Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (111th Issue, October 2015) – Incident in Focus

Online Shopping and Food Safety

Ms. Janny MA, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Online shopping has become popular; food/ food ingredients ranging from raw meats, sashimi to sandwiches can be delivered to consumers, from Hong Kong or even abroad, by simply clicking a button. This article addresses the increasing concerns over the microbiological risk associated with food purchased online and the importance of effective control to ensure food safety.

High-risk Foods

Bacteria are ubiquitous in the environment; virtually any food can harbour bacteria. While spoilage bacteria cause taste and smell changes in food which affect the quality, pathogenic bacteria can cause illness and lead to food safety problems.

In general, bacteria can grow rapidly (i.e. one bacterium can double in just 15 minutes and can multiply to over 16 million within six hours!) in high moisture, high protein foods that have not been processed to prevent their growth. Perishable foods are thus prone to deterioration if they are not stored, refrigerated and handled properly within a short period of time.

No matter they are purchased online or from traditional retail stores, ready-to-eat perishable foods, including sandwiches and marinated raw crabs which have been implicated in recent food poisoning outbreaks, are generally of great food safety concern. It is because they will not be subject to further heat treatment before consumption to inactivate any harmful microorganisms that may be present.

High-risk foods purchased online including those implicated in previous foodborne outbreaks
High-risk foods purchased online including those implicated in previous foodborne outbreaks

Control Measures

Upon ordering online, food products are delivered to individual buyers, from miles to thousand miles away. Effective measures to protect food from cross-contamination and prevent bacterial growth particularly during long distance transport are essential to ensure food safety. It is rather difficult for consumers to verify though.

Food must be adequately protected. Perishable foods such as meat and poultry should be wrapped securely to maintain quality and to prevent meat juices from getting onto other foods. Containers for transporting foods should be kept in an appropriate state of cleanliness, repair and condition. Effective cleaning and disinfection should take place between loads if the same container is used for transporting different foods. Where appropriate, particularly in bulk transport, containers shouldbe designated and marked for food-use only and be used only for that purpose.

Noting that inadequate food temperature control is one of the most common causes of foodborne illness or food spoilage, systems should be in place to ensure that temperature is controlled effectively i.e. keep refrigerated foods at 4°C or below, frozen foods at or below -18°C. Pack perishable foods in an insulated box with a cold source or in a cool bag to maintain a proper storage environment where necessary. Make sure perishable foods are not held at 4°C-60°C for a prolonged period i.e. for more than 4 hours. If they are, they should be discarded.

Key Points to Note

  1. Ready-to-eat perishable foods, regardless they are purchased online or from traditional retail stores, are of high food safety risk.
  2. Like those sold in the tradition manner, it is essential to protect perishable foods sold online from contamination and follow strict time/ temperature control throughout the supply chain.
  3. Food businesses involved in the preparation of food for sale or the sale of restricted foods such as sashimi, sushi, oysters to be eaten raw and chilled meat are required to obtain relevant licences/restricted food permits from the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD).

Advice to the Public

  • Pay attention to the nature and potential risks associated with the food items if you intend to purchase online. Susceptible populations, e.g., the elderly, young children, pregnant women and people with weakened immune systems should take extra precautions.
  • Patronise reliable licensed food premises/holders of restricted food permits, especially when buying high-risk foods such as oysters to be eaten raw, sushi and sashimi etc. Ask the operator to provide information about their licensing status or identity and verify such information through the website of the FEHD.
  • Consider whether the high-risk foods purchased online can be kept at a safe temperature during transportation.
  • Transactions made outside Hong Kong might be subject to risk. For instance, the coverage of consumer protection abroad can be different from that in Hong Kong.

Advice to the Trade

  • Sale activities online, like in the conventional business mode, are regulated by relevant legislation in Hong Kong, including food safety and food business regulations pertaining to the importation, advertisement and sale of food products.
    • All food for sale must be fit for human consumption.
    • An import licence from the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) is required for the importation of chilled/frozen meat or chilled/ frozen poultry meat.
    • Application to the CFS for importation of milk, milk beverage or frozen confection from approved sources of manufacture outside Hong Kong is also required.
    • Ensure the requirements on food labelling under the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations (Cap. 132W) regarding the sale, advertisement and display of food are complied with, if prepackaged foods are to be sold online.
    • Any person who carries on a food importation or distribution business must register as a food importer or a food distributor and keep records relating to the movements of food as stipulated in the Food Safety Ordinance (Cap. 612).
    • It is an offence to prepare food for sale without a valid food factory or other forms of licences issued by the FEHD.
    • It is an offence to sell or offer to sell restricted food, such as chilled/frozen meat, poultry and fish, oysters to be eaten raw, sushi and sashimi, without relevant permission granted by the FEHD.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 21-10-2015

