Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Next Article

Food Safety Focus (124th Issue, November 2016) – Incident in Focus

Salmonella in Vegetable Salad Consumption

Reported by Dr. Fiona FONG, Research Officer,
Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety

In September 2016, the routine Food Surveillance Programme of the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) detected Salmonella in an imported sample of prepackaged vegetable salad collected at local supermarket. This article discusses the risk of Salmonella and risk factors for contamination of vegetables with pathogens.

Salmonella and Foodborne Illness

Salmonella is a group of bacteria that can be found in the intestinal tracts of animals, including domestic pets, livestock and wildlife. Some Salmonella species can cause foodborne illness in humans. Individuals who are infected with Salmonella may suffer from vomiting, diarrhoea, abdominal pain, and fever. Though rare, serious complications like dehydration, septicaemia and death may occur when appropriate treatment is delayed. Human infection typically occurs 12 to 36 hours after its introduction to human, although incubation period of six to 72 hours is reported.

Similar to overseas countries (e.g. Australia, Canada, the United Kingdom, and the United States), Salmonella is an important foodborne pathogen in Hong Kong. According to surveillance data of the Centre for Health Protection of the Department of Health spanning between 2010 and mid-2016, Salmonella was the most common causative agent of confirmed food poisoning cases in Hong Kong, accountable for more than one third of these cases. Salmonellosis is usually associated with raw eggs and inadequately cooked meat and poultry.

Risk Factors for Contamination of Vegetables

Food of vegetable origin, such as vegetables to be eaten raw and fruits (e.g. berries), is also of concern in terms of microbiological hazards (e.g. Salmonella, Escherichia coli (E. coli) and Listeria monocytogenes). The Joint FAO/WHO Expert Meeting on Microbiological Risk Assessment indicated, from a global perspective, that leafy green vegetables (e.g. salad leaves) presented the greatest concern, mainly because they are grown and exported in large volume and are found associated with multiple outbreaks with high numbers of illnesses. Moreover, many of them are grown and processed in grossly diverse and complex manners, ranging from in-field packing to pre-cut and bagged products.

Pathogens such as Salmonella can be found in vegetable salad
Pathogens such as Salmonella can be found in vegetable salad

Salmonella can be introduced and get amplified in vegetables as they move through the food chain. Primary production is probably the main concern area as vegetables are mostly grown and in contact with soil. Undesirable agricultural practices such as using improperly treated animal manure and irrigating with contaminated water may introduce foodborne pathogens like Salmonella and E. coli to the produce.

Besides, vegetables can also become contaminated during processing or by food handlers. Post-harvest activities, for example, holding temperature during storage and transport, may provide opportunities for contaminating pathogenic bacteria in vegetables to increase from an insignificant number to an infective dose.

Actions Taken by CFS

CFS notified the vendor and the importer concerned of the unsatisfactory test result, and instructed them to stop selling the affected product immediately and initiate a recall. CFS also traced the distribution of the affected product, and alerted the trade and the relevant authorities of the exporting country about the incident. CFS would continue to follow up on the incident and take appropriate action.

Key Points to Notes:

  1. Salmonella can be found in the intestinal tracts of animals. Some species can cause foodborne illness in humans.
  2. Similar to overseas countries, Salmonella is a common causative agent of food poisoning in Hong Kong.
  3. Vegetables can be contaminated with pathogens including Salmonella at primary production and/or during post-harvest activities, e.g. processing.

Advice to Consumers

  • Wash vegetables, including those for making salad, thoroughly under clean running water.
  • Avoid opportunity where cross-contamination can take place when handling vegetables that will be eaten raw (e.g. use one cutting board for ready-to-eat food and a separate one for raw non-ready-to-eat food).
  • Consume freshly made salad immediately, or refrigerate it immediately and consume it as soon as possible.
  • Susceptible groups (including pregnant women, newborns, the elderly and people with low immunity), if want to consume salad, are advised to prepare their own salad and consume it as soon as possible.

