) also makes reference to the science-based standards, guidelines and recommendations provided by the World Organization for Animal Health (OIE) to safeguard food safety from AI. Suspension of import of poultry and their products from countries or regions affected by AI would be implemented once notified.


Health Begins at Home

To protect against a range of common and rare diseases including avian influenza transmissible through raw or undercooked poultry, you can begin your healthy life right away. Avoid any direct contact with live poultry and their faeces. Refuse eating any raw or undercooked poultry meat and eggs. Always observe good personal, food and environmental hygiene. For more information, please visit the CFS website.

 

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 16-02-2012

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

回到主頁 上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一二年二月第六十七期) - 食物安全平台

家 禽、禽 流 感 與 食 物

食物安全中心
獸醫公共衛生組
曾然宙獸醫師報告

在上一期的食物安全平台,我們簡單介紹了為何可傳播給人類的動物疾病(人畜共患病)與食物安全相關。這次,讓我們談談近年屢佔新聞頭條的一種人畜共患病-禽流感。

禽流感 - 眾所皆知的公共健康威脅

自從一九九七年本港爆發首宗人類感染H5N1禽流感個案,香港人便深深體會到人類感染禽流感的可怕後果。當年,出現了18宗確診個案,其中六人死亡,最終要銷毀全港上百萬雞隻,疫情才得以受控。時至今日,禽流感依然是公共健康的一大威脅。過去十年,全球每年都有數宗至上百宗人類感染病例。圖一顯示自二零零三年起,世界各地人類感染H5N1禽流感確診病例的累積數字。

圖一﹕自二零零三年起出現人類感染H5N1禽流感確診病例的地區(截至二零一二年一月二十四日,資料來源:世界衞生組織)。
圖一﹕自二零零三年起出現人類感染H5N1禽流感確診病例的地區(截至二零一二年一月二十四日,資料來源:世界衞生組織)。

禽流感 - 同病相“連”的禽鳥和人類

禽流感是一種由甲型流感病毒引起的傳染病,主要影響禽鳥,包括雞、火雞、鵪鶉和珍珠雞等。禽流感病毒有多種類型(如H5N1、H5N2、H7N7和H9N2等),大部分自然存在於世界各地的禽鳥身上,尤其是水禽和濱鳥。這些禽鳥的呼吸道和消化道常帶有禽流感病毒,卻一般不會因此而發病(無症狀感染),被視為攜帶禽流感病毒的宿主。至於在家禽中,大部分的禽流感病毒只會令染病的家禽出現輕微的症狀。然而,萬一感染的是高致病性病毒,禽群的死亡率可以高達百分之九十至一百。著名的H5N1便是其中一種高致病性禽流感病毒。

禽流感病毒會在染病禽鳥的唾液、呼吸道分泌物和糞便中排出,雀鳥接觸到染病禽鳥的排泄物或帶病毒的污染物,便會受到傳染。禽流感原本只會在禽鳥之間傳播,但在非常罕見的情況下,少數病毒也會跨越物種障礙,傳播給人類,造成十分嚴重的後果,甚至可能會致命。

預防禽流感 由食物安全做起

目前未有證據顯示,禽流感病毒能透過進食妥善處理的禽類或蛋類傳播。人類感染禽流感的主要途徑是直接或間接與病鳥或病鳥屍體接觸,或接觸到受污染的環境。因此,屠宰、去毛、處理及烹製受感染家禽(尤其是在家居環境),感染禽流感病毒的風險較高。

有鑑於此,食物環境衞生署及漁農自然護理署一直協力實施連串措施,務求在農場、邊境、批發及零售各層面,全面預防禽流感的出現和傳播。

此外,食物安全中心亦會借鑑世界動物衞生組織提供的科學標準、指引及建議,針對禽流感,採取措施保障食物安全。當局一收到爆發禽流感的通報,便會停止由受影響國家/地區進口家禽及其產品。

健康生活由家居開始

要避免經由生或未徹底煮熟的家禽感染各類常見或罕見疾病如禽流感等,便要從現在開始養成良好的個人衞生習慣。例如避免直接接觸活家禽及其糞便;勿吃生或未徹底煮熟的家禽肉類及蛋類;經常保持良好的個人、食物及環境衞生等。如欲了解更多有關預防禽流感的資料,請瀏覽食物安全中心網頁

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 16-02-2012