Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (110th Issue, September 2015) – Incident in Focus

Cyanides and Food Safety

Mr. Johnny CHU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

On 12 August 2015, massive explosions devastated a warehouse holding containers of dangerous chemicals in Tianjin. The public are worried that these chemicals, especially cyanides, might pollute the air, the water and the food in the area. This article discusses the occurrence, safety and regulations of cyanides in foods.

Cyanides and Their Occurrence in Foods

Hydrogen cyanide (a colourless gas) and potassium cyanide (a solid) are common examples of cyanides and a solution of hydrogen cyanide in water is called hydrocyanic acid. Cyanides enter air, water, and soil from natural processes (e.g. volcanoes, wildfire and microbiological activities) and industrial activities (e.g. electroplating, gold mining, production of textiles and plastics, etc.).

Cyanides seldom persist in surface waters and soils because at pH < 9.2, most cyanides in solution will evaporate as gaseous hydrogen cyanide and some will be transformed into less harmful chemicals (e.g. carbon dioxide and ammonia) by microorganisms, or will form complexes with metals. Cyanides are toxic to plants; however, not much is known about the uptake of cyanides into plants. Being a weak acid, hydrogen cyanide, when deposited a lot on wet surfaces of vegetables and fruits, may cause burning, wilting or discolouration, making these products unmarketable.

A simplified diagram showing the environmental fate of cyanides
A simplified diagram showing the environmental fate of cyanides .

Cyanide-containing substances occur naturally in over 2 000 plant species; some of these are food plants such as bamboo shoots, cassavas and seeds or stones of apples, apricots, pears, plums, prunes, cherries, peaches, etc. In these plants, cyanides are bound to sugar molecules in the form of cyanogenic glycosides. Cyanogenic glycosides per se are relatively non-toxic; however, they are converted into toxic hydrogen cyanide in the intestinal tract. Young children are more susceptible and chewing only a few seeds of these plants may cause cyanide poisoning. Cooking cyanogenic plants thoroughly in boiling water can effectively reduce their toxicity levels.

Cyanide Fishing

Despite being illegal in most countries, cyanide fishing, whereby divers squirt cyanide into reef crevices to stun fish without killing them, is reportedly practised in some regions. The captured fish is mainly for the marine aquarium trade and sometimes for human consumption. Although there is no evidence of poisoning of people who eat cyanide-caught fish, the use of cyanide to catch fish kills other organisms in the ecosystem, leading to massive coral reef destruction.

Cyanides are toxic to living organisms at very low concentrations and fish is the most cyanide-sensitive group of aquatic organisms reported in the literature. Nonetheless, cyanides in water do not bioaccumulate in living organisms including fish, probably owing to their rapid transformation. The most frequent cause of cyanide poisoning in livestock is through ingestion of plants containing cyanogenic glycosides. However, according to the European Food Safety Authority, provided the animal is not intoxicated with hydrogen cyanide, the levels in meat, eggs or milk intended for human consumption can be expected to be very low in all food producing animals.

Public Health Significance

Cyanides are toxic to humans and animals due to their ability to inhibit cell respiration. Acute toxicity in human is characterised by symptoms such as vomiting, nausea, headache, dizziness, difficulty in vision, slow heart rate, convulsion, respiratory failure and may finally result in death. Symptoms of short term effects usually occur within minutes after breathing cyanides or eating foods that contain them.

Regulatory Control

Codex Alimentarius Commission has established maximum levels of 10 mg/kg and 2 mg/kg (as hydrocyanic acid) for cassava flour and gari respectively. In EU, the maximum permitted levels of hydrocyanic acid are 50 mg/kg in nougat and marzipan, 35 mg/kg in alcoholic beverages and 5 mg/kg in canned stone fruits. There is no specific regulation on cyanide in foods stipulated in the laws of Hong Kong; nevertheless, all foods for sale in Hong Kong must be fit for human consumption.

Actions Taken

Regarding the explosions in Tianjin, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has been maintaining close contact with the relevant Mainland authorities; no vegetables, fruits or live edible aquatic animals from registered farms in Tianjin have been exported to Hong Kong since early this year. CFS’ information also shows that no cattle have been imported from Tianjin since the explosion incident. To allay public concerns, the CFS also took 20 samples (e.g. vegetables and fruits) originating from areas around Tianjin for testing and cyanide was not detected in any of these samples.

Key Points to Note

  • Most cyanides in water or in soils will evaporate into the air in the form of gaseous hydrogen cyanide.
  • Cyanides do not bioaccumulate in living organisms or persist in the environment.
  • Cyanide-containing substances occur naturally in some food plants.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Keep vigilance to issues related to food safety and obtain food supplies from reliable sources.
  2. Ensure foods imported or for sale are fit for human consumption and comply with legal standards.

Advice to the Public

  1. Maintain a balanced diet so as to avoid excessive exposure to harmful substances from a small range of food items.
  2. Handle cyanogenic food plants with care to reduce the risk of poisoning:
(i) Cut cyanogenic food plants (e.g. bamboo shoots) into small pieces and cook them thoroughly in boiling water;
(ii) Do not eat or chew seeds or stones of apples, apricots, pears, plums, etc.

