Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (104th Issue, March 2015) – Food Safety Platform

Scientific Substantiation of Health Claims in the European Union

Reported by Ms. Jacqueline FUNG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Health claims should be scientifically substantiated, i.e. a cause and effect relationship between a food/constituent (e.g. a nutrient) and a claimed effect has to be established according to generally accepted scientific evidence. Places with health claim regulations, such as the European Union (EU), the USA and Australia/New Zealand, have put in place a scheme for health claims evaluation. The European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) has been mandated to evaluate the validity of health claims made on foods in the EU. EFSA has issued several guidance documents to facilitate claims submission and evaluation. This article introduces the EU’s approach to scientific substantiation of health claims by making reference to these documents.

How to Decide Whether a Health Claim is Substantiated?

In order to determine the validity of health claims, two key issues of a health claim are being examined by EFSA. Firstly, a health claim shall be clearly defined, which includes the definition and characterisation of the food/constituent and the definition of the claimed effect. Secondly, a health claim shall be substantiated by scientific evidence, which must include pertinent human studies. EFSA considers that a cause and effect relationship has not been established, if an unfavourable outcome is obtained from any one of the key questions addressing the claim (see Figure).

How to Decide Whether a Health Claim is Substantiated?

How to Decide Whether a Health Claim is Substantiated? (Source: EFSA General Guidance for Article 13.1, 13.5 and 14 Health Claims Evaluation)

Food/Constituent Characteristics

In addition to specifications, such as composition (i.e. ingredients and amounts), physical/chemical properties and microbiological characteristics of the food/constituent, EFSA will take into consideration of the manufacturing process (e.g. batch to batch variability test), stability information (e.g. information with respect to storage conditions, shelf-life, and analytical procedures) and bioavailability data (e.g. absorption studies) when determining whether a food/constituent is sufficiently defined and characterised.

Effect of Health Claims

Only health claims made on food/constituent showing beneficial physiological effects that have been sufficiently defined are permitted. In other words, these claimed effects must be beneficial and measurable by generally accepted methods, such as analytical tests and validated questionnaires (e.g. reduction of LDL-cholesterol concentration, frequency of bowel movement). General and non-specific health claims (e.g. good for heart health, improve gut health) will not be considered by EFSA.

Substantiation of Health Claims

Scientific substantiation is the major aspect of evaluation of health claims. The evidence is weighed taking into account the totality of available scientific data (i.e. including pertinent studies that are in favour and not in favour of the food/health relationship) and the strength of the evidence, which is assessed by considering several dimensions, including:

  • Statistical precision: The statistical significance of a positive claimed health effect to determine whether the effect is real.
  • Consistency: Consistency of the findings across all research of acceptable quality, i.e. direction of effect.
  • Dose-response: The relationship between the amount of food/constituent consumed and the claimed health effect.
  • Biological plausibility: The claimed health effect is biological relevant and supported by evidence showing a consistent association between the food/constituent and the claimed health effect (e.g. mechanism).

EFSA’s evaluation of a health claim is mainly based on human studies. Non-human studies (i.e. studies in animals/in vitro) are supporting evidence for showing the mechanisms/pathways and the biological plausibility of the claim.

Besides the quality of evidence, EFSA will also consider the generalisability (i.e. the translation of research evidence into application on the target population) and the feasibility of consuming the suggested amount of food/constituent in a healthy balanced diet to obtain claimed health effect when deciding whether the assessment is a favourable one. Although safety assessment is not part of the health claim substantiation, EFSA will note the possible adverse effects, if any, in the opinion.

