Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (118th Issue, May 2016) – Food Safety Platform

Putting an Effective Food Safety System in Place –
HACCP for Food Businesses

Reported by Dr. Anna S.P. TANG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Following from the last article on the background and principles of the HACCP (Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point) system, let’s move on to see how this effective system may be implemented in food businesses to enhance and improve food safety.

Applying the HACCP System in Food Businesses

Prevention is better than cure: HACCP adopts a preventive and proactive approach to anticipate the occurrence of potential problems during the food production process and to implement measures designed to prevent the occurrence of these problems. The prime objective of implementing HACCP systems in food businesses is to provide efficient and cost-effective arrangements governing safe and hygienic production, storage, transportation and handling of food.

What are the Pre-requisites for Implementing HACCP?

An effective implementation of a prerequisite programme (PRP) can facilitate introduction of HACCP in food businesses. PRP may be in the form of Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP) and Sanitation Standard Operating Procedures (SSOP). PRP includes some basic activities such as: supplier management, cleaning and sanitation, control of operation and transportation, environmental hygiene, personal hygiene, pest control, staff training and management of traceability system, etc. In the local situation, many elements of the PRP have been covered in the licensing requirements, licensing conditions, and Food Hygiene Code.

Preliminary Tasks in the Development of HACCP

In the development of a HACCP plan, five preliminary tasks need to be accomplished before the application of the HACCP principles to a specific product and process.

1. Assemble a HACCP team: The first step is to establish a HACCP team consisting of individuals who have specific knowledge and expertise of the product and process. Staff with good knowledge of food safety and hygiene such as the food hygiene manager may assemble and lead a team of staff from different job roles familiar with the daily operation. This team will develop a HACCP plan based on the potential biological, chemical and physical hazards associated with the product and the process.

2. Describe the food product and its distribution: The HACCP team first describes the food and takes stock of their own products, and develops an understanding of the work flow including the processing methods and the temperature at which the food is to be distributed.

3. Describe the consumers and use of the food: This step involves describing the normal expected use of the food and the intended consumers who may be the general public or a particular population (e.g. infants, school children, immunocompromised individuals, the elderly, etc.).

4. Drawing a flow diagram: A flow diagram highlighting the main steps of the food production provides a clear, simple outline of the steps involved in the process to understand and evaluate the product and the process flow. Each main step can be further subdivided into more specific steps. Whether to subdivide the main step depends on the particular needs of the food business.

5. Verify the flow diagram: The HACCP team would then perform an on-site review of the operation to verify the accuracy and completeness of the flow diagram and document any modifications as required.


Flow diagram of the production of school lunchbox showing the critical control points (CCP) and their control measures

With the flow diagram in place, the seven principles of HACCP system are applied starting with hazard analysis and determination for critical control points (CCP).

Local Situation

In Hong Kong, various food businesses have successfully introduced HACCP in their operation including food factories for the production of ham, sushi and sashimi, smoked salmon, and school lunchboxes. Some are small and medium sized enterprises. The success of a HACCP system depends on educating and training management and employees on the importance of their role in producing safe food.

Education and Training

Effective training is an important prerequisite to the successful implementation of a HACCP plan. The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) provides a vast amount of resource materials on the designated CFS webpage on HACCP for the trade and public to better understand the HACCP principles and practices. In addition, various food safety guidelines based on the HACCP system are published for food businesses serving specific foods (e.g. siu-mei and lo-mei, sushi and sashimi, “Poon Choi”, school lunchboxes, other ready-to-eat foods such as sandwiches, salads, and snowy mooncakes) and catering services preparing foods for particular populations (e.g. for children and for the elderly). To further facilitate the trade to implement the HACCP plan, the CFS organises a series of Trade Talks and Workshops on HACCP each year. Operators of food businesses which do not already have HACCP plan in place are highly encouraged to make use of the resources to provide training for the staff and to develop a HACCP-based Food Safety Plan, with an ultimate aim to implement the HACCP system. Food businesses which are ready should embark on the HACCP system for food processing so that food safety can be better enhanced.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 18-05-2016

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦點橫額
回到主頁
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一六年五月第一百一十八期)- 食物安全平台

