Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Next Article

Food Safety Focus (121st Issue, August 2016) – Incident in Focus

Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli Contamination in Prepackaged Flour

Reported by Dr. Fiona FONG, Research Officer,,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Since the initial recall on 31 May 2016, several varieties of flour products have been recalled in the US due to possible contamination with Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli (STEC). Some people, who had eaten or handled raw dough, got sick. The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (USCDC) has reported that as of 25 July 2016, 46 people were infected with the outbreak strains of STEC O121 (45 people) or O26 (1 person). The USCDC and the US Food and Drug Administration (USFDA) are still investigating the outbreak.

Certain batches of the affected products had been imported into Hong Kong. Upon noting of the occurrence the incident in the US, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has immediately instructed the trade to stop selling the affected products and initiate recalls. This article discusses the risk of STEC and the follow-up actions taken by the CFS regarding the incident.

A kid licking raw cookie dough
A kid licking raw cookie dough

What is STEC?

E. coli normally live in the intestines of people and animals. Most E. coli are harmless and actually are an important part of healthy human intestinal tract, but some strains of E. coli can cause diseases through the production of a toxin called Shiga toxin. These bacteria are called STEC but may also be called Verocytotoxin-producing E. coli (VTEC) or enterohaemorrhagic E. coli (EHEC). STEC is an important group of E. coli that can cause severe diarrhoea and has been implicated in many foodborne outbreaks worldwide.

The serotyping of STEC is based on their O antigen and H antigen. E. coli O157:H7 is the most common serotype while others E. coli serogroups, including O121 and O26, are called “non-O157 STECs”. STEC can grow in temperatures ranging from 7 °C to 50 °C, with an optimum temperature of 37 °C. Some can grow in acidic foods, down to a pH of 4.4. It can be destroyed by thorough cooking until the core temperature of the food reaches 70 °C or above.

The incubation period for STEC infection is two to 10 days, usually three to four days. Symptoms of STEC infection include abdominal pain and watery diarrhoea that may in some cases progress to bloody diarrhoea. Fever and vomiting may also occur. A serious complication, haemolytic uraemic syndrome (HUS), occurs in two to 15% of STEC infection cases. HUS, a condition characterised by abnormal destruction of red blood cells, kidney damage and low platelet count, is more common in children under five years of age. According to the Centre for Health Protection of the Department of Health, 12 cases of STEC infection were recorded from 2012 to 2015.

Sources of Infection

Ruminants, especially cattle, are the natural reservoir for STEC. STEC may reside asymptomatically in the intestines of ruminants and may be shed intermittently in faeces. According to USFDA, flour is derived from grains that come from fields directly and is not treated to kill bacteria in general. If animals defecate or urinate in the field, their waste may contaminate the grains, which are subsequently harvested and milled into flour. People should therefore be aware of the risks associated with the consumption and handling of flour and raw dough.

STEC transmission occurs through consumption of contaminated food and water, or direct contact with STEC carrying animals. Person-to-person transmission of STEC is also possible. Raw or undercooked ground meat products, unpasteurised milk and contaminated raw vegetables and sprouts are of particular concern. Consumption of contaminated food may pose a high risk of illness as a low dose of STEC can cause illness in susceptible populations.

Actions Taken by the CFS

Certain batches of the affected products, including prepackaged flour and cake mix, had been imported into Hong Kong. Upon learning the incident occurred in the US, the CFS has immediately advised the public not to consume the affected products, liaised with the US authorities and alerted the trade to stop selling the affected products and initiated recalls. No local food poisoning cases related to the consumption of the affected products have been reported. The CFS will remain vigilant, continue to monitor the situation and take appropriate follow-up actions in a bid to safeguard food safety and public health.

Key Points to Notes:

  1. STEC infection is transmitted by faecal-oral route through contaminated food and water, or direct contact with STEC carrying animals.
  2. E. coli cannot survive under high temperature and can be killed by thorough cooking.
  3. People should maintain good personal hygiene and bake items made with raw flour dough or batter before eating them.

Advice to the Trade and Consumers

  • Wash hands, work surfaces, and utensils thoroughly before and after handling raw flour dough.
  • Be aware of the potential of cross-contamination in food preparation areas.

Advice to Consumers

  • Do not eat or taste raw flour dough or batter.

