Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (46th Issue, May 2010) – Incident in Focus

Botulism and Vacuum Packed Food

Reported by Dr. Ken CHONG, Scientific Officer
Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety

         On 15 April 2010 , the Food and Drug Administration of Taiwan issued a press release reporting that vacuum packed soybean products and canned pickled oyster were suspected to be linked to two foodborne botulism cases in Taiwan. Both patients experienced breathing difficulties and one died. The Centre for Food Safety has alerted the relevant traders of the incident. We discuss the risks associated with Clostridium botulinum in vacuum and modified atmosphere packaging in this article.

Foodborne Botulism and Clostridium botulinum

         Foodborne botulism is caused by ingestion of food containing very potent neurotoxin produced by Clostridium botulinum. The toxin can cause illness in minute amount, in the range of a few nanograms. However, it can be destroyed by heating at 80°C for more than 10 minutes. Symptoms of intoxication include marked fatigue, weakness, and vertigo, often followed by blurred vision and difficulty in speaking and swallowing. The toxin may paralyse the breathing muscles and cause death. Onset of symptoms is usually around 18 to 36 hours after the ingestion of the toxin, but may range from 4 hours to 8 days. For treatment, botulism antitoxin should be administered as soon as possible.

         The producer of the fatal toxin – Clostridium botulinum , is a spore-forming bacterium. Its spores are widely distributed in the environment and can be found in soil, fresh water and marine sediments, as well as intestinal tracts of fish and animals. Hence, they may occur in foods of animal or plant origin. While the level of contamination is generally low, the spores germinate, multiply, and readily produce toxin when under favourable condition, especially during absence of oxygen. The optimal temperatures for growth are 35 to 40°C or 28 to 30°C depending on types of strains. Some strains can grow and produce toxins at temperature as low as 3°C, although it may take several weeks to form toxin when placed at low temperatures. Hence, refrigeration alone cannot effectively remove the risk of Clostridium botulinum in perishable foods in airtight packaging.

Clostridium botulinum in Vacuum Packed Food

         Clostridium botulinum cannot multiply on food stored where there is oxygen. However, certain food packaging methods, including canning, vacuum packaging, and modified atmosphere packaging, can create a suitable environment for the bacterium to grow. During vacuum packaging, air is removed and the food is enclosed in an airtight package. For modified atmosphere packaging, air in the package is replaced with one or several gases such as carbon dioxide and nitrogen. By excluding or greatly reducing oxygen levels, these packaging methods can prevent the growth of many spoilage microorganisms and pathogens that require oxygen to grow and thus increase the shelf-life of chilled foods. Yet, vacuum and modified atmospheric packaging does not involve a strict thermal process designed to destroy the spores of Clostridium botulinum, the spores may persist. In addition to the cases reported in Taiwan , incidents of botulism associated with smoked fish in these packages have also been reported in other countries.

         Food Standards Agency (FSA) of United Kingdom has issued guidance on safety regarding chilled food products in these packages in relation to Clostridium botulinum. These food products can be refrigerated throughout the food chain with a shelf-life of not more than 10 days. If longer shelf-life is required, manufacturers should apply one or more additional measures to prevent the growth of the bacterium or toxin formation. These measures include the following:

  ◆
Heat-treat at 90°C for 10 minutes, or that with equivalent lethality to the bacterium;
  ◆
Increase the acidity to give a pH at or lower than 5;
  ◆
Increase salt level to 3.5% or higher in the water phase;
  ◆
Reduce water activity to 0.97 or lower; and
  ◆
Use preservatives such as nitrite in an appropriate level.

Key Points to Note:

  1. Placing in refrigeration may not be able to inhibit the growth of Clostridium botulinum as some strains can grow and produce fatal toxin at as low as 3°C in the absence of oxygen.
  2. Chilled foods in vacuum packaging or modified atmospheric packaging usually do not involve strict thermal treatment process for destroying spores of this bacterium.
  3. Additional controlling measures, such as heat treatment and adjusting salt level, should be applied singly or in combination for these food products with shelf-lives longer than 10 days.

Advice to Trade

  • Ensure chilled food products in vacuum packaging and modified atmospheric packaging are properly processed and handled to minimise the risk of botulism.
  • Provide information for consumers on safe use and storage of vacuum and modified atmosphere packed food products, such as shelf-life and requirement for cooking.

