Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (40th Issue, November 2009) – Food Safety Platform

Food Processing Technology to Minimise Food Hazards

Reported by Ms. Waiky WONG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

In ancient days, without knowing the science behind, people tried ways to keep food for a longer period, such as drying of food and use of sugar or salt, which formed the foundation of food processing technology for extending the shelf-life nowadays.

Factors Causing Food Deterioration

Almost all foods would undergo deterioration after harvest, and, as a result, sensory and nutritional quality and food safety would be affected. Many factors, such as temperature, water activity * , oxygen, microorganisms, enzymes, light and time, would affect the rate of food deterioration. Food preservation is an important food processing technology to help minimise such negative changes in order to produce safe and quality food for consumers.

Food Preservation Methods

Food preservation methods include heat treatment, cold storage, drying, the use of acid, sugar and salt, the use of chemicals, controlled- or modified-atmosphere storage, and radiation, and in a large extent, they can be applied in combinations, to control factors causing food deterioration, as well as to minimise food hazards.

Heat treatment

Heat treatment is applied to destroy microorganisms in food, under various time and temperature combinations, in which pasteurisation and sterilisation are the two most common ones for destroying the pathogenic microorganisms, and the pathogenic microorganisms and spores, respectively. In addition, food undergone sterilisation can keep for a longer time under ambient condition. For example, some milk and juice products requiring refrigeration are products that have undergone pasteurisation (e.g. milk is heated at least 72 ° C for at least 15 seconds), while canned food and ultra high temperature (UHT) milk or drink products are products that have undergone sterilisation (e.g. milk is heated at least 132 ° C for at least 1 second).

Illustration: Pasteurised milk and UHT milk

Cold storage

Cold storage including refrigeration and freezing is used to retard the growth of microorganisms, rather than destroy them. In some cases, food after pasteurisation (e.g. pasteurised milk) should be kept refrigerated or frozen, in order to maintain the food safety and quality.

Drying

Drying is a process for removing water from food and as such it reduces the water activity in food for inhibition of the microbial growth and enzyme activity. The conventional drying process involves the use of heat, however, the sensory and nutritional quality would be affected. To better retain the sensory and nutritional quality, a modern drying process – freeze drying is applied to reduce water activity without heating the food, in which the food is first frozen and then water is evaporated from ice without the ice melting under vacuum condition. It is commonly used in production of dried fruit and vegetables.

The Use of Acid, Sugar and Salt

The heat required for sterilisation is reduced in food with a lower pH (i.e. acidic) (usually pH < 4.6). Acid may be present in food naturally, produced by fermentation or added artificially. The addition of sugar or salt would reduce the water content in food through osmosis.

The Use of Chemicals

Food additives are added in food to maintain or improve quality of food, for example, preservatives (e.g. sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate) are added in food to retard the growth of microorganisms.

Controlled- or Modified-atmosphere Storage

Control or modification of the storage atmosphere surrounding a food could reduce food deterioration and also inhibit microbial growth. It can be done by removing the oxygen or adding carbon dioxide or nitrogen. It is most commonly used for storage of fruits and vegetables after harvest.

Radiation

Radiation is a relatively new method for food preservation to destroy the microorganisms and inactivate enzymes in food, in which ionising radiation and microwave are forms of radiation being applied in food preservation. To enable readers to have a better understanding on these newer methods, we are going to discuss more about the use of ionising radiation and microwave to reduce food hazards in the coming issues.

* Water activity is a value to describe the availability of water in food for microbial, enzyme or chemical activity.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date :19-11-2009

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印

食物安全焦點(二零零九年十一月第四十期)-食物安全平台

有關減低食物危害的食物加工處理技術

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任王慧琼女士報告

古時,人們不知道當中的科學原理而嘗試以各種方法把食物保存較長時間,例如把食物製乾和使用糖或鹽,這成為了現今延長食物保質期的食物加工處理技術的基礎。

食物腐壞的原因

幾乎所有食物在收割後都會逐漸腐壞,以致影響食物的味道、營養價值和安全。食物的腐壞速度受多項因素影響,例如溫度、水活性*、氧氣、微生物、酶、光和時間。食物保存是一種重要的食物加工處理技術,可盡量減少上述的變壞情況,從而向消費者提供安全、優質的食物。

食物保存方法

食物保存方法包括熱處理;低溫貯存;製乾;使用酸、糖、鹽和化學物;氣控或氣調貯存;以及輻射。這些方法在大多數情況下會混合使用,以控制食物腐壞的因素和盡量減低食物危害。

熱處理

處理利用不同的處理時間及溫度來消滅食物中的微生物,其中最常用的巴士德消毒和消毒可分別消滅致病微生物和致病微生物及孢子。此外,經消毒的食物在一般環境下可保存較長時間。舉例說,一些需要冷凍保存的奶類和果汁產品就是經巴士德消毒 的產品(例如奶類加熱達到至少攝氏72度並保持至少15秒),而罐頭食品和經超高溫處理奶類或飲料產品則是經消毒的產品(例如奶類加熱達到至少攝氏132度並保持至少1秒)。


插圖﹕經巴士德消毒奶類和經超高溫處理奶類

低溫貯存

低溫貯存包括冷凍和冷藏,用以延緩微生物的生長而並非消滅它們。在某些情況下,經巴士德消毒的食物(例如經巴士德消毒的奶類)應保持冷凍或冷藏,以保持食物的安全和質量。

製乾

製乾是去除食物中水分的過程,減少食物的水活性以抑制微生物生長和酶活性。傳統的製乾過程涉及熱力的使用,但會破壞食物的味道和營養。為了更好保存食物的味道和營養,食物業採用現代化製乾過程——凍乾法,無需加熱食物就能減少當中的水活性。首先,食物會作冷藏,然後在真空環境下把水分由冰直接蒸發成氣體,無須經過溶解過程。這種方法常用來生產乾製蔬果。

使用酸、糖和鹽

酸醶值較低(即酸性)(通常酸醶值<4.6)的食物在消毒過程中所需的熱力較低。食物中的酸可以是天然存在、經發酵形成或人工添加的。加添糖或鹽可通過滲透作用減低食物中的水分。

使用化學物

在食物中加入食物添加劑有助保持或改善食物的質量,例如加入苯甲酸鈉、山梨酸鉀等防腐劑可延緩食物中微生物的生長。

氣控或氣調貯存

控制或調節食物存放地方的空氣能減少食物腐壞情況,並抑制微生物生長。抽掉氧氣或注入二氧化碳或氮氣均可達到效果。這種方法最常用於貯存收割後的水果和蔬菜。

輻射

輻射是較新的食物保存方法,用以消滅食物中的微生物和令酶喪失活性。電離輻射和微波是現時應用於食物保存的輻射形式。為讓讀者了解更多這些較新的方法,我們將在未來數期探討如何使用電離輻射和微波來減少食物危害。

*水活性是一數值,用來描述在食物中可供進行微生物、酶或化學活動的水分。


上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 19-11-2009