Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (1st Issue, August 2006) – Food Incident Highlight

Food Poisoning Cases Traced to Raw Sea Urchins from the Same Supplier

In July 2006, there were a number of Vibrio parahaemolyticus food poisoning outbreaks related to consumption of raw sea urchins at several food premises. The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) conducted prompt investigations and found that the raw sea urchins concerned all sourced from the same supplier. The supplier was immediately requested to stop distribution of the affected products, and to recall and destroy any remaining sea urchins. In addition, over 40 food outlets were inspected to confirm that the affected products had been removed from the market. At the same time, since the supplier claimed that the sea urchins were supplied from Shenzhen, the CFS informed the relevant authority on the Mainland to take further action. No further cases occurred after control measures taken by the CFS.

Vibrio parahaemolyticus is one of the most frequently isolated food poisoning organisms and can be destroyed by heating at 75oC or above for several minutes. Incubation period is from 4 to 30 hours and usually 12 to 24 hours. The symptoms include abdominal pain, diarrhoea, vomiting, occasionally with mild fever.

The food trade and consumers are advised to purchase all food, especially shellfish, from reliable and reputable suppliers, check the quality of the food and store food at appropriate temperatures. Please visit the CFS website for further details on the incident.

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :13-02-2008

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印




食物安全焦點(二零零六年八月第一期)-食物事故點滴

來自同一供應商的生海膽引致的食物中毒個案

二零零六年七月,有市民在不同食肆進食生海膽後出現多宗副溶血性弧菌食物中毒的個案。食物安全中心(中心)立即展開調查,發現有關生海膽全部來自同一供應商,於是即時要求該供應商停止分銷受影響的食物,並回收和銷毀餘下的海膽。此外,中心職員又巡查了40多間食肆,確定市面上再無受影響的食物。與此同時,由於供應商聲稱有關的海膽是由深圳供應,因此中心知會了內地有關當局,以便採取進一步行動。中心採取各項管制措施後,本港再沒有出現新個案。

副溶血性弧菌是一種常見引致食物中毒的細菌。在攝氏75度或以上,經數分鐘的烹煮可將副溶血性弧菌殺死。副溶血性弧菌所引致的食物中毒潛伏期大約4至30小時,通常是12至24小時。病徵包括腹痛、肚瀉及嘔吐,有時會出現輕微發燒徵狀。

食物業人士和消費者應向可靠和信譽良好的供應商購買食物,尤其是貝類海產;檢查食物的質量以及將食物貯放在適當溫度。如欲更深入了解此事,請登入中心網頁


上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 13-02-2008