Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly
 

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article


Food Safety Focus (62nd Issue, September 2011) – Incident in Focus

In Search of Safe Shrimp Sashimi

Reported by Dr. Ken CHONG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

From February to July this year, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) investigated three food poisoning outbreaks in Thai restaurants in which the affected people reported that shrimp sashimi and other food had been consumed. Eleven people were affected in these outbreaks and the suspected causative agents included Vibrio parahaemolyticus only or with Salmonella species.

Thai-style shrimp sashimi
Thai-style shrimp sashimi

Seafood may harbour pathogenic microorganisms. In comparison with cooked food, raw foods including different types of sashimi are of higher risk. While cooking seafood thoroughly is the best way to minimise the risk of foodborne illness, many people prefer the raw taste of sashimi and take the additional risk.

Sources of Contamination of Sashimi

Since shrimp sashimi is consumed without further cooking, pathogenic microorganisms present in the water environment of the shrimps that might have contaminated the sashimi may cause foodborne illness. Vibrio parahaemolyticus occurs naturally in coastal and estuarine environments in tropical to temperate zones. It may be carried in seafood products in these areas, such as shrimp, mussel, raw oysters, and can grow rapidly under favourable conditions. Both raw/partially treated seafood products no doubt are of high risk. Although thorough cooking can eliminate the bacterium, the products may be recontaminated through contaminated utensils, hands, etc.

Salmonella species are not naturally occurring microorganisms in water environment, but it may be introduced through environmental contamination by domestic and/or industrial wastes, including animal wastes. In addition, cross-contamination may occur when the raw shrimps and contaminated animal products, such as poultry meat, are handled in the same area or improperly stored together in a refrigerator.

High Hygiene Requirement for Preparing Shrimp Sashimi

As sashimi is a type of high risk food, food handlers should observe the hygiene practice for preparing and selling shrimp sashimi, as well as other types of sashimi, no matter in Thai or Japanese restaurants. Separate portions of the restaurants should be designated for preparing sashimi and separate equipments with label should be used for such purpose to ensure there is no cross-contamination with other foods or environmental contamination. Food handlers are required to wear clean protective clothing including head coverings. They should handle the food properly and cleanse or sterilise the tools properly. Food to be eaten in its raw state must be kept separately. Defrosted raw materials for the preparation of sashimi should be kept under 4oC and those with slimy surface, in dripping state or of dull colour must be immediately discarded.

The source of the shrimps affects the quality of the final products. Raw materials for the preparation of sashimi should be sound, wholesome and of good quality and should be obtained from a reliable and reputable source. Raw shrimps intended for hotpot are of high risk of food poisoning if consumed raw. Consumers should not take the risk and trade members are advised not to provide these shrimps for consumption in their raw state. All imported food materials should be accompanied by health certificates issued by relevant authority of the exporting countries which are acceptable to the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD). Under the Food Safety Ordinance, all restaurants are required to keep records of acquisition of food for examination.

These measures can reduce the risk of food poisoning due to consumption of sashimi and some of these are included in licensing requirements for food premises with endorsement for preparing and selling sashimi and sushi. Licensed food premises should have a FEHD license and an orange label indicating the relevant endorsement stickers exhibited at a conspicuous position near the entrance for easy reference by customers. The restaurants involved in the above food poisoning cases did not have endorsement for selling sashimi.

FEHD license with specific endorsement for manufacturing and sale of sushiand sashimi
FEHD license with specific endorsement for manufacturing and sale of sushi and sashimi

Key Points to Note:

  1. Shrimp sashimi may be contaminated with foodborne pathogens as a result of environmental contamination or unhygienic handling practice.
  2. Food handlers should observe the hygiene practice for preparing and selling sashimi.
  3. Consume only shrimp sashimi prepared in restaurants permitted to sell sashimi.

Advice to Trade

  • Raw materials for the preparation of sashimi should be sound, wholesome and of good quality, and should be obtained from a reliable source.
  • Prepare sashimi only at the designated and labelled areas in food preparation room.
  • Use exclusive cutting boards and knives for sashimi; clean and disinfect the utensils thoroughly before handling different types of sashimi food.

