Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (66th Issue, January 2012) – Incident in Focus

Total Diet Study on Dioxins and Dioxin-like Compounds

Reported by Ms. Waiky WONG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Last month, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) released the results of the First Hong Kong Total Diet Study (TDS) on dioxins and dioxin-like polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs), which revealed that the general population was unlikely to experience major undesirable health effects of dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs. The findings also suggested that food of animal origin, particularly fish, meat and poultry, was the predominant route of exposure. This article will address concerns of the public in Q & A format.

Q: Is food contamination by dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs serious?


A: Dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs are contaminants that persist in the environment and bioaccumulate in the food chain, hence, their presence in food is unavoidable. Due to their affiliation with fat, they tend to accumulate in fat tissue at higher concentrations. Based on findings of the first TDS, all 142 composite samples were detected with dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs at various levels and the monthly dietary exposures were estimated to be 21.92 and 59.65 picograms (pg) TEQ/kg body weight (bw) for average and high consumer of the population respectively. [1 g= 1012pg; TEQ is the abbreviation of toxic equivalent which is used internationally for expressing the concentration of these compounds] Both were below the safety reference value [i.e. the provisional tolerable monthly intake (PTMI) of 70 pg TEQ/kg bw] established by the Joint Food and Agriculture Organization/ World Health Organization (WHO) Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA). In other words, the general population in Hong Kong was unlikely to experience major undesirable health effects of dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs.


Q: The TDS found that most dioxin exposure was related to eating fish. Should I take out fish in my usual diet?


A: Fish is a popular food in Hong Kong. The TDS found some composite fish samples contained high levels of dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs. It followed that fish was found to be a significant dietary source of dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs. On the other hand, their levels among the fish composite samples varied a lot from 0.012 to 1.056 pg TEQ/g. Besides, fish contains high quality proteins and many other essential nutrients such as omega-3 fatty acids. Overall speaking, moderate intake of a variety of fish can balance the risk and benefits.

Figure 1. Dioxin and dioxin-like PCB contents among various fish
Figure 1. Dioxin and dioxin-like PCB contents among various fish


Q: Should a pregnant or lactating woman avoid drinking fish soup?


A: Concern has been raised about the exposure from drinking fish soup among pregnant or lactating women. In our study, the composite Chinese soup samples were found containing dioxin and dioxin-like PCBs at the lowest level (mean: 0.007 pg TEQ/g) among all the samples tested. Drinking fish soup is unlikely to result in excessive exposure to dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs. For those who are really concerned, skimming away the fat before drinking the soup can be an option to reduce the exposure.


Q: Would CFS provide the dioxin levels in individual food samples collected for TDS so that the public can make the right choice of food?


A: The TDS is not able to provide dioxin levels in individual food samples. It is because individual samples of the same food collected from the market were prepared into table ready forms and then combined into a single composite sample for analysis. In other words, the composite samples for analysis were derived from various sources, in which average substance levels, instead of individual data, were obtained.


Q: Are elderly individuals at a higher risk to dioxin exposure?


A: Among the elderly, dietary exposures of high consumers were found slightly exceeding the PTMI in our study. However, it does not necessarily mean that their health is at risk provided that the average exposure over long period has not exceeded the PTMI as its emphasis is on a lifetime exposure.

Key Points to Note

  1. Exposures to dioxins and dioxin-like compounds are unavoidable to their wide presence as environmental contaminants.
  2. General population is unlikely to experience major undesirable health effects of dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs from the diet.
  3. Moderate consumption of a variety of fish is recommended as fish contain many essential nutrients.

Advice to the Public

  1. Trim fat from meat and consume low fat dairy products.
  2. Have a balanced and varied diet including a wide variety of fruit and vegetables.
  3. Consume a variety of fish moderately as fish contain many essential nutrients.

The First Hong Kong Total Diet Study

The CFS started to conduct the TDS in March 2010 for estimating dietary exposures of the Hong Kong people to over 130 substances including contaminants and nutrients and assess the associated health risks. The study comprises food purchase and preparation, laboratory analysis and dietary exposure estimation. In essence, the substance levels are measured in foods in table-ready forms, taking into consideration any possible changes during cooking.

