Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly


Food Safety Focus (56th Issue, March 2011) – Incident in Focus

Review of Food Poisoning related to Food Premises and
Food Business in 2010

Reported by Dr. LAU Ming Ho, Medical & Health Officer
Food Incidents Response & Management Unit

Centre for Food Safety

Introduction

In this article, we would like to update the situation of food poisoning related to food premises/ food business and highlight some important incidents in year 2010.

Food Poisoning Outbreaks Related to Local Food Premises and Food Business

The roles of Centre for Food Safety (CFS) include investigation of food poisoning outbreaks related to food premises and food business. In year 2010, the CFS received referrals from Department of Health (DH) of 279 food poisoning outbreaks, affecting a total of 910 persons (Table 1). During investigations, our staff will identify the contributing factors and trace the sources of suspected incriminated food. Health advice on food, personal and environmental hygiene will be given to the food handlers.

The total number of outbreaks is decreasing since 2006. As shown in Figure 1, the decreasing trend could be attributed mainly to the reduction in food poisoning outbreaks caused by bacteria.

Table 1. Referrals received by the CFS on food premises / food business related food poisoning outbreaks from 2006 to 2010
Table 1: Referrals received by the CFS on food premises / food business related food poisoning outbreaks from 2006 to 2010

Figure 1: Number of food premises / food business related food poisoning outbreaks and number of persons affected from 2006 to 2010
Figure 1. Number of food premises / food business related food poisoning outbreaks and number of persons affected from 2006 to 2010

Causative Agents and Contributory Factors

For the causative agents of both confirmed and suspected cases, bacteria were by far the most common causative agents, which accounted for about 78% of the outbreaks. Other causative agents were biotoxins (12%), viruses (5%) and chemicals (5%) (Figure 2). Figures are generally similar to those of the past four years, except that of biotoxin, which only accounted for 6% of all cases in 2006-2009, but accounted for 12% last year because of a relatively large scale paralytic shellfish poisoning outbreak. Vibrio parahaemolyticus, Salmonella spp. and Staphylococcus aureus, were still the top three causes of bacterial food poisoning outbreaks (contributing 90% of the bacterial outbreaks in total).

Figure 2: Causative agents* by percentage in food poisoning outbreaks related to food premises and food business in year 2010
Figure 2. Causative agents* by percentage in food poisoning outbreaks related to food premises and food business in year 2010
Notes: * The figures included both confirmed and suspected cases

Cross contamination by raw food, improper storage of cooked food and contamination by food handlers were by far the most common contributory factors in year 2010 (Figure 3).

Figure 3: Contributory factors identified in food poisoning outbreaks related to food premises and food business in year 2010
Figure 3. Contributory factors identified in food poisoning outbreaks related to food premises and food business in year 2010
Notes: More than one contributing factor could be identified in a single outbreak

Two Major Food Poisoning Outbreaks

Paralytic shellfish poisoning related to fan scallops

In May 2010, 14 clusters of food poisoning outbreak affecting 29 persons related to Paralytic Shellfish Poisoning (PSP) were reported to CFS. The victims presented with neurological and gastrointestinal symptoms after consumption of fan scallops at home. The fan scallops were purchased from seafood stalls in nine different wet markets in Hong Kong. Control measures were taken at retail and consumer levels. All seafood stalls in the concerned markets were advised to voluntarily suspend selling of the suspected shellfish. The public were advised not to consume scallops by DH. Investigation could not identify the specific source of the fan scallops because of incomplete purchase records. No further related case was reported subsequently.

Food poisoning outbreak related to Chinese vegetarian Lo Mei

In the end of June 2010, 26 clusters of food poisoning outbreak affecting a total of 83 persons related to Chinese vegetarian Lo Mei were reported to CFS. All these cases involved consumption of vegetarian Lo Mei purchased from the take away section of a vegetarian restaurant in Kowloon . Stool samples from the victims were cultured positive for Vibrio parahaemolyticus which is a bacterium that is commonly associated with seafood. Although food samples from a different batch and environmental samples taken were all satisfactory for food poisoning organism, the incriminated food was possibly contaminated by seafood. The incriminated food was also found to be stored under inappropriate temperature for prolonged period. The food premises voluntarily suspended business for thorough disinfection. The preparation procedure of the vegetarian Lo Mei was reviewed and appropriate food safety plan was implemented before its resumption of sale.