Authorisation of Health Claims in the EU

Under the EU health claims evaluation scheme, EFSA is responsible to carry out scientific assessments, whereas the European Commission (EC) is the official body authorising health claims in the EU. EFSA’s advice forms the basis for authorisation decisions by the EC. In addition, the EC will take into consideration of other issues, such as safety and policy issues (e.g. whether the claim is in line with the nutrition policy) when authorizing a health claim. According to the EU register on health claims, as of March 2015, there are over 250 permitted health claims on the approved list.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 18-03-2015

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一五年三月第一百零四期)-食物安全平台

歐盟對健康聲稱的科學佐證的評審

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任馮慧中女士報告

健康聲稱應具科學佐證,即有公認的科學證據證明某食品/成分(例如某營養素)與聲稱所陳述的效果之間存在因果關係,以及能證明所聲稱的效果屬實。歐洲聯盟(歐盟)、美國、澳洲和新西蘭等已制定健康聲稱規例的地區均設有健康聲稱的評審機制。歐洲食物安全局負責評審歐盟地區內有關食物的健康聲稱。該局就健康聲稱的認可申請和評估事宜發出了數份指引文件。本文將參考這些文件,簡介歐盟在評審健康聲稱的科學佐證時的做法。

如何審核健康聲稱是否屬實?

為確定一個健康聲稱是否屬實,歐洲食物安全局主要會從兩方面作出評審。首先,該健康聲稱必須有清晰的定義,這包括對有關食品/成分的特徵及聲稱所陳述的效果作出清晰的界定。其次,該健康聲稱必須有科學證據支持,當中要包括以人類為對象的相關研究。歐洲食物安全局認為,有關該聲稱的關鍵問題只要有一題的答案為否定,便代表其因果關係未能確立(見圖)。

如何審定某健康聲稱是否屬實?

如何審定某健康聲稱是否屬實?(資料來源:歐洲食物安全局就第 13.1 、 13.5 及第 14 條健康聲稱的評審所發的通用準則)

食品/成分的特徵

歐洲食物安全局在評估一種食品/成分的定義和特徵描述是否充分時,除了審核其成分組合(即配料和含量)、物理/化學特性和微生物特徵等規格細項外,還會考慮生產過程(例如批次間的差異檢測)、穩定性資料(例如貯存條件、保質期和分析程序等)及生物利用率的數據(例如吸收研究)等。

健康聲稱所陳述的效果

食品/成分的健康聲稱所陳述的效果必須是對人體有益,並且界定得非常清晰具體才會獲得批准。換言之,聲稱所陳述的效果必須經過公認可靠的方法證明是有益和可衡量的。這些方法包括分析化驗及使用經驗證問卷的調查(例如低密度脂蛋白膽固醇水平下降和排便次數)。而那些陳述空泛和不具體的健康聲稱(例如對心臟有益,改善腸臟健康等)是不會獲歐洲食物安全局考慮的。

健康聲稱的佐證

科學佐證是健康聲稱的重要評審項目。評審人員會從整體上考慮現有的科學數據(包括支持和否定該食品/健康關係的相關研究),並從以下幾方面分析有關證據是否充分:

  • 數據的精確度:就聲稱所陳述的正面健康效果的統計學顯著性,判斷其是否屬實。
  • 一致性:所有水平達標的研究在效果的趨勢方面是否有一致的結論。
  • 劑量反應:食品/成分的進食分量與聲稱所陳述的健康效果之間的關係。
  • 生物合理性:聲稱所陳述的健康效果具有生物相關性,並且有證據顯示該食品/成分與聲稱所陳述的健康效果之間有一致的關聯(例如機理)。

歐洲食物安全局在評審健康聲稱時主要考慮以人類為對象的研究。非以人類為對象的研究(即動物/試管研究)只能作為輔助證據,證明有關聲稱的機理/過程/生物合理性。

歐洲食物安全局在評審健康聲稱時,除了證據的質素外,還會考慮有關證據是否具類推性(即研究證據是否適用於聲稱所針對的目標人群),以及按均衡飲食的原則,食物/成分的建議進食分量能否達到所聲稱的效果。雖然評審工作並不包括安全評估,但如可能存在負面作用,歐洲食物安全局亦會在意見書上提出。

歐盟對健康聲稱的批核

根據歐盟的健康聲稱評審機制,歐洲食物安全局負責進行科學評估,但歐洲委員會才是歐盟批核健康聲稱的官方機構。歐盟委員會在作出決定時主要參考歐洲食物安全局的意見,但也會考慮安全和政策(例如有關聲稱是否符合營養政策)等其他問題。根據歐盟有關健康聲稱的記錄,截至二零一五年三月,核准清單上有250多個獲准使用的健康聲稱。

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 18-03-2015