Based on the food consumption pattern of the local population, 150 foods commonly consumed were selected. A total of 1 800 samples were collected and prepared into table ready forms, and combined into 600 composite samples for analysis. Among them, 142 composite samples from 71 food items, mainly food of animal origins, were tested for dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 20-01-2012

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一二年一月第六十六期) - 焦點個案

二 噁 英 和 二 噁 英 樣 化 合 物 的 總 膳 食 研 究

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任王慧琼女士報告


食物安全中心(中心)在上月公布本港首個總膳食研究有關二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯的研究結果。研究結果顯示,一般市民的健康受到二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯嚴重不良影響的機會不大,而市民從膳食攝入這些化合物的最主要來源是動物源性食物,特別是魚類、肉類及家禽。本文將以問答形式,針對讀者關注的內容,提供具體解釋。

問:食物受二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯污染是否嚴重?

答:二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯屬於污染物,可長時間存留在環境,並在食物鏈中生物累積。因此,食物無可避免會含有二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯。由於這些化合物具有親脂性,故脂肪組織通常會含有較多二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯。

根據首個總膳食研究結果顯示,全部142個混合樣本均驗出含有不同水平的二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯。此外,攝入量一般和攝入量高的市民每月從膳食攝入二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯的分量分別為每公斤體重21.92皮克毒性當量和59.65皮克毒性當量[1克=1012皮克;國際上用毒性當量來表示這類化合物的濃度]。兩者均低於聯合國糧食及農業組織/世界衞生組織聯合食品添加劑專家委員會所定的安全參考值[即暫定每月可容忍攝入量為每公斤體重70皮克毒性當量]。換言之,本港一般市民的健康受到二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯嚴重不良影響的機會不大。

問:既然總膳食研究結果顯示,大多數二噁英的攝入量跟吃魚有關,那麼我是否應該三餐都不吃魚?

答:魚類是本港市民常吃的食物。根據總膳食研究的檢驗結果,部分魚類混合樣本的二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯含量屬於偏高。數據顯示,魚類是市民從膳食中攝入二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯的主要來源。另一方面,魚類混合樣本的含量亦差異甚大,由每克0.012皮克毒性當量至1.056皮克毒性當量不等。此外,魚類含有優質蛋白質以及奧米加-3脂肪酸等多種人體所需的營養素。整體來說,適量進食多種魚類便可在風險和益處之間取得平衡。

圖一:不同魚類的二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯含量

問:懷孕或授乳婦女應否避免喝魚湯?

答:懷孕或授乳婦女從魚湯攝入二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯受到關注。研究顯示,在所有檢測的樣本中,中式湯水混合樣本的二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯含量最低。飲用魚湯不大可能會令人過量攝入這些化合物。若大家真的很擔心,喝湯前先把油脂去掉,便可減低其攝入量。

問:食物安全中心會否提供總膳食研究所抽取各個食物樣本的二噁英含量,以便市民在選擇食物時有所依據?

答:總膳食研究並沒有個別食物樣本的二噁英含量數據。這是因為研究人員從市面上抽取同一種食物的不同樣本後,會先處理成可食用狀態,然後合併為一個單一混合樣本才進行分析。換言之,用作分析的混合樣本是來自不同來源,所得數字是某物質的平均含量,而並非個別數據。

問:長者攝入二噁英的風險是否較高?

答:這項研究顯示,在長者的人口組別中,攝入量高的長者從膳食攝入二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯的分量略高於暫定每月可容忍攝入量。不過,由於暫定每月可容忍攝入量着眼於人一生的攝入量,因此只要平均攝入量並非長期超出這一數值,偶有超出的情況並不一定表示對長者的健康有影響。

注意要點:

  1. 二噁英和二噁英樣化合物屬於廣泛存在的環境污染物,我們無可避免會攝入這些化合物 。
  2. 一般市民從膳食攝入二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯以致健康受到嚴重不良影響的機會不大。
  3. 大家應適量進食多種魚類,因為魚類含多種人體所需的營養素。

給市民的建議

  • 去掉肉類的脂肪和食用低脂奶類製品。
  • 保持均衡及多元化的飲食,包括進食多種蔬果。
  • 適量進食多種魚類,因為魚類含多種人體所需的營養素。

香港首個總膳食研究

中心在二零一零年三月展開總膳食研究,評估香港市民整體從膳食攝入逾130種物質(包括污染物和營養素)的分量,以評估攝入這些物質對健康帶來的風險。這項研究包括購買和處理食物,化驗分析和膳食攝入量評估。簡言之,研究會考慮食物在烹煮過程中可能出現的變化,檢測食物在可食用狀態下所含有的物質分量。

研究根據本港市民食物消費量模式,選出150種市民經常食用的食物,一共抽取了1800個樣本。這些樣本會製成可食用狀態,然後合併成600個混合樣本,其中來自71種食品的142個混合樣本(主要是動物源性食物)會進行二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯檢測。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 20-01-2012