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一五年十月第一百一十一期) - 焦點個案

網購與食物安全

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任馬嘉明女士報告

近年網上購物漸趨流行,消費者足不出戶,只須動一動按鍵,便可在網上訂購並收到來自本港以至海外的各種食品/食材,包括生肉、刺身和三文治等。本文將探討網購食品的微生物風險,以及採取有效措施確保食物安全的重要性。

高風險食物

細菌在周圍環境中無處不在,幾乎任何食物都藏有細菌。腐敗細菌令食物的味道和氣味改變,影響食物品質;而致病細菌則會引致疾病,造成食物安全問題。

一般而言,水分含量高的高蛋白食物如果未經防菌處理,細菌會繁殖得很快(一個細菌只需15分鐘便可翻一番,六小時內更可增至1600萬個以上!)因此,易腐食品如果沒有盡快以適當的方式貯存、冷藏和處理,很容易變壞。

近期有多宗食物中毒事故涉及三文治和醃製生蟹等即食的易腐食品。由於這類食品在食用前沒有經過加熱去殺滅食物中可能存在的有害微生物,故存在很大的食物安全隱憂,無論是購自互聯網還是傳統的店鋪,均屬高風險食物。

包括涉及近期多宗食物中毒事故的高風險網購食品
包括涉及近期多宗食物中毒事故的高風險網購食品

管控措施

消費者在網上訂購食品後,網商便把食品付運,距離或僅數里,亦可是千里之遙。為確保食物安全,網店應採取有效的措施避免食品受交叉污染,以及防止食品在長途運輸過程中滋生細菌,但消費者均難以核實。

網商須採取充分的措施確保食物安全。易腐食品(例如肉類和家禽)須包裝嚴密以保持品質及避免肉汁滴到其他食物上。運載食品的容器應保持清潔,維修妥善和狀況良好。如用同一容器盛載不同的食物,每次載貨之間應把容器徹底清潔和消毒。如有需要,尤其是在大量運輸的情況下,應安排專門運載食物的容器,並加上標記。運載食物的容器不能用以運載其他貨物。

食物的溫度控制不當是導致食源性疾病或食物腐壞最常見的原因之一。因此,必須有制度確保溫度控制得宜(冷凍食物存於4oC或以下,冷藏食物存於-18oC或以下)。視乎情況需要,易腐食品應放在具備冷源的保溫箱或冰袋內,以提供適切的貯存環境。易腐食品不應長時間放在4oC至60oC的環境中,若超過4小時,便應把食品棄掉。

注意要點

  1. 即食的易腐食品,無論是購自互聯網還是傳統店鋪,均屬高風險食物。
  2. 網上出售的易腐食品應與在傳統店鋪售賣的一樣避免受到污染,並在整個供應鏈均採取嚴格的時間/溫度控制。
  3. 食物業如涉及配製食物出售或售賣限制出售食物(如刺身、壽司、供不經烹煮而食用的蠔和冰鮮肉類),須向食物環境衞生署(食環署)申領相關的牌照/售賣限制出售食物許可證。

給市民的建議

  • 在網上購買食物時要留意食物的性質和潛在風險。長者、幼童、孕婦和免疫力較弱的人等高危人士更應加倍注意。
  • 購買食物,特別是供不經烹煮而食用的蠔、壽司和刺身等高風險食物時,應光顧可靠及領有牌照/售賣限制出售食物許可的食物業處所。並要求營運者提供其牌照狀況或證明,並於食環署網頁核實有關資料。
  • 考慮網上購買的高風險食物在運送途中能否一直保持於安全溫度。
  • 應留意在香港以外所進行的交易或會帶有風險,例如海外給予消費者的保障範圍可能跟香港的有所不同。

給業界的建議

  • 網上的銷售活動與傳統的銷售業務模式一樣受到香港法例監管,包括與進口、宣傳及銷售食品相關的食物安全及食物業規例。
    • 所有出售的食物必須適宜供人食用。
    • 外地進口冰鮮/冷藏肉類或冰鮮/冷藏禽肉,須向食物安全中心(中心)申請進口許可證。
    • 從外地進口奶類、奶類飲品或冰凍甜點,亦須向中心申請,才可輸入已獲批准的來源地的產品。
    • 如果網店出售的是預先包裝食物,商戶便應確保在銷售、宣傳或展示該食品時符合《食物及藥物(成分組合及標籤)規例》(第132W章)中有關食品標籤的規定。
    • 任何從事食物進口或分銷業務的人士,都必須根據《食品安全條例》(第612章)的規定,登記成為食物進口商或分銷商,並備存食物進出紀錄。
    • 任何人配製食物出售而未持有食環署簽發的有效食物製造廠或其他有關的牌照,即屬違法。
    • 任何人未經食環署准許售賣或要約出售限制出售的食物(例如冰鮮/冷藏肉類家禽和魚類;供不經烹煮而食用的蠔;刺身和壽司等),即屬違法。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 21-10-2015