Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Next Article

Food Safety Focus (117th Issue, April 2016) – Incident in Focus

Pesticide Residues in Vegetables

Reported by Ms Shuk-man CHOW, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In March 2016, a consumer group reported the levels of pesticide residues and metallic contaminants present in some locally available vegetables. While no samples were detected with excessive metallic contaminants, two vegetable samples (one sweet potato and one bean) were found to contain pesticide residues at levels exceeding the Hong Kong limits. The issue has sparked discussions in social media on whether sweet potato is safe to eat.

Dietary exposure risk assessment will be conducted to ensure that any pesticide residues remaining in the crop will not be harmful to consumers before an MRL is adopted.
Dietary exposure risk assessment will be conducted to ensure that any pesticide residues remaining in the crop will not be harmful to consumers before an MRL is adopted.

Are Pesticides Safe to Use?

Pesticides are substances or mixtures of substances intended for preventing, destroying, repelling or mitigating pests. They are commonly used in agriculture to enhance and stabilise crop yield, protect the nutritional integrity of food, facilitate storage to assure year-round supplies, and provide attractive and appealing food products.

By their nature, pesticides are potentially toxic to organisms including humans. Pesticide residue levels tend to decline as the pesticide breaks down over time. Nevertheless, small amounts of pesticides may still remain in or on food even when pesticides are applied in the right amount and at the right time. When farmers use a pesticide according to label instructions and Good Agricutlural Practice (GAP), the residues in crop at harvest do not normally exceed the maximum residue limits (MRLs) established in the place of use and are very unlikely to pose a health risk.

What are MRLs?

MRLs are the maximum levels of a pesticide residue that are legally permitted in or on food when pesticides are applied correctly. MRLs for individual pesticide-food pair are established on the basis of appropriate data, obtained mainly from supervised field trials designed to estimate the level of pesticide residues likely to occur in a commodity or crop when a pesticide is used according to GAP. Dietary exposure risk assessment is conducted with the established residue levels and consumption pattern to ensure the amount of residues consumed will not be a concern to human health before an MRL is adopted (Figure). Since MRLs are set at levels well below the amount that could pose a health concern, a residue level above the limit may indicate non-compliance of GAP but does not necessarily imply immediate risk to consumers’ health.

How are Pesticide Residues in Food being Regulated?

In Hong Kong, the Pesticide Residues in Food Regulation (the Regulation) specifies a list of MRLs/extraneous maximum residue limits (EMRLs) for certain pesticide-food pairs. The presence of any of these pesticide residues in food at levels exceeding the MRLs/EMRLs is not permitted.

If a food contains pesticide residues for which no MRLs/EMRLs have been specified in the Regulation, except for exempted pesticides, the import or sale of the concerned food is only allowed if consumption of the food is not dangerous or prejudicial to health. To decide if consumption of the food concerned is harmful, risk assessment will be conducted to evaluate both the acute and chronic effects on human health.

Since the enactment of the Regulation till 15 April 2016, 141 vegetable and fruit samples out of 58 500 food samples collected by the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) were detected with excessive pesticide residues. The overall unsatisfactory rate of less than 0.3% compares favourably with places such as Canada, the European Union, New Zealand, and the United States. In addition, previous CFS’s Total Diet Studies showed that dietary exposures to the residues of 85 commonly encountered pesticides and some organochlorine pesticides would be unlikely to pose unacceptable health risks to consumers.

Follow-up Action

In response to the detection of two unsatisfactory samples, the CFS had taken follow-up samples for testing and all pesticide residues results were satisfactory. In the past three years, three out of about 600 tested sweet potato samples contained excessive pesticide residues.

Key Points to Note:

  1. The proper use of pesticides in food production improves both the quantity and the quality of food.
  2. Pesticides can be safely used in accordance with GAP.
  3. Occasional intake of food with pesticide residues exceeding the MRLs does not generally pose a health risk to the general public.

Advice to the Trade

  • Local farmers should only use Hong Kong registered pesticides inaccordance with GAP.
  • Vegetable traders should seek clarification from suppliers to ensure the food sold complies with the Hong Kong food law.