 Advice to Consumers

  • Follow the instruction on the storage of vacuum and modified atmosphere packed food products given by the manufacturers.
  • Use prepackaged food items, including foods in vacuum and modified atmosphere packages, before the expiry date.
Further Information

Vacuum packed chilled foods: Reducing the risk of Clostridium botulinum by FSA (http://www.food.gov.uk/multimedia/pdfs/publication/ vacpack0708.pdf)

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 21 -05-2010

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印

食物安全焦點(二零一零年穿五月第四十六期)- 焦點個案

肉毒中毒與真空包裝食物

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任莊梓傑博士報告

    今年四月十五日,台灣食品藥物管理局發出新聞公告,指台灣發生兩宗懷疑與真空包裝豆乾製品及罐裝鹽漬蚵有關的食源性肉毒中毒個案。兩名患者出現呼吸困難,其中一人死亡。食物安全中心已就事件通知有關業界。本文將會探討真空和氣調包裝中肉毒桿菌的風險。

食源性肉毒中毒與肉毒桿菌

    若肉毒桿菌可產生毒性極強的神經毒素,如進食含有這些毒素的食物,可引致食源性肉毒中毒。極小量的神經毒素(即數納克)已足以引致肉毒中毒,但加熱食物至攝氏80度並維持至少10分鐘,就可破壞這種毒素。肉毒中毒症狀包括非常疲倦、虛弱無力、眩暈,通常隨後會出現視力模糊、言語障礙和吞嚥困難。神經毒素可令患者的呼吸肌肉癱瘓,引致死亡。上述症狀通常在患者進食毒素後約18至36小時出現,但亦可介乎4小時至8天不等。在治療方面,患者應盡快獲給予肉毒中毒抗毒素。

    可產生致命毒素的肉毒桿菌是一種會產生孢子的細菌,其孢子散布在環境中,可於土壤、清水、海洋沉積物和魚類及其他動物的腸道中找到。因此,孢子可能會存在於動物源性或植物源性食物中。雖然孢子的數量通常不多,但可在合適的環境下(尤其是無氧環境)發芽生長,並迅速產生毒素。視乎菌株種類,肉毒桿菌的理想生長溫度介乎攝氏35至40度或28至30度。部分 菌株可在低至攝氏3度的環境下生長和產生毒素,但它們在低溫環境下或需數星期才可產生毒素。因此,單憑冷藏這項措施不能有效消除容易腐壞的密封包裝食物的肉毒桿菌風險。

真空包裝食物中的肉毒桿菌

    肉毒桿菌不會在有氧環境中的食物上繁殖。不過,罐頭、真空和氣調包裝等食物包裝方法能提供合適環境讓肉毒桿菌生長。在真空包裝的過程中,空氣會被抽掉,而食物會放進密封包裝內。至於氣調包裝,則會以一種或數種氣體(例如二氧化碳及氮)代替包裝內的空氣。這些包裝方法抽掉氧氣或大幅減少氧氣含量,可防止多種需要氧氣才可生長和令食物腐壞的微生物及致病菌繁殖,從而延長冷藏食物的保質期。不過,真空和氣調包裝食物均沒有經過可殺死肉毒桿菌孢子的嚴格加熱程序,故孢子可能仍然存活。除了由台灣呈報的上述個案外,其他國家亦曾發生有關這類包裝燻魚的肉毒中毒事件。

    國食物標準局已就有關這類包裝冷藏食品的肉毒桿菌問題發出安全指引。這些食品在整個食物鏈的過程中會作冷藏,其保質期最長為十天。如食品需有更長保質期,製造商應額外採取一項或多項措施,以防止肉毒桿菌生長或毒素形成。這些措施包括:

 
把食物加熱至攝氏90度,並維持10分鐘,或進行可同樣有效殺死肉毒桿菌的其他加熱程序;
 
提高酸度,使食物的酸鹼度保持在5或以下;
 
提高水相中的鹽含量至3.5%或更高水平;
 
降低食物的水活性至0.97或更低水平;以及
 
使用適當分量的防腐劑,例如亞硝酸鹽。

注意要點:

  1. 把食物冷藏未必足以抑制肉毒桿菌的生長,因為有些菌株可在攝氏3度低溫的無氧環境中生長和產生致命毒素。
  2. 真空或氣調包裝冷藏食物通常沒有經過嚴格的加熱程序,以殺死肉毒桿菌的孢子。
  3. 如這類食品的保質期超過十天,業界應額外採取一項或多項控制措施,例如對食品進行加熱處理和調節食品的鹽含量。

給業界的建議

  • 確保真空和氣調包裝冷藏食物經過妥善加工和處理,把肉毒中毒的風險減至最低。
  • 向消費者提供有關安全食用和貯存真空和氣調包裝食品的資料,例如保質期和有關食物必須再經烹煮的要求。

給消費者的建議

  • 遵從製造商有關真空和氣調包裝食品的貯存指示。
  • 在食用限期前進食預先包裝食品,包括真空和氣調包裝食物。

更多資料

由英國食物標準局擬備的《真空包裝冷藏食物:降低肉毒桿菌的風險》 (http://www.food.gov.uk/multimedia/pdfs/publication/vacpack0708.pdf) (只有英文版)


上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 21-05-2010