在食品企業推行有效的食物安全系統 ──
"食物安全重點控制"(HACCP)

食物安全中心
風險傳達組
科學主任鄧紹平博士報告

我們在上一期介紹了“食物安全重點控制"(HACCP)系統的起源和原則,這期我們會繼續探討食品企業可以如何利用這個系統來提高食物安全水平。

在食品企業推行HACCP系統

與其亡羊補牢,不如防患於未然。HACCP著重積極預防,事前分析食物製造過程中各種可能產生的危害,並制定各種措施予以防範。食品企業實施HACCP系統,首要目的是在生產、貯存,運送和處理食物各環節中採取既有效率又符合成本效益的措施,確保食物安全和衞生。

實施HACCP有甚麼先決條件?

食品企業要推行HACCP,必須有一套有效的前提計劃。企業可以採用良好製造規範及衞生標準操作程序作為前提計劃。前提計劃包括一系列的基本措施,例如:供應商的管理、清潔及消毒、對製作程序和運送工作的控制、環境衞生、個人衞生、防治蟲鼠、員工訓練及溯源制度的管理等。這些措施有很多已包括在本港食物業處所的發牌條件和規定,以及《食物衞生守則》中。

推行HACCP的前期準備工作

食品企業在針對某項產品和製造過程推行 HACCP計劃之前,首先要做好五項前期準備工作。

1. 成立HACCP小組:建立HACCP計劃的第一步是成立管制小組。管制小組成員應對產品和製造過程非常了解並具專門知識。由熟悉食物安全和衞生的人員(例如食物衞生經理)召集各崗位熟悉日常運作的人員組成小組,並領導組員針對產品及生產過程中潛在的生物、化學和物理危害制定合適的HACCP計劃。

2. 描述食品及其配送方式:HACCP小組應先描述食品的特性及點算企業旗下產品,並了解生產流程,包括加工方法和運送溫度等。

3. 確定食品的消費對象及用途:描述食品在一般情況下的預期用途,並註明消費對象是一般大眾還是特定人群(如嬰兒、學童、免疫力較弱的人、長者等)。

4. 建立流程圖:HACCP小組要按照產品加工的每個主要步驟建立一個生產過程流程圖,並對每一步驟進行清楚而簡單的描述,使每個人都能掌握生產流程並作出評估。每個主要步驟可再細分為多個具體步驟,細分與否視乎個別企業的需要而定。

5. 驗證流程圖:HACCP小組必須到操作現場驗證生產流程,以確認流程圖準確和全面。如有地方需要修改,必須加以記錄。

HACCP的發展歷程
學校午餐飯盒製作流程中的控制重點及相應的控制措施

流程圖準備好後,便可運用HACCP系統的七項原則,開始分析危害,找出需要監控的控制重點。

本港情況

本港已有不同的食品企業在日常運作中成功推行HACCP系統,包括生產火腿、壽司和刺身、煙三文魚和學校飯盒的食物製造廠,其中一些是中小型企業。要成功推行HACCP系統,關鍵是對管理人員和員工進行教育和培訓,令他們認識到自己的崗位對生產安全食物的重要性。

教育和培訓

教育和培訓是成功推行HACCP計劃的先決條件。食物安全中心(中心)網頁上的HACCP專頁載有相關參考資料,可讓業界和市民了解HACCP的原則和運作方法。此外,中心還為出售某些食物(如燒味和鹵味、壽司和刺身、盆菜、學校午餐飯盒,以及三文治、沙律、冰皮月餅等即食食物)的食肆和為特定人群(如幼兒和長者)供應食物的供應商專門編製了相關的食物安全指引。為協助業界推行HACCP計劃,中心每年均會舉辦一系列的食物業界講座及HACCP工作坊。中心非常鼓勵尚未推行HACCP計劃的食品企業經營者安排員工接受這些培訓,然後在企業內推行以HACCP為基礎的食物安全計劃,希望最終能全面實施HACCP系統。而條件成熟的食品企業則可直接把HACCP系統應用於食物生產過程中,以提高食物安全的水平。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 18-05-2016