Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (112th Issue, November 2015) – Incident in Focus

Toxic Glycoalkaloids in Potatoes

Mr. Johnny CHU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In September 2015, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) was notified of a food poisoning case involving two persons from the same household. They developed tongue numbness and a burning sensation in their mouths immediately after eating cooked potatoes prepared at home on the evening of 17 September 2015. Both sought medical treatment but did not require hospitalisation. They were in stable condition and their symptoms gradually resolved. Solanine was detected in the raw potato sample provided by the household and in a urine sample of one of the victims. The findings were compatible with solanine poisoning. Potatoes are known to contain glycoalkaloids which may induce gastrointestinal and systemic effects if consumed in high amounts. Local consumers are seldomly exposed to levels of glycoalkaloids that cause serious health effects. However, there have been in the past occasional reports of short-term adverse symptoms, usually from eating potatoes that contain elevated amount of glycoalkaloids.

Glycoalkaloids in Potatoes
Glycoalkaloids are naturally produced in potatoes (Solanum tuberosum) and the main glycoalkaloids are alpha-solanine and alpha-chaconine which together account for 95% of the total glycoalkaloid content.

Glycoalkaloids occur in all parts of a potato plant. The highest glycoalkaloid levels are found in flowers and sprouts while the lowest is in potato tubers. According to literature, the total glycoalkaloid content of commercial cultivars of tubers may vary between 10 and 150 mg/kg fresh weight (Figure 1).

Figure 1. Glycoalkaloid contents in different parts of a potato plant, in order from highest to lowest concentration (mg/kg, not drawn to scale)

Glycoalkaloids are found throughout the potato tubers, but concentrate in the sprouts, peel and the area around the potato ‘eyes’ (Figure 2). In normal tubers, glycoalkaloids are concentrated in a small 1.5 mm layer immediately under the skin (i.e. 30 to 80% of the glycoalkaloids are found in the outer peel). According to a study conducted by the CFS in 2007, the glycoalkaloid content (alpha-solanine and alpha-chaconine) of five cultivars of tubers available in the Hong Kong market ranged from 26 to 88 mg/kg fresh weight. While glycoalkaloids were below 10 mg/kg in the flesh of these potatoes, glycoalkaloids in the peel varied between 90 and 400 mg/kg. Hence, with normal tubers, peeling of potatoes will greatly reduce the levels of glycoalkaloids present.

Figure 2. Parts of a tuber with the greatest concentrations of glycoalkaloids

Increase of Glycoalkaloids During Storage
Prolonged exposure of potato tubers to light on the store shelf or at home will stimulate the occurrence of two independent reactions near the surface of the potato tuber: the formation of green colour and glycoalkaloids. The appearance of green colour is called “greening” and it indicates the formation of chlorophyll. Since the formation of chlorophyll and glycoalkaloids occurs side by side, “greening” is considered to be an indication for an increase in the level of glycoalkaloids.

Damage to tubers also causes increased synthesis of glycoalkaloids; hence, damaged potatoes on the store shelf generally contain elevated levels of glycoalkaloids.

Public Health Significance
High levels of glycoalkaloid are toxic to humans. Acute symptoms, which generally occur 30 minutes to 12 hours after ingestion, include nausea, vomiting, stomach and abdominal cramps, and diarrhoea. More severe cases of glycoalkaloid poisoning may be accompanied by a variety of neurological effects (i.e. drowsiness, restlessness, shaking, confusion, weakness, and disturbed vision). However, it is unlikely that humans would eat potatoes containing high, fatal glycoalkaloid doses because glycoalkaloid concentrations above 200 mg/kg are associated with a bitter taste and a burning sensation in the throat and mouth (Figure 3).

Figure 3. Effects of different concentrations (mg/kg fresh weight) of glycoalkaloids

Regulatory Control
Codex has not established any food safety standard for glycoalkaloid levels in food; however, the generally accepted safe upper limit is considered to be 200 mg glycoalkaloids per kg of fresh potato. There is no specific regulation on glycoalkaloids in food stipulated in the laws of Hong Kong. Nevertheless, all foods for sale in Hong Kong must be fit for human consumption.

