Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly


Food Safety Focus (54th Issue, January 2011) – Food Safety Platform

Nanotechnology and Food Safety

Reported by Ms. Shuk-man CHOW, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

Once only existed in the science fiction, “nanotechnology” has become a part of our life. Nanotechnology is being applied in almost every field imaginable. Transparent sunscreens, water repellent pants, anti-graffiti paints, and antimicrobial washing machines are just a few examples of current nanotechnology applications. In this article, we are going to discuss how nanotechnology is being used in the food industry and its potential safety implications.

Nanotechnology and Properties of Nanoparticles

“Nano” comes from the Greek word meaning “dwarf”. Nano-sized particles are so tiny that they are well below what can be seen with a typical microscope. To get an impression on the size of a nanoparticle, one can imagine the size of a nanoparticle compared to a football is like the size of a football compared to the Earth (Figure 1). When quantifiable, “nano” refers to one-billionth (10-9己>), therefore, one nanometre is equal to one billionth of a metre.

As a result of the small sizes, the chemical and physical properties of nanoparticles can vary considerably from those of larger particles of the same substance. These differences include colour, conductivity, solubility and chemical reactivity.


Figure 1. The size of a nanoparticle in relation to that of a football is roughly equivalent to that of a football relative to the size of the Earth

Application of Nanotechnology in the Food Sector

Compared to the use in other industrial sectors, the application of nanotechnology in the realm of food is just in the infancy. Nanotechnology is now mainly used for the production of food contact materials in the food industry. For example, nano-silver particles are embedded into plastic containers to inhibit microbial growth and extend the shelf-life of food. Beside the use in food contact materials, nanoparticles can be added directly into food to encapsulate food ingredients and additives, for example to mask the unpleasant tastes and flavours of fish oils. The food itself (e.g. ice cream) may also be made into nano-structure to provide a better texture, taste and consistency.

Safety of Food and Food Contact Materials Derived from Nanotechnology

Whilst most nanotechnology applications for food and beverages are currently at research and development stage, the presence of nanoparticles in food is not a new phenomenon. Many of the commonly consumed food ingredients are comprised of proteins, carbohydrates and fats with sizes extending from large biopolymers down to nanoscale. Nano-sized particles, in fact, are naturally present in our food and we have always been exposed to these very fine particles in the diet.

In view of the rapid development of nanotechnology in the food sector, a number of national and international food safety authorities have recently reviewed the potential food safety implications of the technology. At present, there is no tenable evidence that food or food contact materials derived from nanotechnology are any safer or more dangerous than their conventional counterparts. No general conclusion can be made on the safety of nanofood and food contact materials incorporated with nanomaterials. Up till now, there is no evidence of instances where ingested nanomaterials have harmed human health.

Regulation of Nanofood

While some major countries and regions including the United States, Canada, the European Union, Australia, New Zealand and Mainland China have not yet formulated any specific legislation on the regulation of nanofood, in general it is subject to the same public health and food safety regulations that apply to other food types. According to the World Health Organization, the potential health and environmental risks of nanoscale materials need to be assessed before they are introduced into food. It is stipulated in the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132) that all food intended for sale in Hong Kong shall be fit for human consumption. This principle also applies to nanotechnology-derived food products and the food trade have the responsibility to ensure the safety of engineered nanomaterials in their food products if they are to supply such products. While consumers are likely to benefit from the technology, new data and measurement approaches are needed to ensure safety of products using nanotechnology can be properly assessed.

For more information on safety issues surrounding the application of nanotechnology in the food industry, readers may refer to CFS’s literature review on “Nanotechnology and Food Safety”.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 21-01-2011

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印

食物安全焦點(二零一一年一月第五十四期) - 食物安全平台

納 米 技 術 與 食 物 安 全

食物安全中心風險評估組
科學主任周淑敏女士報告

“納米技術”以往只見於科學小說,但現已成為我們生活的一部分,應用範圍廣泛,幾乎無孔不入,透明防曬霜、防水運動褲、防塗鴉塗料及具有抗菌功能的洗衣機只是目前納米技術應用的寥寥數例。本文將會探討納米技術在食物業的應用情況和潛在安全問題。

納米技術與納米粒子的特性

“納米”一詞源自希臘文,意指“侏儒”。納米粒子極細,普通顯微鏡難以看見。要知道納米尺寸到底有多細小,大家不妨想像一下,納米粒子相對於足球的比例,就好像足球相對於地球一樣(圖一)。如以數字來表達,“納米”指十億分之一(10-9),因此,一納米等於十億分之一米。

由於納米粒子尺寸微小,故在顏色、傳導性、可溶性及化學活性等化學物理特性上與尺寸較大的相同物質極為不同。

插圖 : 硝酸鹽/亞硝酸鹽是芝士及火腿
圖一: 納米粒子與足球的比例大約相當於足球與地球的比例

納米技術在食物業的應用

相對於其他行業,食物業應用納米技術只屬於起步階段。納米技術現時在食物業主要用於製造食物接觸材料,例如在塑膠容器加入納米銀粒子,以抑制微生物生長和延長食物保質期。此外,還有直接應用於食物配料及食物添加劑的納米囊化技術,例如用來掩蓋魚油的不良氣味和味道。納米技術亦可用來製造納米結構食物,例如雪糕,為消費者提供味道、口感和濃度較佳的選擇。

以納米技術衍生的食物及食物接觸材料的安全性

雖然大部分應用於食物和飲品的納米科技目前仍處於研發階段,但食物含有納米粒子並非新鮮事物。不少我們日常食用的食物配料,成分包括蛋白質、碳水化合物及脂肪,這些物質大小不一,由較大的生物聚合物至納米尺寸不等。事實上,納米粒子天然存在於食物之中,我們一直從飲食中攝入這些極微細的粒子。

由於納米技術在食物業中迅速發展,多個國家和國際食物安全當局近年評估這項技術的潛在食物安全問題。現時並無有力證據證明納米技術衍生的食物或食物接觸材料較傳統對應食物或材料安全或危險。因此,對於納米食物及加入納米材料的食物接觸材料的安全性,不能一概而論。直至目前為止,沒有事例證明人體食入納米材料有損健康。

規管納米食物

雖然美國、加拿大、歐盟、澳洲、新西蘭及中國內地等主要國家及地區目前仍無規管納米食物的特定法例,但規管其他食物的健康及安全規例一般亦適用於納米食物。世界衞生組織表示,使用納米材料於食物之前必須對其潛在的健康和環境風險加以評估。《公眾衞生及市政條例》(第132章)訂明,所有擬在本港出售的食物必須適宜供人食用。這項原則同樣適用於以納米技術衍生的食物。食物業如提供這些食物,有責任確保食物中人工納米材料的安全性。雖然消費者很可能會因納米技術而受惠,但現時仍有待新的數據和測量方法,確保能準確評估以納米技術製造的產品的安全性。

如欲了解更多有關食物業應用納米技術的安全問題,請參閱食物安全中心的《納米技術與食物安全》文獻研究

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 21-01-2011