Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Next Article

Food Safety Focus (135th Issue, October 2017) – Incident in Focus

Hairy Crabs and Food Safety

Reported by Dr. Henry MOU, Medical Officer,
Risk Management Section,
Centre for Food Safety

The Incident

In 2016, three samples of hairy crabs from the Mainland were detected to have dioxin-like polychlorinated biphenyls (DL-PCBs) exceeding the Centre for Food Safety (CFS)’s action level. Import into and sale within Hong Kong of hairy crabs from the two concerned aquaculture farms were suspended. This article introduces the current control measures of hairy crabs adopted by the CFS for ensuring the food safety.

Dioxins and DL-PCBs

Dioxins and DL-PCBs are environmental pollutants with similar toxic effects. Dioxins are ubiquitous in the environment, occuring natually (e.g from volcanic eruptions and forest fires), as by-products of combustion and various industrial processes. DL-PCBs, on the other hand, were more related to industrial activities. Dioxins, once released, contaminate soil surfaces and aquatic sediments in streams, rivers and lakes where hairy crabs live. Hairy crabs scavenge for food at the bottom of these habits. Dioxins and DL-PCBs bioaccumulate along the food chain. The long-term cumulative risk of dioxins to health includes developmental problems in children and reproductive problems in adults as well as cancer-causing in humans.

Hairy crabs are inspected and tested for chemicals at import, wholesale and retail levels.
Hairy crabs are inspected and tested for chemicals at import, wholesale and retail levels.

Local Food Safety Regulations

The Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132) stipulates that all foods for sale and are intended for human consumption should be fit for human consumption. Hairy crabs imported should comply with the local requirements including veterinary drug residues (such as nitrofurans and malachite green), metallic contaminants (such as cadmium and mercury), synthetic hormones, colouring matters (such as Sudan dyes), pesticide residues, and dioxins and DL-PCBs.

In Hong Kong, dioxins and DL-PCBs in foods have been closely monitored by the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department. After considering international practices and local dietary habits, the CFS established an action level of 6.5 picograms (pg) toxic equivalent per gram in edible part of hairy crabs in 2016.

Import Control

Hairy crabs sold in Hong Kong came mainly from the Mainland, from registered aquaculture farms that have undergone quality inspection by the relevant Mainland authorities. Hairy crabs were also imported from other places, such as the Netherlands, Taiwan and Japan especially in recent years. Health certificates, if any, issued by the issuing authorities of the exporting countries/regions accompanying the consignments would be subjected to inspection by the CFS.

Regarding the contamination of hairy crabs by dioxin and DL-PCBS, a Dutch study revealed that hairy crabs from some polluted rivers in the Netherlands may contain dioxins and DL-PCBs at levels that health risks cannot be excluded. Since then, the relevant authority of the Netherlands prohibited the harvesting of hairy crabs from the polluted areas in the Netherlands as reported in the study and their monitoring programme.

Food Surveillance

As part of its Food Surveillance Programme, the CFS conducts surveillance on hairy crabs during hairy crab season. The CFS will follow up on the unsatisfactory results, including conducting risk assessment, tracing the source and distribution. Based on the risk assessment result of the unsatisfactory hairy crab sample, its importation from the concerned aquaculture farm might be suspended. The CFS would instruct the local importer concerned to remove the affected products from shelves, stop sale or initiate a recall of the affected products. The CFS would issue press release and trade alert immediately to inform the public and the trade as well as inform the relevant authority of the exporting country/place for follow-up actions at source.

As of noon of 16 October 2017, 84 hairy crab samples, including 11 samples tested for dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs, have had satisfactory test results. One unsatisfactory sample imported from the aquaculture farm in Taoyuan, Taiwan, collected at the import level, was found to contain dioxins and dioxin-like PCBs at a level of 9.86 pg toxic equivalent per gram of the food sample, exceeding the action level adopted by the CFS.

Key Points to Note:

  1. The long-term cumulative risk of dioxins and DL-PCBs to health includes developmental problems in children and reproductive problems in adults as well as cancer-causing in humans.
  2. The CFS established an action level of 6.5pg toxic equivalent per gram in edible part of hairy crabs.
  3. The import control strategy and seasonal surveillance programme on hairy crabs would be continued in 2017.