Conclusion

In year 2010, the number of food poisoning outbreaks related to food premises and food business continued to decline for the fifth consecutive year. We anticipate that the legal requirement of keeping invoices as stipulated in the Food Safety Bill currently under vetting by the Legislative Council will aid in efficient source tracing and control of future food poisoning outbreaks.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 17-03-2011

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

食物安全焦點(二零一一年三月第五十六期)-焦點個案

二 零 一 零 年 有 關 食 肆 及 食 物 業 的 食 物 中 毒 事 件 回 顧

食物安全中心
食物事故應變及管理小組

劉明昊醫生

引言

本文將會提供最新的二零一零年有關食肆/食物業的食物中毒事件概況,並撮述當中的重大事件。

興本港食肆及食物業相關的食物中毒事件

食物安全中心(中心)的職責包括調查有關食肆及食物業的食物中毒事件。二零一零年,中心接獲衞生署轉介279宗食物中毒個案,受影響人數共910人(見表一)。在調查過程中,中心人員會查明成因,追查懷疑有問題食物的來源,並向食物從業員提出有關食物、個人及環境衞生的忠告。

自二零零六年起,食物中毒事件總數持續下降。正如圖一所示,下降趨勢主要是由細菌引起的食物中毒事件減少所致。

表一:2006-2010年中心接獲轉介的有關食肆/食物業的食物中毒事件
表一: 2006-2010 年中心接獲轉介的有關食肆/食物業的食物中毒事件

 

圖一: 2006-2010 年有關食肆/食物業的食物中毒事件數目及受影響人數
圖一:2006-2010年有關食肆/食物業的食物中毒事件數目及受影響人數

 

病原體及成因

在已證實和懷疑個案的病原體方面,最常見病原體為細菌,約佔整體事件數目的78%;其他病原體包括生物毒素(12%)、病毒(5%)及化學物(5%)(見圖二)。有關數字與過去四年大致相若,惟生物毒素一項除外。二零零六至零九年,生物毒素只佔整體個案的6%,但去年則由於爆發較大型痲痺性貝類中毒事件而佔12%。副溶血性弧菌、沙門氏菌及金黃葡萄球菌仍然是細菌性食物中毒事件的首三個原因,佔整體細菌性食物中毒事件的90%。

圖二: 2010 年有關食肆及食物業的食物中毒事件中病原體種類 *( 按百分比劃分 )
圖二:2010年有關食肆及食物業的食物中毒事件中病原體種類 *(按百分比劃分)
註:*有關數字包括已證實和懷疑個案

 

生熟食物交叉污染、不當貯存熟食和被食物從業員污染是二零一零年食物中毒事件的最常見成因(見圖三)。

圖三: 2010 年有關食肆及食物業的食物中毒事件成因
圖三:2010年有關食肆及食物業的食物中毒事件成因
註:一次食物中毒事件可有多於一個成因

 

兩宗大型食物中毒事件

有關帶子的痲痺性貝類中毒

二零一零年五月,中心接獲14宗痲痺性貝類中毒事件報告,共29人受影響。患者在家中進食帶子後出現神經系統和腸胃相關的症狀。帶子是在本港九個不同街市內的海鮮檔購買。中心人員在零售和消費層面採取管制措施,勸諭有關街市的所有海鮮檔自行停售懷疑的貝類海產,而衞生署則呼籲市民切勿進食帶子。由於採購記錄不齊全,故未能查出有關帶子的確實來源。中心其後再沒有收到新的個案。

有關齋滷味的食物中毒事件

二零一零年六月底,中心接獲26宗有關齋滷味的食物中毒事件報告,共83人受影響,全部與進食九龍某齋館外賣部的齋滷味有關。患者的糞便樣本經化驗證實含副溶血性弧菌,此細菌通常與海產有關。雖然在不同批次的食物樣本和環境樣本進行的食物中毒病原體檢測全部及格,但相信問題食物可能受海產污染。此外,問題食物亦曾長時間在不當溫度下存放。有關食肆自行暫停營業,以便進行全面消毒,又在重新出售齋滷味前檢討齋滷味的配製程序和推行食物安全計劃。

結語

有關食肆及食物業的食物中毒事件數目已連續五年下降。《食物安全條例草案》現正由立法會審議,當中規定食物商須備存發票,我們預計這項規定能協助當局在日後發生食物中毒事件時有效追查食物來源和採取管制措施。

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 17-03-2011