Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (24th Issue, July 2008) – Incident in Focus

Coliforms in Milk – Presence of Bad Bugs?

Reported by Dr. Ken CHONG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

Background

On 29 May 2008 , the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) released the latest food surveillance results. Three samples of pasteurised milk of the same consignment were detected with coliform organisms which exceeded the microbiological standard in the law for milk or milk beverage. The CFS has informed the relevant authority and importation of the products has been suspended; the CFS will step up surveillance of the product concerned upon the resumption of importation. In this article, we shall focus on this particular group of bacteria and their signifi cance in milk as well as the microbiological standard for milk.

Illustration: Milk

Heat Treatments of Milk

Milk is nutritious for human, but also for bacteria. In order to kill pathogens in raw milk and to extend shelf life, processes called pasteurisation and sterilisation (sterilization method and ultra-high-temperature(UHT)method) are often used. Pasteurisation uses temperature below boiling point to treat raw milk for a specific period of time to eliminate most microorganisms, while the nutrition and taste are not significantly affected. Since pasteurisation does not kill all microorganisms, pasteurised milk must be refrigerated. On the other hand, longer shelf-life can be achieved with UHT treatment which sterilises the milk at a very high temperature in a very short period followed by sealing it in sterilised containers. UHT-treated milk can be stored in the sealed containers without refrigeration for months. Conditions for sterilisation method (treatment at 100°C for more than 25 minutes) are more severe than pasteurisation, i.e. higher temperature and longer time. While pasteurisation of milk has little effect on nutrition and taste, sterilisation method may cause changes in nutrition and taste.

Subject to different heat treatment method employed, there are different microbiological standards under the Milk Regulation (Cap. 132AQ) for the milk and milk beverage:

Raw milk (before heat treatment)

Total bacterial count

200 000/ml

Coliform organisms

Absent in 0.001 ml

Pasteurised milk

Total bacterial count

30 000/ml

Coliform organisms

Absent in 0.1 ml

Sterilised milk (includes UHT-treated milk)

Colony count

< 10

Detection of Coliforms in Milk

Coliforms, which are often used to monitor the quality of milk, are not a single species of organism. They are a group of gram negative rod-shaped bacteria that have similar biochemical characteristics – being able to ferment lactose with the production of acid and gas within 48 hours at 35°C and grow with or without oxygen. They are usually present in small number in raw milk, meat, poultry or other raw foods. Coliforms count is simple and easy to conduct, hence it can be used as an hygienic indicator to reflect the general microbiological quality in routine test. As coliform organisms can be easily killed by heat, these bacteria can also be used as an indicator of heat treatment failure as well as post heat treatment contamination.

Key Points to Note:

  • Pasteurisation is a heat treatment method to reduce bacteria in milk, and pasteurised milk is not sterile.
  • Testing of coliform organisms is used to monitor the hygienic quality of food products.
  • Presence of coliform organisms does not necessarily mean that pathogenic bacteria are present.

In the past, coliforms have been used as an indicator for pathogens, but they are no longer recommended for this purpose due to the fact that coliform organisms are present as normal inhabitants of soil and water, not just specifically from faecal contamination. Some people may wonder if there is co-relationship between the presence of pathogenic bacteria from faecal source, especially Salmonella and Shigella species, and the presence of coliforms. As mentioned before, coliforms are not specific enough for that purpose and it is important to note that these two bacterial species are not coliforms.

In the milk sample concerned, coliform organisms were detected, but it does not necessarily mean that there were pathogenic bacteria. Presence of coliforms means there may have been problems in the efficiency of heat treatment or re-contamination after heat treatment. In these cases, the food manufacturer is required to check for process failure and ensure product safety.

Control measures should be proportional to the magnitude of the problem. In the above case, the importer was asked to cease sale of the affected batch of milk and conduct investigation at the exporting end. Consumer level recall was considered unnecessary in view of the low health risk of the product. The practice was in line with that of other food safety authorities.

For the purpose of monitoring and control, CFS takes different kinds of milk samples for examination. In 2007, 1 out of over 80 raw milk samples, 1 out of over 780 pasteurised milk samples and 1 out of over 1 700 sterilised milk samples were found unsatisfactory. Appropriate actions had been taken.

Advice to Trade

  • Obtain supplies of fresh and reconstituted milk from licensed milk factories.
  • Import milk or milk beverage from manufacturer approved by the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department.
  • Establish quality and safety control plans such as HACCP for milk and dairy product manufacturing.

Advice to Consumers

  • Store milk and dairy product strictly in accordance with the instructions on the labels.
  • Check the expiry date for milk and dairy product before opening for consumption.

     

    Back  Back to Top
     
    Last Revision Date :18-07-2008

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印




食物安全焦點(二零零八年七月第二十四期)-焦點個案

奶類中驗出大腸菌羣代表含有惡菌嗎?

