Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Next Article

Food Safety Focus (132nd Issue, July 2017) – Incident in Focus

Learn More About Luncheon Meat and Sausages

Reported by Dr. Cherrie NG, Veterinary Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In mid June 2017, the results of a local study on luncheon meat and canned sausages were released. It was found that the majority of the samples were high in sodium and fat content. In one luncheon meat sample, residue of antimicrobials was found. This article discusses the production of luncheon meat and some sausages, their sodium and fat content, the antimicrobial residue detected in the luncheon meat sample and gives advice to the public and the trade.

Figure 1: Nutritional composition of luncheon meat (source: Nutrient Information Inquiry System , nutritional composition may vary depending on the formula of the products).
Figure 1: Nutritional composition of luncheon meat (source: Nutrient Information Inquiry System , nutritional composition may vary depending on the formula of the products).

Production of Luncheon Meat and Some Sausages

Luncheon meat and some sausages are compound food with essential ingredients of meat, water and curing ingredients consisting of salt and nitrites. Fat (in the form of animal fat or vegetable oil), spices, other ingredients and additives may also be added. The components are processed raw and the resulting viscous batter is then heated to make the end product. Apart from providing the salty flavour, salt also helps opening up the structure of proteins in combination with water to assist in forming the batter. Sodium / potassium nitrite is a curing ingredient which is added to produce the development of the characteristic pink colour in processed meat products, and reacts with proteins to form compounds that inhibit the development of spores of Clostridium botulinum when heated.

Processed Meat and Health

Group 1 Carcinogenic to Humans

According to the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC), processed meat (including luncheon meat and sausages) is carcinogenic to humans (Group1) and each 50g portion of processed meat conusmed daily can increase the risk of colorectal cancer by18%. The World Health Organization (WHO) advises that people who eat meat should moderate the consumption of processed meat to reduce the risk of colorectal cancer.

High in Sodium and Fat

The sodium content of luncheon meat is usually high because common salt (sodium chloride), and sodium nitrite (if chosen to be the curing ingredient) are added. Fat is also added to make the product softer and more palatable. Eating too much sodium increases the risk of high blood pressure and excessive intake of fat increases the risk of overweight and obesity; these in turn are risk factors of heart diseases and other chronic non-communicable diseases. On average, 100g (around half a small can) of luncheon meat contains approximately 1000mg of sodium and 16g of fat, which contributes to 50 % of the daily intake upper limit of 2000mg of sodium and 27% of the daily intake upper limit of 60g of fat (based on a 2000-Kcal diet) respectively as recommended by WHO (Figure 1). To make an informed choice, consumers can read the nutrition labels on prepackaged food.

Antimicrobial Residue

According to the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE), antimicrobial agents are essential to protect human and animal health, as well as animal welfare. Therefore the OIE advocates the responsible and prudent use of antimicrobial agents. The Codex Standards in relation to veterinary drug residues are specified in the “Codex Alimentarius Maximum Residue Limits (MRLs) and Risk Management Recommendations for Residues of Veterinary Drugs in Foods”. Whilst the fore-mentioned local study put focus on the MRL in compound food such as luncheon meat, Codex MRLs are applicable to the original animal tissues instead. In Hong Kong, similar approach is adopted where maximum concentrations are applicable to commodities such as muscle, liver and kidney, but not compound food. In general, competent authorities in other countries regulate the potential contamination of veterinary drug residue by applying MRLs in the raw materials, i.e. animal tissues.

With regards to the possibility of development of antimicrobial resistance (AMR), a single exposure to residues of veterinary drugs is unlikely to cause AMR in the intestinal flora. In addition, there is currently no sufficient evidence to affirm that chronic exposure to low dose of antimicrobial residues in food can significantly increase the development of resistance microorganisms in the intestinal flora. Further studies on the associated risk are required.

Key Points to Note:

  1. Luncheon meat and sausages are processed meat which is classified as carcinogenic to humans by the IARC.
  2. Processed meat generally has high sodium content.
  3. The WHO advises that people who eat meat should moderate the consumption of processed meat to reduce the risk of colorectal cancer.

Advice to the Trade

  • Adhere strictly to the local regulations, including the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations, Preservatives in Food Regulation and Harmful Substances in Food Regulations with regards to nutrition labelling, use of food additives and veterinary drug residue respectively.

