Import Control/Export Certification Print Friendly

Import Control and Food Safety Guidelines

Monitoring Pesticides Residues in Food

Pesticide

Generally speaking, pesticides are substances used to kill or control unwanted insects, plants, fungi, rodents or other pests. Insecticides, herbicides, rodenticides and fungicides are some commonly used pesticides. The term also includes substances intended for use as a plant growth regulator, defoliant, desiccant, fruit thinning agent, or sprouting inhibitor and substances applied to crops either before or after harvest to protect the commodity from deterioration during storage and transport.

Use of Pesticides

The use of pesticides contributes significantly to the well being of the people. The production and quality of food are increased through the use of pesticides. The control of disease-carrying pests contributes to the better health of the people. On the other hand, use of pesticides has led to various problems. Some of the pesticides are persistent in the environment and may concentrate through the food chain - from plankton or insects to birds, fish, animals and eventually to human beings. Some of these pesticides were found to exhibit evidence of long-term adverse effects when taken in significant amount. Abuse of pesticides may result in acute food poisoning. The sporadic occurrence of food poisoning caused by consumption of vegetable tainted with pesticides is a typical example.

Locally, the Pesticide Ordinance, Cap. 133 administered by the Agriculture,  Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) provides for the registration and control of pesticides. In accordance with the Ordinance, a list of registered pesticides approved for use in Hong Kong Special Administrative Region is published in the Gazette every year. The list is also available from AFCD for reference.

Pesticide Residues in Food

The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) under the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department is responsible for the overall food sale in Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, be it imported or domestic. In April 2012, the Government has made the Pesticide Residues in Food Regulation (Cap. 132CM, “the Regulation”). The Legislative Council completed scrutiny of the Regulation in June 2012 and the Regulation comes into operation on 1 August 2014.

The Regulation aims to strengthen the regulation of pesticide residues in food to protect public health and promote harmonization between local and international standards. The Regulation specifies in Schedule 1 a list of maximum residue limits (MRLs) and extraneous maximum residue limits (EMRLs) for certain pesticide-food pairs, i.e. the maximum concentration of specified pesticide residues permitted in specific food commodities. Schedule 2 to the Regulation specifies a list of exempted pesticides with no MRLs/EMRLs. These are pesticides that are natural and the residues of which are identical to or indistinguishable from natural food components.

The general principle of the Regulation is that except for exempted pesticides, import or sale of food containing pesticide residues with no specified MRLs/EMRLs in Schedule 1 is only allowed if the consumption of the food concerned is not dangerous or prejudicial to health. Based on risk assessment, CFS will decide whether the consumption of the food concerned is dangerous or prejudicial to health.

Through the Food Surveillance Programme, CFS takes food samples at import, wholesale and retail levels for microbiological testing and chemical analysis to ensure that food for sale is fit for human consumption. This also covers the scope of the Regulation.

Details of the Pesticide Residues in Food Regulation can be browsed from the webpage of Pesticide Residues in Food Regulation.

Enquiry

For further information, please contact the Communication Resource Unit (Tel No.:2381 6096) of the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department.

Back  Back to Top
 
2014 copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 30-07-2014

進口管制/出口驗證 友善列印

食 物 入 口 管 制 及 安 全 指 引

管 制 食 物 中 所 含 殘 餘 除 害 劑

除 害 劑

凡用以殺死或控制有害的昆蟲、植物、真菌、老鼠或其他有害的生物一般統稱為除害劑。普遍使用的除害劑有殺蟲劑、除草劑、滅鼠劑及殺真菌劑。除害劑包括作為植物生長調節劑、落葉劑、乾燥劑、疏果劑或發芽抑制劑的物質,以及在作物收割前後用來防止貯存和運輸過程中產品腐敗的物質。

除 害 劑 的 使 用

除害劑對於人類的福利貢獻良多。適當使用除害劑可以提高食物的質量和減低帶病的有害生物所造成的不利影響,總括來說,人類的健康和生活質素因而得以改善。但另一方面,使用除害劑亦引起不少問題。某些除害劑會在天然環境下歷久不變,經由食物鏈-即透過由浮游生物或昆蟲,轉傳到飛鳥、魚類、動物以至人類的體內。當過量吸入某些除害劑,長遠而言會有礙健康,而不適當地使用除害劑往往會引發急性食物中毒。香港特別行政區不時發生的毒菜事件就是明顯的例子。

香港,漁農自然護理署負責執行的香港法例第133章《除害劑條例》,規定了有關除害劑的登記和管制事宜。根據條例,當局每年均會在憲報刊登已批准在香港特別行政區使用的登記除害劑名單,漁農自然護理署亦可以提供該名單以供參考。

食物中的殘餘除害劑

食物環境衞生署轄下的食物安全中心("中心")負責所有在香港特別行政區出售食物(包括進口或本地生產食物)的安全。在二零一二年四月,政府訂立了《食物內除害劑殘餘規例》(第132CM章,“《規例》”)。立法會於二零一二年六月完成審議《規例》,《規例》已於二零一四年八月一日起生效。

《規例》旨在加強規管食物內的除害劑殘餘,以保障公眾健康和促使本地標準與國際標準接軌。《規例》的附表1列明某些“除害劑-食物”組合的最高殘餘限量和最高再殘餘限量(即指明食品中允許的指明除害劑殘餘的最高濃度)。《規例》的附表2列明沒有訂明最高殘餘限量∕最高再殘餘限量的獲豁免除害劑名單。這些除害劑是天然,及其殘餘物是與天然食物成分一樣或兩者難以區別的。

《規例》的原則是,除獲豁免除害劑外,如食物含有除害劑殘餘但附表 1並沒有訂明相關的最高殘餘限量∕最高再殘餘限量,只有在食用有關食物不會危害或損害健康的情況下,才可進口或售賣有關食物。中心會根據風險評估確定食用有關食物會否危害或損害健康。

中心透過食物監察計劃,會在進口、批發和零售層面抽取食物作微生物測試及化學分析,包括《規例》所涵蓋的範圍,以確保在市面出售的食品適宜供人食用。

有關《規例》的詳細資料可於《食物內除害劑殘餘規例》的綱頁瀏覽 。

查 詢

倘欲查詢其他資料,請致電2381 6096與本署傳達資源小組聯絡。

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 30-07-2014