食物安全中心風險評估組
科學主任莊梓傑博士報告

背景

二零零八年五月二十九日,食物安全中心(中心)公布最新的食物監察計劃結果,發現同一批次三個經巴士德消毒奶類樣本的大腸菌羣含羣超逾法例所訂的奶類及奶類飲品微生物標準。中心已通知有關當局,而有關食品已暫停進口。中心將會在有關食品恢復進口時加強監察工作。本文將會集中探討這組細菌、它們對奶類的重要性和奶類的微生物標準。

插圖﹕牛奶

奶類的熱處理

無論對人類還是細菌,奶類都可提供豐富的營養。為了殺死未經加工奶類中的致病細菌和延長保質期,奶類通常會經過巴士德消毒或消毒(消毒法和超高溫法)兩大處理方法。巴士德消毒是在一段指明時間內以低於沸點的溫度處理未經加工奶類,既可殺死奶類中大部分微生物,又不會嚴重影響其營養和味道。由於這種方法不會殺死所有微生物,故經巴士德消毒的奶類必須冷藏。另一方面,超高溫法則是在極短的時間內以超高溫度對奶類進行消毒,然後放進已消毒的容器內再行封蓋。以這種方法處理的奶類會有較長的保質期,可貯存在密封容器內而無須冷藏長達數月。由於消毒法的處理條件(以攝氏100度處理奶類超過25分鐘)較巴士德消毒劇烈(即採用較高溫度和經過較長時間),故消毒法可能會破壞奶類的營養價值和味道,而巴士德消毒對奶類的營養價值和味道影响甚少。

視乎所使用的熱處理方法,《奶業規例》(第132AQ章)對奶類及奶類飲品訂有以下不同的微生物標準:

未經加工的奶類(進行熱處理前)

總含菌量

每毫升少於 200 000個細菌

大腸菌羣

在 0.001毫升樣本內沒有發現

經巴士德消毒的奶類

總含菌量

每毫升少於 30 000個細菌

大腸菌羣

在 0.1毫升樣本內沒有發現

經消毒的奶類(包括經超高溫法處理的奶類)

菌落計數

少於 10個

檢測奶類中的大腸菌羣

大腸菌羣並非單一品種的細菌,而是一組呈桿狀結構的革蘭氏陰性細菌,常用來監察奶類的質量,它們具有類似的生化特性:處於攝氏35度的環境下可於48小時內發酵乳糖產生酸和氣體,並可以在有氧或無氧的環境下繁殖。未經加工的奶類、肉類及家禽或其他生的食物通常會有小量大腸菌羣。由於大腸菌羣含量測試簡單方便,因此會在常規的化驗中用作反映一般微生物質量的衞生指標。由於熱力能輕易殺死大腸菌羣,故這類細菌的存在亦可用作顯示熱處理方法不當或食物經熱處理後再受污染。


注意重點:

  1. 巴士德消毒是一種熱處理方法,可減少奶類中的細菌。經巴士德消毒的奶類並非無菌的。
  2. 大腸菌羣測試可用作監察食品的衞生質量。
  3. 食物含有大腸菌羣未必表示含有致病細菌。

大腸菌羣以往曾用作致病菌的指標,但現已不建議作此用途,因為泥土和水一般也會有大腸菌羣存在,而不只是在糞便污染中出現。有人可能會問,有大腸菌羣存在是否就表示經糞便傳播的致病細菌(特別是沙門氏菌和志賀氏菌)亦同時存在呢?正如上文所述,大腸菌羣不足以用作糞便污染的指標,再者有一點必須留意的是,沙門氏菌和志賀氏菌均不屬於大腸菌羣。

在有關奶類樣本中驗出大腸菌羣未必表示含有致病細菌。含有大腸菌羣代表熱處理程序可能失效,又或奶類樣本經熱處理後再受污染。在這些情況下,食物製造商須找出加工程序有何問題,並確保產品安全。

管制措施應與問題的嚴重性相稱。在上述個案中,中心要求進口商停售該批有問題奶類,並在出口層面進行調查。由於有關食品對健康造成影響的風險偏低,中心認為無須向消費者回收食品。這種做法與其他食物安全當局的做法一致。

為對奶類進行監察和管制,中心會抽取各種奶類樣本作測試。在二零零七年,中心抽取了超過 80個未經加工的奶類樣本,780個經巴士德消毒的奶類樣本和1 700經消毒的奶類樣本,其中不合格樣本分別各有一個。中心已採取適當行動。

給業界的建議

  • 向持牌奶品廠採購新鮮和再造奶類。
  • 向獲食物環境衞生署批准的製造商進口奶類或奶類飲品。
  • 就奶類和奶製品製造程序制定質量和安全控制計劃,例如食物安全重點控制。

給消費者的建議

  • 嚴格遵從標籤上的指示貯存奶類及奶製品。
  • 在開封飲用前,先檢驗奶類及奶製品的食用限期。

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 18-07-2008