Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (51st Issue, October 2010) – Incident in Focus

Ciguatera Fish Poisoning

Reported by Mr. Arthur YAU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

The Centre for Health Protection (CHP) recently investigated two suspected ciguatera fish poisoning (CFP) outbreaks affecting a total of ten persons in September 2010. They developed symptoms of CFP after consumption of tiger grouper, a type of coral reef fish. None of them required hospitalisation. This article discusses what CFP is and its effect and prevention.

Gambierdiscus toxicus
Marine plankton Gambierdiscus toxicus can produce ciguatera toxins (Image taken by Dr. Maria A. Faust, Department of Botany, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution, Washington D.C., U.S.A.)

What are Ciguatera Fish Poisoning and Ciguatoxins?

CFP was first recorded in 1511 in the West Indies. CFP is endemic in many areas, including tropical and subtropical Pacific, where many of the locally-sold live coral reef fish are sourced. It is caused by the consumption of coral reef fish that contain ciguatoxins. The toxins accumulate up the food chain which starts with the herbivorous fish that graze on toxic marine planktons in the coral reef and accumulate successively in the body of larger carnivorous fish.

Ciguatoxins are a group of heat-stable, fat-soluble compounds. They are produced by marine plankton Gambierdiscus toxicus. The plankton live in the oceans between 32°N and 32°S and ciguatera fish are confined to patches of oceans in the area. The toxins are up to 50 - 100 times more concentrated in the viscera, liver and gonads of affected fish, while the fish remain asymptomatic. As the toxins are heat-stable and cannot be removed by cooking or processing, they can affect the nerve and muscle functions of persons who consume ciguatera fish. CFP is now a common type of marine food poisoning worldwide, due to increased international commerce in seafood.

Effects on Humans

The first symptoms can appear as quickly as 30 minutes, while a delay of 24 to 48 hours after consumption of CFP fish is common. The initial symptoms can be gastrointestinal or neurological. The gastrointestinal symptoms like vomiting, diarrhoea, nausea and abdominal pain usually last only a few days, the neurological symptoms like tingling of lips, hands and feet, skin itching, change in temperature perception, fatigue, muscle and joint pain appear later and last longer, sometimes up to a few years. In severe cases, low blood pressure, slow heart rate, respiratory difficulties and paralysis are possible, but death is uncommon.

Factors like previous CFP intoxication, the consumption of alcoholic beverages, nuts and seed products can also increase the sensitivity of an individual against CFP intoxication.

Local Situation

When there are notifications of CFP cases, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) will investigate the relevant premises and suppliers in order to ascertain the species and source of implicated fish. Investigations and surveillance are difficult because food remnants are often unavailable, and traceability records are incomplete as the registration and record-keeping is currently voluntary. According to CHP, there are 32 confirmed cases of CFP affecting 102 persons between 2007 and 2009. CFS investigations showed that of all the species implicated in CFP, the most frequent were s quaretail coral grouper, lyretail, brown marbled (tiger) grouper and leopard coral grouper; the other species involved were orange spotted grouper, humphead wrasse, two-spot red snapper, moray eel, etc. CFS investigations with the trade also suggested that the mos t frequently contaminated fishing grounds were Nansha Island , Kiribati and Hainan Island . Size of fish involved usually ranged from 0.6 – 3 kg (1 – 5 catties), but fish outside this weight range had also been reported. The above information on species and source of fish may be biased as the information could not be verified.

Upon enactment of the Food Safety Bill, food traders will be required to keep relevant transaction records (acquisition records, supply records or capture records as appropriate). Therefore, it is envisaged that data collected in the future would be able to provide more accurate information on fish species and their sources.

To protect public health, the CFS has issued a Code of Practice on Import and Sale of Live Marine Fish for Human Consumption for Prevention and Control of Ciguatera Fish Poisoning which contains the minimum requirements in importing and selling live marine fish for human consumption to ensure food safety. CFS also issues advisory letters and newsletter to the traders after each recent CFP incident, providing information on fish source if available.

Key Points to Note:


  1. CFP is caused by ingestion of ciguatoxins in coral reef fish; cooking and processing cannot destroy the toxins.
  2. Avoid nuts, beans and alcohols when consuming coral reef fish.
  3. Coral reef fish should be sourced from safe sources.

Advice to Consumers

  • Eat less coral reef fish and avoid eating the roe, liver, guts, head and skin.
  • Avoid nut or seed products and alcoholic beverages when consuming coral reef fish.
  • Buy fish from reliable seafood retailers.
  • Seek immediate medical advice if one has CFP symptoms.

Advice to the Trade

  • Comply with the requirements of Code of Practice in the above for the import and sale of live marine fish for human consumption.
  • Avoid sourc ing fish from areas that are known to produce ciguatoxic fish recently.