Advice to Trade

  • Food handlers should maintain good personal hygiene and have good hygienic practices when handling food.
  • Avoid holding chilled ingredients and final products (e.g. salad) at above 4°C for more than two hours.
  • Follow Good Manufacturing Practice and adopt food safety systems such as HACCP in the production of vegetable salad.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 16-11-2016

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦點橫額
回到主頁
下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一六年十月第一百二十四期) - 焦點個案

蔬菜沙律中的沙門氏菌

食物安全中心
風險評估組
研究主任方朗茵博士報告

二零一六年九月,食物安全中心(中心)透過恆常的食物監察計劃,在本地超級市場收集的一個入口預先包裝蔬菜沙律樣本中檢出沙門氏菌。本文將探討沙門氏菌的風險和蔬菜受致病菌污染的風險因素。

沙門氏菌及食源性疾病

沙門氏菌是一類可在動物(包括寵物、活生牲畜及野生動物)腸道中存在的細菌。一些沙門氏菌可引致人類感染食源性疾病。人類受沙門氏菌感染,可引致嘔吐、腹瀉、腹痛及發燒。若未能及時接受適當治療,患者可能出現嚴重併發症,如脫水及敗血病,甚至死亡,但這些情況十分罕見。潛伏期由6至72小時不等,通常在人類受感染後約12至36小時出現徵狀。

與外國(如澳洲、加拿大、美國及英國)的情況相若,在香港,沙門氏菌是主要的食源性致病菌。根據衞生署衞生防護中心的監測數據,在二零一零至二零一六年年中期間,沙門氏菌是本港最常見引致食物中毒確診個案的病原體,佔這類個案總數超過三分之一。沙門氏菌病通常與進食生的蛋和未熟透的肉類及家禽有關。

蔬菜受污染的風險因素

生吃的蔬菜及水果(例如漿果)等植物源性食物亦存在備受關注的微生物危害(例如沙門氏菌、大腸桿菌及李斯特菌)。糧農組織/世衞微生物風險評估聯席會議表示,從全球角度來看,綠葉蔬菜(例如沙律菜)是最令人關注的,主要是由於綠葉蔬菜是大量種植,出口量大,並曾在不同地區爆發多宗涉及多人食物中毒的事故。而且,很多綠葉蔬菜是以複雜多樣的方式種植和加工處理,包括即場包裝的產品以至預先切好的包裝產品等。

蔬菜沙律可能含致病菌(例如沙門氏菌)
蔬菜沙律可能含致病菌(例如沙門氏菌)

沙門氏菌可隨食物鏈進入蔬菜,增加數量。主要關注範疇大概是初級生產階段,因為蔬菜大多在地面生長,會沾上泥土。若採用了不良的耕種方式,例如使用未經妥善處理的動物糞便或以污水灌溉,可能會把食源性致病菌(例如沙門氏菌及大腸桿菌)引入農產品。

此外,蔬菜也可能在加工處理過程中受污染或被食物處理人員污染。收割後的工作(例如貯存及運輸時的存放溫度)可能導致蔬菜中的食源性致病細菌,由小量細菌增加至可令人致病的細菌數目。

中心採取的行動

中心已知會有關商戶及進口商不合格的化驗結果,並指示他們即時停止出售受影響的產品,並進行回收。此外,中心已追查受影響產品的分銷情況,並向業界及出口國家有關當局通報此事。中心會繼續跟進有關事件,並採取適當行動。

注意要點:

  1. 沙門氏菌是可在動物腸道中存在的細菌。一些沙門氏菌可引致人類感染食源性疾病。
  2. 與外國的情況相若,在香港,沙門氏菌是常見引致食物中毒的病源體。
  3. 在初級生產階段及/或收割後工作(例如加工處理)期間,蔬菜均可被致病菌(例如沙門氏菌)污染。

給消費者的建議

  • 以流動的清水徹底洗淨蔬菜,包括配製沙律所用的蔬菜。
  • 在處理生吃的蔬菜時,避免會出現交叉污染的機會(例如使用一塊砧板處理即食食物,另一塊處理非即食食物)。
  • 即時食用拌好的沙律;或即時把拌好的沙律放入雪櫃,並盡快食用。
  • 易受感染的人士(包括孕婦、初生嬰兒、長者及免疫力較弱的人)如想品嚐沙律,建議自行配製並盡快食用。

給業界的建議

  • 食物處理人員應保持良好的個人衞生,並在處理食物時遵從優良的衞生守則。
  • 不應將冷凍的配料及製成品(例如沙律)放置在攝氏4度以上的環境超過兩小時。
  • 在製作蔬菜沙律時,可遵從優良製造規範及採用食物安全系統(例如食物安全重點控制)。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 16-11-2016