Advice to the Public

  • Take a balanced diet to avoid excessive exposure to pesticides from a small range of food items.
  • To reduce pesticide residues in vegetables, rinse vegetables several times under running water, then soak them in water for one hour, or blanch them in boiling water for one minute and discard the water.
  • For those who would like to further reduce pesticide residues in vegetables, remove the outer leaves or peel of the vegetables as appropriate.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 20-04-2016

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦點橫額
回到主頁
下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一六年四月第一百一十七期)-焦點個案

蔬菜中的除害劑殘餘

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任周淑敏女士報告

二零一六年三月,某消費者團體發表本港部分蔬菜的除害劑殘餘(俗稱農藥)和金屬污染物測試報告。報告指雖然全部樣本的金屬污染物含量都沒有超標,但有兩個蔬菜樣本(分別是番薯和玉豆)的除害劑殘餘量超標。事件引發市民在社交媒體上討論食用番薯是否安全。

最高殘餘限量在正式採用前會進行膳食攝入量風險評估,以確保殘留在農作物的除害劑不會危害消費者健康。
最高殘餘限量在正式採用前會進行膳食攝入量風險評估,以確保殘留在農作物的除害劑不會危害消費者健康。

使用除害劑是否安全?

除害劑是用來防治、殺滅、驅趕或減少有害生物的單種或混合物質。使用除害劑為農業上常見的做法,作用是增加和穩定農產量;保存食物的營養;使食物容易貯存以供應全年所需;以及使食品外觀更為吸引和受歡迎。

除害劑本身對生物(包括人類)具有潛在毒性。殘留的除害劑會隨着時間逐漸分解而愈來愈少。但是,即使在適當時間施用適當分量的除害劑,農作物仍不免會留有小量除害劑。農民如遵照標籤指示及優良務農規範適當地使用除害劑,在收割時殘留在農作物的除害劑分量一般不會超過當地的最高殘餘限量,對健康的影響微乎其微。

什麼是最高殘餘限量?

最高殘餘限量是指在正確使用除害劑的前提下,食物中除害劑殘餘的最高法定准許含量。不同“除害劑-食物”組合的最高殘餘限量主要是根據受監督的田間試驗所得的數據而制定。田間試驗的目的是找出按照優良務農規範施用的除害劑會有多少殘留在食品或農作物。最高殘餘限量在正式採用前,還會按照該殘除限量和有關食物的消費量進行膳食攝入量風險評估,以確保人們所攝取的除害劑殘餘不會影響健康(見圖)。由於最高殘餘限量遠低於對健康構成影響的分量,即使除害劑殘餘高於限量,並不表示公眾健康會有即時危險,而是反映業界沒有嚴格遵守優良務農規範。

如何規管食物內的除害劑殘餘?

《食物內除害劑殘餘規例》(《規例》)列明某些“除害劑-食物”組合的最高殘餘限量/最高再殘餘限量,超過即屬違法。

如食物含有《規例》沒有指明最高殘餘限量/最高再殘餘限量的除害劑殘餘,則除獲豁免除害劑外,只有在食用有關食物不會危害或損害健康的情況下,才可進口或售賣。當局會進行風險評估,研究該食物對人體的急性或慢性影響,以確定食用有關食物會否損害健康。

由《規例》開始實施至二零一六年四月十五日,食物安全中心(中心)檢測了58500個食物樣本,其中141個蔬果樣本的除害劑殘餘量超標,整體不合格率不足0.3%,與加拿大、歐盟、新西蘭和美國等其他地區相比,屬於偏低。此外,中心進行的總膳食研究結果顯示,按照本港市民從膳食攝入85種常見除害劑部分有機氯類除害劑的分量,不大可能對健康帶來不可接受的風險。

跟進行動

針對文首所述兩個除害劑殘餘超標的樣本,中心已跟進抽取樣本化驗,結果全部令人滿意。在過去三年,中心檢測了約600個番薯樣本,其中有三個樣本的除害劑殘餘量超標。

注意要點:

  1. 適當使用除害劑可同時改善食物的質與量。
  2. 只要嚴格遵守優良務農規範,使用除害劑是安全的。
  3. 偶爾吃下除害劑殘餘超過最高殘餘限量的食物不會危害健康。

給業界的意見

  • 農民應遵從優良務農規範,只使用本港註冊的除害劑。
  • 菜販應向供應商了解及確保所售食物符合本港法例的規定。

給市民的意見

  • 注意均衡飲食,以免因只進食某幾類食物而攝入過量除害劑。
  • 要減少蔬菜的除害劑殘餘量,可先用流動的清水沖洗蔬菜數遍,然後用清水浸泡蔬菜一小時或放進沸水中焯一分鐘,並把水棄掉。
  • 希望進一步減少蔬菜中除害劑含量的人士,可去掉蔬菜的外葉或削去外皮。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 20-04-2016