Actions Taken
Upon the notification of the food poisoning case, the retailer was instructed to withdraw the potatoes concerned off the shelves.

Preventive Measures
While levels of glycoalkaloids in commercial potato varieties are unlikely to cause adverse health effects, improper storage (e.g. exposure to light) or damage to the tubers can lead to rapid production of glycoalkaloids. The increased glycoalkaloid content cannot be significantly reduced by cooking (i.e. baking, boiling, frying, and microwaving) because glycoalkaloids are heat stable and only begin to break down between 230oC and 280oC. Hence, the public is advised to store potatoes properly (i.e. in a cool, dry, dark place). To reduce the amount of glycoalkaloids in potatoes, the public is also advised to peel the skin and to remove the parts of the tuber that show damage, rotting, green colouring and sprouting before cooking. In more severe cases, discard the entire potato.

Key Points to Note:

  1. Glycoalkaloids occur naturally in potatoes and are toxic to humans at high levels.
  2. Glycoalkaloids are concentrated in the peel and prolonged exposure of tubers to light will stimulate the formation of glycoalkaloids near the surface of the potato tuber.
  3. Glycoalkaloids are not broken down by cooking or frying.

Advice to the Trade

  • Display potato tubers in areas with low light intensity. Shut lights off at night over the potatoes, or cover the potatoes with brown paper sacks.
  • Keep potatoes cool and dry.

Advice to the Public

  • Buy on an “as needed” basis to avoid the need for long-term storage.
  • Store potatoes in a cool, dry, dark place.
  • Peel the potatoes before cooking can reduce the amount of glycoalkaloids.
  • Cut away any parts that show damage (cuts and bruises), rotting, green colouring and sprouting before cooking. In severe cases, discard the entire potato.
  • Do not eat potatoes that taste bitter or cause a burning sensation in the mouth.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 18-11-2015

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一五年十一月第一百一十二期)-焦點個案

馬鈴薯中的有毒配糖生物鹼

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任朱源强先生報告

二零一五年九月,食物安全中心(中心)接獲一宗食物中毒個案,涉及來自同一家庭的兩名患者。他們在二零一五年九月十七日晚食用了煮好的馬鈴薯後隨即舌頭麻痺,而且口腔感到灼熱。兩人求醫後情況穩定,無須送院診治,症狀其後亦逐漸減退。調查人員在患者家人提供的生馬鈴薯和其中一名患者的尿液樣本中檢出茄鹼,調查結果與茄鹼中毒的情況吻合。馬鈴薯含有配糖生物鹼(又稱糖苷生物鹼或苷生物鹼),若攝入過量配糖生物鹼可引致腸胃和身體不適。雖然本港市民因攝入過量配糖生物鹼而對健康造成嚴重影響的機會很微,但亦偶有市民因進食配糖生物鹼含量偏高的馬鈴薯而出現短暫不適的報告。

馬鈴薯中的配糖生物鹼

馬鈴薯植株會自然產生多種配糖生物鹼,其中最主要是α-茄鹼與α-卡茄鹼,佔馬鈴薯中總配糖生物鹼含量的95%。配糖生物鹼遍布馬鈴薯植株的各個部分,其中以花和芽的含量最高,塊莖的含量最低。據文獻記載,商業品種的馬鈴薯塊莖的總配糖生物鹼含量由每公斤10至150毫克不等(見圖1)。

圖1.馬鈴薯植株各部分由高至低的配糖生物鹼含量(毫克/公斤,非按比例繪製)