Advice to the Trade

  • Ensure that the flour and flour products are fit for human consumption.
  • As a precaution, do not serve raw dough to customers or allow children and other guests to handle raw dough.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 17-08-2016

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦點橫額
回到主頁
下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一六年八月第一百二十一期)-焦點個案

預先包裝麵粉疑受產志賀毒素大腸桿菌污染

食物安全中心
風險評估組
研究主任方朗茵博士報告

自二零一六年五月首次回收後,美國至今已回收了數款疑受產志賀毒素大腸桿菌污染的麵粉產品,當地有些人疑於進食或處理生麵團後感到不適。美國疾病控制及預防中心報告指,截至二零一六年七月二十五日,共有46人感染產志賀毒素大腸桿菌(45人受O121型感染,1人受O26型感染)。美國疾病控制及預防中心和美國食物及藥物管理局現正進行調查。

部分受影響批次的產品曾進口香港。在得悉美國生產商回收受影響產品的事件後,食物安全中心(中心)已立即指令業界停止售賣受影響的產品,並展開回收。本文將探討產志賀毒素大腸桿菌的風險及中心對事件的跟進行動。

兒童在舔曲奇生麵團
兒童在舔曲奇生麵團

什麼是產志賀毒素大腸桿菌?

大腸桿菌通常寄生於人類和動物的腸道。大多數大腸桿菌都是無害,而且有助保持人類腸道健康。不過,有些大腸桿菌的菌株會透過產生志賀毒素而致病。這些細菌被稱為產志賀毒素大腸桿菌(又稱產Vero毒素大腸桿菌或腸道出血性大腸桿菌)。產志賀毒素大腸桿菌可引致嚴重腹瀉,是世界各地爆發食源性疾病的元凶之一。

產志賀毒素大腸桿菌的血清型主要依據O抗原和H抗原。O157:H7型大腸桿菌是最常見的血清型,而其他血清型大腸桿菌(包括O121和O26)則統稱為“非O157型產志賀毒素大腸桿菌”。產志賀毒素大腸桿菌可在7oC至50oC的環境中生長,而最佳溫度為37oC。部分產志賀毒素大腸桿菌亦可在酸鹼度低至4.4的酸性食物中生長。只要把食物徹底煮熟至中心部份的溫度達到70oC或以上便可消滅該菌。

產志賀毒素大腸桿菌的潛伏期約為兩至十天,一般為三至四天。受影響的人可能會出現腹痛、水狀腹瀉,甚至帶血腹瀉。有些患者可能會發燒和嘔吐。約2至15%的病人可能會出現溶血尿毒症。此症是一種嚴重併發症,症狀是紅血球出現不正常的分解死亡,腎臟受到損害以及血小板偏低。溶血尿毒症在五歲以下的幼童較為常見。在二零一二至一五年期間,衞生署衞生防護中心共錄得12宗確診受產志賀毒素大腸桿菌感染的個案。

感染源頭

反芻動物,特別是牛隻,是產志賀毒素大腸桿菌的自然宿主。腸道寄生了產志賀毒素大腸桿菌的反芻動物表面可全無症狀,但會間歇性排出帶有該菌的糞便。根據美國食物及藥物管理局的資料,麵粉的原材料是從田地直接採收的穀物,一般沒有經過殺菌處理。如動物曾在田地排糞或排尿,該處的穀物很可能受污染,而這些受污染的穀物最後可能被採收並磨成麵粉。因此,公眾要注意食用及處理麵粉和生麵團的風險。

產志賀毒素大腸桿菌可透過進食受污染的食物、飲用受污染的水,或直接接觸帶有該菌的動物而傳播。該菌亦可在人與人之間直接傳播。市民應加倍留意未經煮熟和生的免治肉類、未經巴士德消毒法處理的奶類,以及未經煮熟的蔬菜和芽菜等食物。進食受污染的食物容易染病,因為只需小量的產志賀毒素大腸桿菌即可令高風險人士患病。

中心採取的行動

部分受影響批次的產品曾進口香港,包括預先包裝麵粉和預先包裝蛋糕粉。中心得悉美國生產商回收受影響產品的事件後,隨即呼籲市民停止食用有關產品,還與美國當局聯絡,並指令業界停售受影響的產品及展開回收。中心暫時沒有接獲因食用受影響產品而食物中毒的個案。中心會保持警覺,密切留意事態發展,以及採取適當的跟進行動,以保障食物安全和公眾健康。

注意要點:

  1. 產志賀毒素大腸桿菌是經由口糞途徑傳播,而進食受污染的食物、飲用受污染的水,或直接接觸帶有該菌的動物是常見的感染途徑。
  2. 大腸桿菌不能在高溫下生存,徹底煮熟食物可消滅大腸桿菌。
  3. 市民應保持良好的個人衞生,並於進食前徹底烹煮或烘焗用生麵團和麵粉漿製成的食品。

給業界和消費者的建議

  • 在處理生麵團前後應把雙手、工作平面及其他用具徹底洗淨。
  • 配製食物的地方應慎防交叉污染。

給消費者的建議

  • 切勿進食或品嘗生麵團及麵粉漿。

給業界的建議

  • 確保麵粉及其製品適宜供人食用。
  • 為謹慎起見,切勿向顧客提供生麵團,或容許兒童及其他顧客接觸生麵團。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 17-08-2016