Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (41st Issue, December 2009) – Food Safety Platform

Food Irradiation

Reported by Ms. Shuk-man CHOW, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

As introduced in the last issue, there are a number of food processing technologies that can be used to maintain the post-harvest quality and safety of our food. Among these, irradiation seems to be a relatively new technology to the public. Irradiation, in fact, has been used for food treatment for more than five decades.

Food Irradiation

Irradiation is a processing technology which involves treating food with ionising radiation. Since irradiation does not substantially raise the temperature of food products under treatment, it is also called “cold pasteurisation”. During the process of irradiation, food under treatment is usually packed in its final packaging and transported by a conveyor system into a closed room where the food is exposed to ionising radiation, such as gamma rays, x-rays or high energy electron beams. The duration and energy for irradiation is carefully adjusted according to the size, food type and purpose for treatment. When the ionising radiation passes through, DNA in the food, bacteria, insects or parasites will be broken. These organisms will then be killed or sterilized and thereby the shelf-life of the irradiated food products can be extended. However, viruses and bacterial spores are typically more resistant to ionizing radiation that may survive through the irradiation process.

Illustration :Examples of the application of food irradiation


1. Limit unwanted sprouting of potato tubers, garlic and onion bulbs


2. Decontaminate herbs and spices


3. Delay ripening in bananas, papayas and mangoes

4. Reduce pathogenic microorganisms in fresh produces

Application of Food Irradiation

Currently, over 50 countries have approved the use of ionising radiation to control the post-harvest quality of foods and for satisfying quarantine requirements in trade.

Reduce pathogenic microorganisms in fresh and frozen food

As treatment of food with ionising radiation does not result in significant temperature increase, it is of particular importance to control food-borne illnesses in fresh and frozen food products such as seafood, fresh produces, and frozen meat products. In the wake of E. coli O157:H7 outbreaks linked to spinach and iceberg lettuce in the United States in 2006, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has recently approved the use of ionising radiation for the treatment of fresh spinach and iceberg lettuce to protect consumers from the disease-causing bacteria.

Decontaminate herbs and spices

Spices, herbs and seasonings are valued for their distinctive flavours, colours and aromas. However, they are often contaminated with microorganisms from the environment and during processing. Since heat treatment can lead to a significant loss of flavour and aroma, a “cold process”, like irradiation may be a good choice to decontaminate dried herbs and spices before incorporating into other food products.

Extend shelf-life of perishable produces

Extending the durable life of commercially important plant commodities is always desirable. Exposure to low dose of ionising radiation can help improve the shelf-life and maintain the post-harvest quality of some perishable produces. For example, irradiation can inhibit cap opening and stem elongation of mushrooms, limit unwanted sprouting of potato tubers and onion bulbs, and delay ripening in bananas, mangoes, and papayas.

Control insect infestation in fruits and grain products

A major problem encountered in preservation of fruits and grain products is insect infestation. Irradiation has been shown to be an effective alternative to the physical and chemical methods currently used for insect control. Commodities such as cereal grains, dried fruits, flour and coffee beans have been successfully disinfested by irradiation. However, it is worth mentioning that proper packaging of irradiated food products is required to prevent reinfestation of insects.

Despite the fact that irradiation has been used for decades for food disinfection and satisfying quarantine requirements in trade, health concerns over the consumption of irradiated food continue to attract attention. In the coming issue, we will have a more in-depth discussion on the safety and nutritional quality of food after irradiation treatment.

For details of the basic principles and application of food irradiation, please refer to our literature review on “Safety of Irradiated Food” .

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date :18-12-2009

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印

食物安全焦點(二零零九年十二月第四十一期)- 食物安全平台

食物輻照技術

食物安全中心風險評估組
科學主任周淑敏女士報告

正如上一期介紹,現時有多項食物加工技術可用來保持食物收割後的質量和安全,其中輻照技術對市民來說似乎是一種較新的技術。其實,輻照技術在食物處理上已使用超過五十年。

食物輻照技術

輻照技術是一項利用電離輻射來處理食物的加工技術。由於在輻照過程中食物的溫度不會大幅提高,故輻照技術又稱為“冷巴士德消毒”。

在輻照過程中,進行處理的食物一般會放在包裝內,經輸送系統運送至一個密封的房間,然後接受伽瑪射綫、X射綫或高能電子束等電離輻射處理。輻照的時間和能量會根據食物大小、種類和處理目的小心調校。電離輻射穿過食物時,會破壞食物、細菌、昆蟲和寄生蟲內的基因,令這些生物死亡或喪失繁殖能力,從而延長輻照食物的保質期。不過,病毒和細菌孢子抗電離輻射的能力通常較高,故它們經過輻照後可能仍然存活。

[插圖] 食物輻照技術的應用例子


1. 抑制馬鈴薯,大蒜和洋蔥球不適當地萌芽

2. 淨化香草和香料

3. 減慢香蕉,木瓜和芒果的成熟速度

4. 減少新鮮農產品的致病微生物

食物輻照技術的應用

現時,已有超過50個國家批准使用電離輻射來控制食物收割後的質量,使業界可符合檢疫規定。

減少新鮮和冷藏食物的致病微生物

由於使用電離輻射處理食物不會令食物的溫度大幅提高,所以輻照技術對於控制新鮮和冷藏食物(例如海產、新鮮農產品和冷藏肉類產品)引起的食源性疾病尤其重要。有鑑於美國在二零零六年爆發與菠菜和捲心生菜有關的O157:H7型大腸桿菌事故,美國食物及藥物管理局最近批准使用電離輻射處理新鮮菠菜和捲心生菜,以保障消費者免受致病細菌的影響。

淨化香草和香料

香料、香草和調味料的價值,在於其獨特的味道、顏色和香味。不過,環境及處理過程往往會令這類食品受到微生物污染。由於加熱處理會令味道和香味大減,因此輻照技術等“冷過程”可能是不錯的選擇,讓乾製香草和香料經淨化後才混入其他食品內。

延長易腐壞農產品的保質期

延長商業上重要植物食品的保質期一向是業界樂見的。低劑量電離輻射有助延長一些易腐壞農產品的保質期,並保持收割後的質量。舉例說,輻照技術能抑制蘑菇的菇傘張開和菇柄變長,阻止馬鈴薯和洋蔥球不適當地萌芽,以及減慢香蕉、芒果和木瓜的成熟速度。

控制水果和穀物製品的蟲害

保存水果及穀物製品面對的一大問題是蟲害。輻照技術證實能有效取代現時用於防治害蟲的物理和化學方法,並可殺死穀類、乾果、麪粉和咖啡豆等食品中的害蟲。不過,值得一提的是,輻照食物必須妥善包裝,以防再有害蟲滋生。

儘管業界數十年來一直使用輻照技術為食物進行消毒,以符合檢疫規定,但食用輻照食物對健康的影響仍是備受關注。我們將在下一期更深入探討輻照食物的安全性和營養價值。

有關食物輻照技術的基本原理和應用的詳情,請參閱我們的文獻研究“輻照食物的安全性”

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 18-12-2009