雖然整個馬鈴薯塊莖都含有配糖生物鹼,但以芽、皮和芽眼周圍的含量最高(見圖2)。在正常的塊莖,配糖生物鹼主要集中在薯皮下只有1.5毫米薄的一層(外皮含有30至80%的配糖生物鹼)。中心於二零零七年的研究中檢測了本港市面上有售的五種馬鈴薯,發現其配糖生物鹼含量(α-茄鹼和α-卡茄鹼的總和)以新鮮重量計每公斤由26至88毫克不等,其中薯肉的配糖生物鹼含量低於每公斤10毫克,而薯皮則為每公斤90至400毫克不等。由此可見,只要削去外皮便可大大減少馬鈴薯的配糖生物鹼含量。

圖2. 塊莖中配糖生物鹼含量最高的部分

配糖生物鹼含量在貯存期間增加

馬鈴薯塊莖在店鋪架上或家中如長時間受到光照,表層會分別出現兩種互不關連的反應:表皮變綠和產生配糖生物鹼。表皮呈綠色的現象稱為“綠變”,表示塊莖正產生葉綠素。由於葉綠素和配糖生物鹼同時在表皮產生,因此表皮變綠亦代表了配糖生物鹼的含量有所增加。此外,塊莖受損後亦會大量合成配糖生物鹼,因此,店鋪架上有損傷的馬鈴薯一般含較多配糖生物鹼。

對健康的影響

攝入過量的配糖生物鹼對人體有害。急性症狀一般於食用後30分鐘至12小時內出現,包括噁心、嘔吐、胃痙攣、腹痛和腹瀉;嚴重者更會出現多項神經系統病徵(包括嗜睡、煩躁、顫抖、神志不清、乏力和視力模糊)。不過,我們因食用含過量配糖生物鹼的馬鈴薯而致命的可能性不大,因為馬鈴薯的配糖生物鹼含量如超過每公斤200毫克,味道會變苦,而且會令喉嚨和口腔有灼熱感(見圖3)。

圖3. 不同配糖生物鹼含量(毫克/公斤,以新鮮重量計)的效果

規管情況

食品法典委員會未有就食物中的配糖生物鹼設立食物安全標準,但普遍以每公斤新鮮馬鈴薯含200毫克配糖生物鹼為安全上限。本港法例對食物中的配糖生物鹼並無明文規定,不過,所有在香港出售的食物必須適宜供人食用。

中心採取的行動

中心在接報該食物中毒個案後,已指示有關零售商把問題馬鈴薯下架。

預防措施

雖然商業品種的馬鈴薯所含的配糖生物鹼分量不高,不大可能影響健康,但如貯存不當(如受光照)或塊莖受損,馬鈴薯中的配糖生物鹼會快速增加。配糖生物鹼十分耐熱,在高達230oC至280oC的溫度下才會開始分解,焗、煮、煎炸及微波煮食等烹煮過程均不能大幅減少其含量。因此,市民應把馬鈴薯存放在陰涼乾爽的地方。此外,為了減少馬鈴薯中的配糖生物鹼,煮食前應削去外皮,以及有損傷、腐爛、發綠和發芽的地方。如情況嚴重,應把整個馬鈴薯丟棄不用。

注意要點:

  1. 馬鈴薯天然含有配糖生物鹼,攝入過量配糖生物鹼對人體有害。
  2. 配糖生物鹼集中在薯皮部分。馬鈴薯長期受光照刺激,會在塊莖表層產生配糖生物鹼。
  3. 煮或煎炸都不能消除配糖生物鹼。

給業界的建議

  • 把馬鈴薯塊莖陳列在光照度較低的位置,晚間把馬鈴薯上方的照明關掉,或用棕色厚紙袋把馬鈴薯蓋好。
  • 保持馬鈴薯乾爽。

給市民的建議

  • 有需要時才購買,以避免長時間貯存。
  • 把馬鈴薯存放在陰涼乾爽的地方。
  • 烹煮前先削皮可減少馬鈴薯的配糖生物鹼含量。
  • 煮食前先削去有損傷(切口和瘀痕)、腐爛、發綠、發芽的地方。如情況嚴重,應把整個馬鈴薯丟棄不用。
  • 切勿食用有苦味或令口腔有灼熱感的馬鈴薯。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期:18-11-2015