Advice to Consumers

  • Before ordering sashimi and sushi in restaurants, check whether the premises have a FEHD licence and have the endorsement for sale of sashimi and sushi.
  • Check if sashimi and sushi are fresh and kept under suitable temperature when enjoy them.
  • People with weakened immunity, elderly, pregnant women and young children are at higher risk for foodborne illness; they should not eat raw or partially cooked food.
    Back  Back to Top
     
    Last Revision Date : 22-09-2011

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印
 
食物安全焦點橫額
回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一一年九月第六十二期) - 焦點個案

安 全 生 蝦 刺 身 此 中 尋

食物安全中心風險評估組
科學主任莊梓傑博士報

今年二月至七月,食物安全中心(中心)調查了三宗涉及泰國菜館的食物中毒事件,患者報稱曾於肇事菜館進食生蝦刺身和其他食物。三宗食物中毒事件涉及11人,而病原體懷疑是副溶血性弧菌或亦包括沙門氏菌。

泰式生蝦刺身
泰式生蝦刺身



海產可能含有致病微生物。生的食物(包括各類刺身)較熟食有較高風險。雖然徹底煮熟海產是減低感染食源性疾病的最佳方法,但許多人甘於承擔附加風險,挑選“生”鮮味的刺身來吃。

刺身的污染來源

由於生蝦刺身不再烹煮便食用,可能被水中致病微生物污染的刺身有機會引致食源性疾病。副溶血性弧菌天然存在於熱帶至溫帶的沿岸和河口,可附在當地生長的水產(例如蝦、青口和生蠔),繼而在合適的條件下迅速繁殖。生或只略經處理的水產固然高風險,而徹底烹煮雖可殺死副溶血性弧菌,但水產仍可透過受污染的用具和雙手等再受污染。

沙門氏菌並非天然存在於水中的微生物,但會隨家居及/或工業廢物(包括動物排泄物)污染環境後進入水中。此外,當生蝦與受污染的動物食品(例如禽肉)在同一地方處理或不當地同時存放在雪櫃內,便可能會造成交叉污染。

處理生蝦刺身需滿足高衞生要求

由於刺身是一種高風險食物,不論泰國或日本菜館的從業員均應遵從有關配製和售賣生蝦刺身和其他類別刺身的衞生守則。食肆須設有獨立指定位置和提供貼有標簽的專用器具配製刺身,並確保其不受其他食物及環境污染。食物從業員應穿上包括頭罩等清潔的保護衣物,妥善處理食物及徹底清洗和消毒器具。生吃的食物必須分開存放,用以配製刺身的已解凍原材料應保存溫度在攝氏四度以下,如表面變得黏滑、濕淋或色澤暗淡,須立刻棄掉。

蝦的來源會影響最終產品的質量。用以配製刺身的未經煮熟材料,必須是完好、衞生和品質優良的,並須由可靠和商譽良好的供應商提供。用於火鍋的生蝦,生吃會有極高的食物中毒風險,不應當作刺身出售,消費者不應冒險嘗試,而業界亦不應供應這類生蝦作生吃用途。所有進口的食物材料應附有出口國家有關當局簽發並獲本港食物環境衞生署(食環署)認可的衞生證明書。根據《食物安全條例》,菜館須保存來貨紀錄以便查閱。

上述各項措施可減低食用刺身引起的食物中毒風險,部分已包括在有關配製和售賣刺身及壽司批簽的食物業處所的發牌條件內。持牌食物業處所應在入口附近的當眼處展示食環署的牌照和附有有關批簽貼紙的橙色標簽,供顧客參考。與上述食物中毒事件有關的菜館均未獲售賣刺身的批簽。

附有有關配製和售賣壽司及刺身的特定批簽的食環署牌照
附有有關配製和售賣壽司及刺身的特定批簽的食環署牌照


注意重點:

  1. 生蝦刺身可能因環境污染或不合衞生的處理方法受食源性致病菌污染。
  2. 食物從業員應遵從有關配製和售賣刺身的衞生守則。
  3. 只在獲准售賣刺身的食肆進食生蝦刺身。

給業界的建議

  • 用以配製刺身的未經煮熟材料,必須是完好、衞生和品質優良的,並須由可靠的供應商提供。
  • 只可在食物配製室的指定及有明確標示的地方內配製刺身。
  • 用獨立的砧板及刀具處理刺身,在處理不同類別的刺身前應將有關用具徹底清洗和消毒。

給消費者的建議

  • 留意食肆是否持有食環署的牌照和獲得有關售賣刺身及壽司的批簽。
  • 品嘗刺身及壽司時,應注意食物是否新鮮,溫度是否適當。
  • 免疫力較低的人、長者、孕婦及幼童患食源性疾病的風險較高,故不應吃生或半生的食物。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 22-09-2011