 

 

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 16-09-2015

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點二零一五年九月第一百一十期 - 焦點個案

氰化物與食物安全

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任朱源强先生報告

二零一五年八月十二日,天津一個貯存危險化學品的倉庫發生大爆炸,市民擔心當地的空氣、水和食物會被這些化學品,尤其是氰化物污染。本文將就食物中的氰化物,其安全性及規管情況作一探討。

食物中的氰化物

氰化氫(一種無色氣體)和氰化鉀(一種固體)都是常見的氰化物。當氰化氫溶於水時稱為氫氰酸。氰化物會由自然過程(如火山、山火及微生物活動等)及工業活動(如電鍍、冶金、紡織品及塑膠生產等)進入空氣、水和土壤。

氰化物很少留在水和土壤中,原因是大部分液態氰化物在酸鹼度低於9.2時都會揮發成氰化氫,另外有部分會被微生物轉化為毒性較低的化學物(如二氧化碳和氨)或與金屬形成複合物。氰化物對植物有毒,但目前對植物攝入氰化物的情況所知不多。氰化氫是弱酸,當蔬果濕潤的表面留有大量氰化氫時,會對蔬果造成腐蝕、凋萎和變色,令產品的賣相欠佳。

 

氰化物在環境中的去向簡圖

氰化物在環境中的去向簡圖

含氰化物的物質天然存在於2000多種植物中,其中有些是食用植物,例如竹筍、木薯及蘋果、杏、梨、李子(布冧)、梅、櫻桃、桃等的種子和果核。在這些植物中,氰化物通常與糖分子結合,並以氰甙的形式存在。氰甙本身可說是沒有毒性的,不過無毒的氰甙在腸道中會被分解為有毒的氰化氫。兒童是較易受影響的一羣,他們只須咀嚼幾顆這些植物的種子,便可能會中氰化物毒。用沸水徹底烹煮含氰甙的植物,可有效地降低毒素。

氰化物捕魚法

使用氰化物捕魚在大部分國家是違法的,但在一些地區仍然禁之不絕。潛水員把氰化物噴進珊瑚礁叢中,令魚失去知覺而被活捉。捕獲的魚主要供應給水族館,部分成為人類的盤中餐。雖然沒有證據顯示食用以這種方法捕獲的魚會中毒,但使用氰化物捕魚會殺死生態系統中的其他生物,並對珊瑚礁造成嚴重損害。

極小量的氰化物就能令生物中毒,據文獻記載魚是對氰化物最敏感的海洋生物。不過,水中的氰化物可能因為迅速轉化的關係,不會在生物(包括魚)體內積聚。引致家畜氰化物中毒最常見的原因是吃了含氰甙的植物。歐洲食物安全局指出,只要動物不是氰化氫中毒,肉類、蛋或奶類中的氰化物含量應是極小的。

對健康的影響

氰化物會抑制細胞的呼吸作用,因而對人類和動物有害。人類氰化物急性中毒的症狀包括嘔吐、噁心、頭痛、頭昏眼花、心搏徐緩、抽搐、呼吸衰竭,最終可導致死亡。短期症狀通常於吸入氰化物或吃下含氰化物的食物後數分鐘內出現。

規管情況

食品法典委員會對木薯粉和加里(英文名稱為gari,一種用木薯粉製成的非洲食品)中氫氰酸的最高限值分別為每公斤10毫克及每公斤2毫克。在歐盟,氫氰酸在鳥結糖和杏仁糖膏中的最高准許含量是每公斤50毫克;酒精類飲品是每公斤35毫克;罐裝核果則是每公斤5毫克。本港法例對食物中的氰化物並無明文規定,不過,所有在香港出售的食物必須適宜供人食用。

中心採取的行動

食物安全中心(中心)一直就天津爆炸事故與內地有關部門保持密切聯繫。天津的供港註冊農場自今年年初起並無蔬果或活生水產到港。中心資料顯示,天津自爆炸事故後並無向本港供應牛隻。為釋公眾疑慮,中心已抽驗天津鄰近地區出產的20個供港食品樣本(包括蔬菜和水果),所有樣本均不含氰化物。

注意要點

  • 大部分水中或土壤中的氰化物都會以氰化氫的形式揮發到空氣中。
  • 氰化物不會在生物體內積聚,也不會持續存在環境中。
  • 一些食用植物天然存在含氰化物的物質。給業界的建議

給業界的建議

  1. 密切留意有關食物安全的訊息,並向可靠的來源採購食物和配料。
  2. 確保所出售或進口的食品適宜供人食用,並符合本港法例標準。

給市民的建議

  1. 保持均衡飲食,以免因偏食幾類食品而過量攝取有害的物質。
  2. 小心處理含氰甙的食用植物,以減低中毒風險:
(i) 把含氰甙的植物(如竹筍)切成小塊,並以沸水徹底烹煮;
(ii) 切勿進食或咀嚼蘋果、杏、梨、李子等水果的種子和果核。

 

 

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 16-09-2015