Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

Food Safety Focus (60th Issue, July 2011) – Food Incident Highlight

Outbreaks of Enterohaemorrhagic E. coli Infection in Germany and France

In May and June 2011, outbreaks of enterohaemorrhagic E. coli (EHEC) infection occurred in Germany and France causing severe illness and some deaths. Investigations in Germany showed that sprouted seeds/beans were the likely vehicles for the infection.

EHEC is a pathogenic subset of E. coli bacteria which can cause bloody diarrhoea in infected individuals and in some cases haemolytic uraemic syndrome, a serious complication which can be fatal after causing kidney damage. EHEC can be spread through consumption of contaminated water and food. Moreover, person-to-person transmission of this pathogen is possible through faecal-oral route. EHEC types that have been associated with human outbreaks include the predominant O157:H7 and the rarer O104:H4 incriminated in this outbreak.

EHEC is mainly present in intestines of animals, especially ruminants, and can be found in contaminated beef and dairy products such as minced beef, unpasteurised milk and cheese. Consumption of contaminated water and foods including contaminated fruits and vegetables can also cause infections. As E. coli bacteria can be killed by cooking, thorough cooking can reduce food safety risk.

Fresh fruits and vegetables should be washed thoroughly in clean running water. For firm produce, such as melons and cucumbers, the surface should be scrubbed with a clean produce brush. It is recommended to cook sprouts thoroughly before consumption since sprouts of any kind are grown in warm and humid conditions which are also favourable for the growth of microorganisms. The public is advised to cook all ground beef and hamburgers thoroughly until the cooked meat is brown throughout and the juices run clear.

People should always follow food hygiene measures: washing their hands with soap and water before handling food and after using the toilet, keeping raw and cooked foods separate. Food handlers should suspend from handling food when suffering or suspected to be suffering from an infectious disease or gastro-intestinal disturbances.



Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 22 -07-2011

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點(二零一一年七月第六十期) - 食物事故點滴

德 國 及 法 國 爆 發 腸 道 出 血 性 大 腸 桿 菌 疫 症

今年五月及六月,德國和法國 爆發腸道出血性大腸桿菌疫症 ,導致嚴重疾病和數宗死亡個案。德國的調查顯示,發芽的種子/豆類可能是傳播疫症的媒介。

腸道出血性大腸桿菌 是大腸桿菌其中一部分的致病性菌株,可令患者出現出血性腹瀉,部分人更會有溶血尿毒症。此症是一種嚴重併發症,損害腎臟後可致命。腸道出血性大腸桿菌可透過進食受污染的水和食物傳播。此外,這種致病菌亦可經口糞途徑傳播給他人。曾涉及人類個案爆發的腸道出血性大腸桿菌類型包括最常見的 O157:H7 型大腸桿菌和是次疫症所牽涉較少見的 O104:H4 型大腸桿菌。

腸道出血性大腸桿菌 主要存在於動物 ( 特別是反芻動物 ) 的腸道內,亦見於受污染的牛肉及奶製品,例如免治牛肉、未經高溫消毒的奶和芝士。進食受污染的水和食物 ( 包括受污染的水果及蔬菜 ) 亦會引致感染。由於烹煮過程可殺死大腸桿菌,故徹底煮熟食物能降低食用安全的風險。

新鮮水果及蔬菜應以流動的清水徹底洗淨。至於堅實的蔬果,例如瓜類水果和青瓜,應以清潔的蔬果刷刷洗表面。由於各種芽菜都是在溫暖潮濕的環境中發芽生長,而這種環境亦有利於微生物的生長,故芽菜應徹底煮熟才進食。市民應把碎牛肉和漢堡肉徹底煮熟至肉類中心部分呈啡色,而肉汁應清澈和不帶粉紅色。

大家應時刻奉行食物衞生守則:處理食物前和如廁後以肥皂和水洗手,分開存放生和熟的食物。如患有或懷疑感染傳染病或腸胃不適,食物從業員應停止處理食物。

 

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 22 -07-2011