Advice to the Public

  • Moderate the consumption of processed meat to reduce the risk of colorectal cancer.
  • Read the nutrition labels to make informed choices of food and reduce sodium intake.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 19-07-2017

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦點橫額
回到主頁
下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一七年七月第一百三十二期) - 焦點個案

餐肉腸仔知多些

食物安全中心
風險評估組
吳雪兒獸醫報告

二零一七年六月中,一個本地研究公布有關午餐肉及罐裝香腸的調查結果,發現大部分樣本的鈉及脂肪含量很高,並在其中一個午餐肉樣本發現抗菌素殘餘。本文將探討有關午餐肉及部分香腸的製作、當中的鈉和脂肪含量、午餐肉樣本檢出的抗菌素殘餘,並向市民及業界提供建議 。

圖一:午餐肉的營養成分(資料來源:Nutrient Information Inquiry System,營養成分或會因產品配方而有差異)。
圖一:午餐肉的營養成分(資料來源:Nutrient Information Inquiry System,營養成分或會因產品配方而有差異)。

午餐肉及部分香腸的製作過程

午餐肉及部分香腸是由肉類、水及醃料(包括鹽及亞硝酸鹽)等必要配料製成的合成食品,當中亦可加入脂肪(動物脂肪或植物油)、香料、其他配料及添加劑。這些配料是在未煮熟情況下加工,製成肉漿後加熱,成為最終製成品。除了提供鹹味外,鹽有助打開蛋白質的結構以便結合水分並形成肉漿。亞硝酸鈉╱亞硝酸鉀是一種可使加工肉類製品產生其特有粉紅色的醃料,並能在加熱時與蛋白質產生反應結合成可抑制肉毒桿菌孢子形成的化合物。

加工肉類與健康

第1組:令人類患癌

根據國際癌症研究機構(IARC)的分類,加工肉類(包括午餐肉及香腸)屬會令人類患癌(第1組),每天食用50克加工肉類可增加患大腸癌的風險18%。世界衞生組織(世衞)建議進食肉類的人士應節制進食加工肉類,以減低患上大腸癌的風險。

高鈉及高脂

由於加入了食鹽(氯化鈉)及亞硝酸鈉(若被選用作醃料),午餐肉的鈉含量通常很高。在午餐肉加入脂肪更可令肉質更柔軟,味道更可口。攝取過多鈉會增加患上高血壓的風險,而攝取過量脂肪則會增加超重及肥胖症的風險,患上心臟病及其他非傳染的慢性疾病的風險亦因而提高。每100克午餐肉(約半罐小罐裝午餐肉)平均含有大約1000毫克鈉及16克脂肪,分別佔世衞所建議的鈉的每天攝取上限2000毫克的50%,以及脂肪的每天攝取上限60克的27%(以2000千卡膳食計算)(圖一)。消費者可查看預先包裝食品上的營養標籤,從而作出知情的選擇。

抗菌素殘餘

世界動物衞生組織指出,抗菌素對保障人類與動物健康以及維護動物福利至關重要,因此世界動物衞生組織主張負責任和慎重地使用抗菌素。食品法典委員會於 “食品中獸藥殘留的最大殘留限量和風險管理建議”中訂明獸藥殘餘標準。該本地研究針對合成食品(例如午餐肉)中的最高殘餘限量,食品法典委員會最高殘餘限量則適用於原來的動物組織。香港亦採用與食品法典委員會類似做法,即食物所含獸藥殘餘的最高濃度適用於肌肉、肝臟及腎臟等,而不適用於合成食品。一般來說,其他國家的主管當局在對獸藥殘餘的規管上,會將最高殘餘限量應用於原料(即動物組織)。

至於產生抗菌素耐藥性的可能性,單次攝入食物中的獸藥殘餘不大可能導致腸道菌群產生抗菌素耐藥性。此外,現時並無充分證據確定長期從食物攝入低劑量抗菌素殘餘會顯著增加抗菌素耐藥性微生物在腸道菌群滋長。有關風險尚待進一步研究評估。

注意要點

  1. 午餐肉及香腸等加工肉類已被IARC分類為人類致癌物。
  2. 加工肉類的鈉含量通常很高。
  3. 世衞建議,進食肉類的人士應節制進食加工肉類,以減低患上大腸癌的風險。

給業界的建議

  • 嚴格遵守本地規例,包括《食物及藥物(成分組合及標籤)規例》、《食物內防腐劑規例》及《食物內有害物質規例》有關營養標籤、添加劑的使用及獸藥殘餘的規定。

給市民的建議

  • 節制進食加工肉類,以減低患上大腸癌的風險。
  • 閱讀營養標籤,從而作出知情的食物選擇和減低鈉的攝入量。

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 19-07-2017