Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (4th Issue, November 2006) – Food Incident Highlight

Botulism and Pasteurized Carrot Juice

Following reports of four cases of botulism in the US, both the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) warned the public not to drink Bolthouse Farms Carrot Juice, with “BEST IF USED BY” dates of 11 November 2006 or earlier under Bolthouse Farms, Earthbound Farm and President's Choice brands, in both 450 ml and 1 litre bottles. In response to the incident, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) warned the public not to drink the affected products and urged major local importers and retailers to stop importing or selling the products concerned.

According to the FDA, it appeared to be that the juice the victims drank was not properly refrigerated, which might have allowed the spores of the bacterium Clostridium botulinum to grow and produce toxin under anaerobic condition.

Botulism is a rare but serious intoxication which can be caused by ingesting a potent toxin produced by a common soil bacterium Clostridium botulinum. Initial symptoms of botulism include fatigue, weakness, vertigo, usually followed by blurred vision and difficulty in swallowing and speaking, but diarrhoea, vomiting, constipation and abdominal swelling can also occur. Most victims recover, but the recovery period can be up to many months. The disease may cause paralysis and is fatal in 5-10% of cases.

Food that are improperly processed, low acid (e.g. carrot juice), alkaline, pasteurized and lightly cured foods held without refrigeration, especially those that are in airtight packages, are especially high risk. However, the botulism toxin can be destroyed by heat. Instructions must be followed when handling and storing the above high risk food items, as the processing may not be strong enough to destroy the spores of Clostridium botulinum and improper handling may provide the right condition for toxin production.

Members of the trade and the public should obtain juice product from credible sources. It is important to check and observe the storage instructions of juice products. Pasteurized juice must be kept at 4°C or below. Food suppliers and retailers are responsible for ensuring the food items for sale are fit for human consumption.

Readers may visit websites of the CFS, the US FDA and the CFIA for further information.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :10-04-2008

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印




食物安全焦點(二零零六年十一月第四期)-食物事故點滴

肉毒中毒及經巴士德消毒法處理的甘筍汁

在美國發生四宗肉毒中毒個案後,美國食物及藥物管理局和加拿大食物檢驗局均呼籲公眾切勿飲用最佳飲用日期(BEST IF USED BY)為二零零六年十一月十一日或更前日子批次的Bolthouse Farms450毫升和1公升樽裝甘筍汁。有關產品屬於Bolthouse Farms, Earthbound Farm 和President's Choice三款牌子。食物安全中心(中心)已因應事件呼籲市民切勿飲用受影響的產品,並促請本港各大進口商及零售商停止進口或出售有關產品。

根據美國食物及藥物管理局的資料,患者飲用的甘筍汁似乎未經妥善冷藏,以致可能令肉毒梭狀芽孢桿菌孢子在無氧的環境下生長和產生毒素。

肉毒中毒可因攝入泥土中常見的肉毒梭狀芽孢桿菌產生的劇毒引致,屬於罕見的嚴重中毒。初期病徵包括疲倦、虛弱、眩暈,一般隨後會出現視線模糊,難以下嚥及說話,但有時也會有腹瀉、嘔吐、便秘及腹部腫脹的徵狀。大部分患者均會痊癒,但康復期需時可能較長。此病或會引致癱瘓,致命率為 5%至10%。

未經妥善加工的食物、低酸食物(例如甘筍汁)、鹼性食物、經巴士德消毒法處理的食物、稍經腌製後不作冷藏的食物(特別是密封包裝食物)的風險尤高。不過,高溫可破壞引致肉毒中毒的毒素。處理和貯存上述高風險食物時必須遵守指示,因為加工過程未必足以殺死肉毒梭狀芽孢桿菌孢子,而且不當處理可能提供適合的環境讓毒素產生。

業界人士和市民應向信譽良好的店鋪購買果汁產品,並必須查閱和遵守其貯存指示。經巴士德消毒法處理的果汁必須保存在攝氏4度或以下。食物供應商和零售商有責任確保所出售的食品適宜供人食用。

如欲取得更多資料,讀者可登入中心美國食物及藥物管理局(只有英文)和加拿大食物檢驗局( 只有英文)網頁。

 


上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 10-04-2008