More Information

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 22-10-2010

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印

食物安全焦點(二零一零年十月第五十一期)- 焦點個案

雪卡毒魚類中毒

食物安全中心風險評估組
科學主任游天頌先生報告

衞生防護中心最近調查兩宗在今年九月發生的懷疑雪卡毒魚類中毒事故,受影響人數共十人。他們在進食老虎斑這種珊瑚魚後出現雪卡毒魚類中毒症狀,全部無須住院。本文旨在探討雪卡毒魚類中毒及其影響與預防方法。

干比亞藻
這種干比亞藻可產生雪卡毒素 (由美國華盛頓史密森尼博物館轄下國立自然歷史博物館植物學系Maria A. Faust博士拍攝的照片)

何謂雪卡毒魚類中毒及雪卡毒素?

根據紀錄,雪卡毒魚類中毒最早出現於一五一一年西印度羣島。雪卡毒魚類中毒是多個水域(包括熱帶及亞熱帶太平洋一帶)的風土疾病,在本港出售的活珊瑚魚有不少是來自這些水域。雪卡毒魚類中毒是由進食含雪卡毒素的珊瑚魚所致。居於珊瑚礁的食草魚類首先吃下有毒的海洋浮游生物,然後體型較大的食肉魚類吃下這些含有毒素的魚類,毒素於是在食物鏈中不斷累積。

雪卡毒素是一組耐熱的脂溶性化合物,由干比亞藻這種海洋浮游生物產生。干比亞藻生活在北緯32度至南緯32度之間的水域,而含雪卡毒素的魚類只會在這一帶內的水域出沒。受影響魚類的內臟、肝臟及生殖器的毒素含量較其他部位高50至100倍,但有關魚類仍然毫無症狀。由於雪卡毒素非常耐熱,不能透過烹煮及加工過程消除,故可影響進食含雪卡毒素魚類的人的神經和肌肉功能。由於國際海產貿易不斷增加,雪卡毒魚類中毒 現時是全球常見的一種海產中毒。

對人體的影響

雪卡毒魚類中毒第一個症狀可在30分鐘內迅速出現,但通常在進食可引致中毒的魚類後24至48小時才出現。患者最初會出現腸胃或神經系統不適。嘔吐、腹瀉、噁心及腹痛等腸胃不適一般只會持續數天,而口部及四肢刺痛、皮膚發癢、溫度認知有變、疲倦、肌肉及關節疼痛等神經系統不適會隨後出現,並持續較長時間,有時會長達數年。情況嚴重者可能出現低血壓、心搏過緩、呼吸困難及停頓,但死亡個案則少見。

其他因素,例如以往曾否出現雪卡毒魚類中毒、有否飲用酒精飲料和食用花生或豆類食物,亦會令個別人士較易出現雪卡毒魚類中毒。

本港情況

食物安全中心在 接獲雪卡毒魚類中毒個案的通報後,會調查有關處所和供應商,以確定問題魚類的品種和來源。調查和監察工作會有一定程度困難,因為食物殘渣往往已不存在,加上現時業界的登記和備存食物紀錄工作純屬自願性質,故可供追查食物來源的紀錄並不齊備。根據衞生防護中心的紀錄,本港在二零零七至零九年共有32宗確診雪卡毒魚類中毒個案,受影響人數為102人。食物安全中心的調查顯示,在涉及雪卡毒魚類中毒的各種魚類中,以西星斑、燕尾星斑、 老虎斑及東星斑較常見,其他品種包括青斑、蘇眉、紅鰽、油等。此外,食物安全中心與業界的調查發現,最常受雪卡毒素影響的捕魚區有南沙羣島、吉里巴斯及海南島,涉及的魚類通常介乎0.6–3公斤(1–5斤),但據報亦有在此重量範圍以外的魚類。由於食物安全中心不能核實有關資料,故有關魚類品種和來源資料可能未夠全面。

《食物安全條例草案》通過後,食物商須備存有關交易紀錄(獲取紀錄、供應紀錄或捕撈紀錄(視乎情況而定))。因此,我們預計日後可較準確取得魚類品種和來源資料。

為保障市民健康,食物安全中心發 出《為預防和控制雪卡毒事故的進口和售賣供人食用的活海魚作業守則》,當中列明在進口和售賣供人食用的活海魚時的基本要求,以確保食物安全。此外,食物安全中心會在每宗近期發生的雪卡毒 魚類中毒 事故後向業界發出勸諭信和通訊,提供有關魚類來源的資料(如可得到的話)。

注意要點:


  1. 雪卡毒魚類中毒是由吃下珊瑚魚體內雪卡毒素所致,烹煮及加工過程均不能消除這種毒素。
  2. 進食珊瑚魚時,應避免吃花生或豆類食物和喝酒。
  3. 向安全來源採購珊瑚魚。

給消費者的建議

  • 減少進食珊瑚魚,避免進食珊瑚魚的卵、肝、腸、頭和皮。
  • 進食珊瑚魚時,應避免吃花生或豆類食物和喝酒。
  • 向信譽良好的零售商購買珊瑚魚。
  • 如出現雪卡毒魚類中毒病徵,應立即求醫。

給業界的建議

更多資料

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 22-10-2010