Advice to the Trade

  • Source hairy crabs from reliable suppliers with health certificates issued by relevant health authorities.
  • Impose effective internationally recognised food safety controls through the supply chain and ensure the compliance.
  • Keep abreast of hazards in food and take appropriate steps to provide only safe food to consumers.

Advice to the Public

  • Buy hairy crabs from reliable shops or restaurants.
  • Ask the retailer to show the health certificate.
  • Take a balanced and varied diet which includes a wide variety of fruit and vegetables so as to avoid excessive exposure to chemicals from a small range of food items.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 18-10-2017

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁下一篇文章

大閘蟹與食物安全

食物安全中心
風險管理組
繆若恒醫生報告

事件

二零一六年,三個來自內地的大閘蟹樣本被檢出二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯的含量超出食物安全中心(中心)所訂的行動水平。兩個涉事水產養殖場被暫停進口及在港出售大閘蟹。本文簡介中心為確保食物安全而就大閘蟹採取的現有管制措施。

二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯

二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯是毒性作用相似的環境污染物。二噁英在環境中無處不在,既可天然釋出(例如火山爆發及森林大火),亦會透過燃燒及多種工業過程以副產品的形式產生。另一方面,二噁英樣多氯聯苯則與工業活動有較大關係。一但釋出,二噁英會污染土壤表面和大閘蟹所生活的溪澗、河流及湖中的沉積物。大閘蟹在這些棲息地的水底覓食,二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯沿食物鏈在生物體內積聚。二噁英對人類健康造成長遠的累積風險,包括導致兒童及成人分別出現發育及生育問題,還可令人致癌。

中心在進口、批發及零售層面抽取大閘蟹樣本作檢查及化學測試。
中心在進口、批發及零售層面抽取大閘蟹樣本作檢查及化學測試。

本港的食物安全規例

《公眾衞生及市政條例》(第132章)訂明,所有出售及擬供人食用的食物必須適合供人食用。進口的大閘蟹必須符合本地規定,包括獸藥殘餘(例如硝基呋喃及孔雀石綠)、金屬雜質(例如鎘及汞)、人造激素、染色料(例如蘇丹紅)、除害劑殘餘、二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯。

在香港,食物環境衞生署一直密切監察食物中的二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯含量。經考慮國際慣例及本地的飲食習慣,中心在二零一六年制定大閘蟹的行動水平。每克大閘蟹可食用部分的二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯總含量的行動水平為6.5皮克毒性當量。

進口管制

在港出售的大閘蟹主要來自內地,經內地有關當局作品質檢查後註冊的水產養殖場進口。香港近年亦有從其他地方(例如荷蘭、台灣及日本)進口大閘蟹。每批供港大閘蟹如附有由出口國家╱地區的簽發機構發出的衞生證明書,均須經中心檢查。

就大閘蟹受二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯污染的情況,荷蘭曾進行的一項研究顯示,荷蘭某些受污染河流的大閘蟹可能含有二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯,其含量不能排除對人類健康帶來風險。此後,荷蘭有關當局禁止在該研究及其監察計劃提及的荷蘭受污染地區撈捕大閘蟹。

食物監察

中心透過其食物監察計劃,在大閘蟹當造季節進行監察。中心會跟進不合格的檢測結果,包括進行風險評估、追蹤有關大閘蟹的來源及分銷情況。根據不合格大閘蟹樣本的風險評估結果,中心或會暫停從涉事水產養殖場進口大閘蟹。中心會指令涉事本地進口商將受影響的產品下架、停售或進行回收。此外,中心會透過即時發出新聞公報及業界警報通知市民及業界並知會出口國家╱地方的有關當局,以跟進源頭。

截至二零一七年十月十六日中午,共有84個大閘蟹樣本,包括11個進行二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯含量總和檢測的樣本,測試結果滿意。一個從進口層面抽取來自涉事台灣桃園養殖場的有問題樣本,則被檢出二噁英和二噁英樣多氯聯苯的含量總和為每克食物9.86皮克毒性當量,超出中心的行動水平。

注意要點:

  1. 二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯會對人類健康造成長遠的累積風險,包括導致兒童及成人分別出現發育及生育問題,還可令人致癌。
  2. 中心制定每克大閘蟹可食用部分的二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯總含量的行動水平為6.5皮克毒性當量。
  3. 有關大閘蟹的進口管制策略及時令監察計劃在二零一七年會繼續推行。

給業界的意見

給市民的意見