Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (109th Issue, August 2015) – Food Safety Platform

Monosodium Glutamate (MSG): Use it or Loathe it? (Part II)

Reported by Ms. Michelle CHAN, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In the last issue, we discussed the nature, uses and food safety of monosodium glutamate (MSG). In this issue, let us look into the role of MSG in sodium intake and labelling issues of MSG.

Use MSG as One of the Possible Ways to Reduce the Need for Salt
From a culinary perspective, salt (sodium chloride) has its desirable properties including enhancing the positive sensory attributes of food. However, as a major sodium contributor in diet, the amount of salt added to food should be controlled because excessive sodium intake is associated with increased risk of hypertension, stroke and cardiovascular diseases. While abrupt absence of salt in food can make food less appealing, reduction of dietary sodium intake relies on modification of the salt taste. Besides gradual reduction of salt in food, other possible strategies include, but are not limited to, modification of size of salt particles, use of salt substitutes and replacement of salt with ingredients having other flavours. In addition to herbs and spices, MSG is another example of flavour enhancer to replace some of the salt in food.

Salt Versus MSG
You may be aware that both salt and MSG are sodium-containing compounds. Comparing to salt, MSG contains one-third the amount sodium as its counterpart. Whilst salt contains about 39 per cent of sodium, MSG contains
about 12 per cent sodium.

As a flavour enhancer, MSG imparts “umami” taste as well as a salt taste to food. When used in combination with a small amount of salt during food preparation, MSG has been reported to reduce the total amount of sodium in a recipe by 20 to 40 per cent. Studies have shown that it is possible to maintain food palatability with a lowered overall sodium level when MSG is substituted for some of the salt in soups. In those cases, the amount of MSG added to food is less than the quantity of salt being removed from it.

Nevertheless, same as salt and other sodium containing seasonings, MSG is a source of sodium in our diet. While small amounts of MSG can be used as flavour enhancer in some kinds of food, for example, not more than one teaspoon of MSG per kilogram of meat or half teaspoon per four to six servings of vegetables, adding more contributes little or no improvement in taste. All in all, from both health and technological points of view, if MSG is added to food, a minimum amount of MSG should be used to serve its flavour-enhancing properties.

Labelling of MSG
Consumers can make informed choices by reading the food labels on prepackaged food. Under local regulation, if MSG is added to prepackagedfood, it is required to list out its specific name (i.e. monosodium glutamate) or identification number (i.e. 621 or E621) together with its functional class (flavour enhancer) in the ingredient list on the food label.

Different labelling formats of monosodium glutamate
Different labelling formats of monosodium glutamate

Glutamic acid and its salts including MSG can naturally occur in ingredients such as hydrolysed vegetable protein, autolysed yeast, yeast extract, etc. If any of these names show up in the ingredient list, you will know that glutamate-containing ingredients are present in the food.

The food trade is required by local regulation to make sure that information on the food label is accurate and not misleading. Food that contains added or naturally occurring MSG should not make “No MSG” claim. As “No added MSG” claim may leave the consumers with the impression that MSG is not present in the food, such a claim is undesirable for food with ingredients that naturally contain MSG.

Advice to the Trade

1.   
Reformulate products with less salt and sodium-containing seasonings.
2.   
On occasion that MSG is added to replace some salt in food, use it in accordance with Good Manufacturing Practice to limit the quantity to the lowest level for achieving flavour-enhancing effect.
3.   
Observe the regulatory requirement under the local legislation on labelling of food additives including MSG.

Advice to the Public

1.   
Reduce the amount of salt/sodium-containing seasonings added to food when cooking and at the table.
2.   
Consider using herbs and spices (e.g. chili, ginger) and glutamate rich ingredients (e.g. tomato, mushroom) to enhance the flavour of food.
3.   
Read the food label to make informed choices.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 19-08-2015

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一五年月第一百零期)-食物安全平台

味精:用它還是厭惡它? ( 下篇)

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任陳家茵女士報告

上期我們介紹了穀氨酸一鈉(俗稱味精)的特性、用途和食物安全問題。這期我們會探討味精在攝取鈉方面的角色和味精的標籤事宜。

使用味精作為減少用鹽的方法之一

鹽(氯化鈉)對於烹飪有許多用處,包括令食物變得更加美味。但鹽是我們從飲食中攝取鈉的主要來源,而身體攝入過量的鈉會增加患上高血壓、中風和心血管疾病的風險,所以我們必須控制添加在食物中的鹽分。一下子完全不放鹽會令食物變得不太吸引,要減少攝取鈉,還得靠逐漸調整食物的鹹味。除了逐漸減少食物中的鹽分外,其他可行的方法包括改變鹽粒的大小,用鹽的替代品及其他味道的配料取代鹽。除了香草和香料外,味精是其中一種用作取代食物中部分鹽的增味劑。

鹽與味精

眾所周知,鹽和味精這兩種化合物都含有鈉。鈉在鹽的成分中約佔39%,而在味精的成分中約佔12%,換言之,味精的鈉含量是鹽的三分之一。

味精這種增味劑能帶給食物鮮味和鹹味。在配製食物時加入味精,據稱能減少菜式的鈉含量20%到40%。有研究指用味精取代湯中部分的鹽,既可減少整體的鈉含量,又能保持食物美味可口。這些研究顯示,在食物中加入的味精分量比減去的鹽分量少。

然而,味精和鹽及其他含鈉的調味料一樣,是我們從飲食中攝取鈉的來源之一。小量的味精能增加部分食物的鮮味(例如一公斤肉放不多於一茶匙味精;四至六份蔬菜放不多於半茶匙味精),但放得過多反而收效甚微甚至起不到作用。無論是從健康或應用的角度而言,如用味精作調味,應放能達到增味效果所需的最低分量。

味精的標示

消費者在選購預先包裝食物時可以先閱讀食物標籤才作出選擇。根據本港規例,預先包裝食物如添加了味精,便須在標籤的配料表上標示其名稱(穀氨酸一鈉)或國際編碼(621或E621)及作用類別(增味劑)。

味精的各種標示方式
味精的各種標示方式

水解蛋白、自溶酵母和酵母萃取物等食物配料天然含有穀氨酸和包括味精在內的穀氨酸鹽。如你在配料表中看到這些名稱,即表示食物含有穀氨酸成分的配料。本港法例規定食物商須確保食物標籤上的資料正確和沒有誤導成分。食物如添加了味精或天然含有味精,便不應聲稱“不含味精”。 “不添加味精”的聲稱會令消費者覺得產品不含味精,如產品的配料本身天然含有味精,作出這種聲稱則為不可取。

給業界的建議

  • 改良食品配方,使用較少鹽和含鈉的調味料。
  • 如使用味精以減少鹽的分量,便應按照優良製造規範,使用達到增味效果所需的最低分量。
  • 按照本港的法例規定,在標籤上妥為標示味精等食物添加劑。

給市民的建議

  1. 煮食和用膳時少用含鹽/鈉的調味料。
  2. 考慮用香草和香料(如辣椒、薑等)及穀氨酸含量豐富的配料(如蕃茄、菇 類等)來提升食物的味道。
  3. 閱讀食物標籤,作出知情的選擇。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 19-08-2015