Frequently Asked Questions Print Friendly

Nutrition Labelling

Nutrition Labelling - FAQ for general public

A.
The Amendment Regulation and Nutrition Labelling Scheme
B.
Nutrition Label
C.
Nutrition Information
D.
Nutrition Claims

A) The Amendment Regulation and Nutrition Labelling Scheme

Q1. What is the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) (Amendment: Requirements for Nutrition Labelling and Nutrition Claim) Regulation 2008 ("the Amendment Regulation")?

The Amendment Regulation introduces a Nutrition Labelling Scheme which covers two types of nutrition information on food labels, namely nutrition labelling and nutrition claims. You will find nutrition label in most prepackaged foods from 1 July 2010 .


Q2. Why introduce Nutrition Labelling Scheme in Hong Kong ?

It can assist consumers in making informed food choices; encourage food manufacturers to apply sound nutrition principles in the formulation of foods; and regulate misleading or deceptive labels and claims.


Q3. What is the mandatory information in the Nutrition Label?

Nutrition label must include the information on energy and seven nutrients specified for labelling (1+7), namely, protein, carbohydrates, total fat, saturated fatty acids, trans fatty acids, sodium and sugars. Furthermore, the nutrition label must list the amounts of any claimed nutrients. In case where there is a nutrition claim in relation to any type of fat, the amount of cholesterol will also be available.

Q4. Why are these 7 nutrients selected to be shown on the Nutrition Label?

The nutrients chosen are those that consumers, health professionals and scientists consider important to your health. Our scheme (1+7) is also in line with the recommendation of the World Health Organization in 2007.

Q5. Will all prepackaged foods bear nutrition label?

Under the Amendment Regulation, some foods are not required to bear nutrition labels, examples are:

  • Prepackaged food in a container with a total surface area of less than 100cm2.
  • Fresh, chilled, frozen and dried fruit and vegetable without added ingredients.
  • Food with insignificant amount (nearly zero) of energy and nutrients specified for labelling such as spring water.
  • Food exempted due to low volume of sales, these products will have specific stickers in circular, square or rectangular shape on the packages to indicate their exemption status
.

Q6. Why do I see food packages with some of the wordings blacked out or covered?

Food products with low sales volume could be exempted from nutrition labelling if they do not carry any nutrition claims. Therefore, some traders may black out or cover the wordings on these products’ packages in order to make their products exempted. Besides, some of the nutrition claims may not meet certain specific criteria as required by the Amendment Regulation. Therefore, traders might black out or cover the relevant wordings on the food packages.

Illustration: Some of the wordings in food packages are blacked out or covered.

 

B) Nutrition Label

Q7. Why should I read nutrition label?

Nutrition label helps you make informed food choice so as to achieve a balanced diet and stay healthy. You can compare food products and choose according to your own dietary needs. For example, people with diabetes can read the sugar contents of the food products to see whether it fits dietary advice of their doctor or dietitian.

Q8. How does a nutrition label look like?

The nutrition information on the nutrition label is presented in a tabular format similar to the one in Fig.1. You can find the label in a conspicuous place on prepackaged food.

Fig. 1. Nutrition Label of Brand A biscuit (Tabular format)

You will see headings like "Nutrition Label", "Nutrition Information" or "Nutrition Facts". Furthermore, contents of energy and the 7 nutrients specified for labelling are expressed as "per 100g" or "per 100mL", "per serving" or "per package".

You will find nutrition label in English, Chinese (simplified or traditional) or in both languages.

Q9. Will nutrition label be presented in other format?

If the food package has a total surface area of less than 200cm2, the nutrition information can be presented in the linear format just like the one in Fig.2:

Nutrition information 營養資料 Per 100g/ 克
Energy/ 能量 440 kcal/ 千卡 (1848 kJ/ 千焦 ) , Protein/ 蛋白質 11g/ 克,
Total fat/ 總脂肪 16g/ 克, Saturated fat/ 飽和脂肪 7g/ 克,
Trans fat/ 反式脂肪 0 g/ 克, Carbohydrates/ 碳水化合物 62 g/ 克,
Sugars/ 糖 2 g/ 克, Sodium/ 鈉 730mg/ 毫克

Fig.2. Nutrition Label of Brand A biscuit (Linear format)

Q10. What are the differences between “per 100g/ per 100mL”, “per serving”, and “per package”?

There are three ways to express the energy and nutrient content in the nutrition label, i.e., by per 100g/per 100mL, per serving or per package.

By expressing the content of energy and nutrients in the same reference amount of food, i.e. by per 100g or per 100mL, you can easily compare the contents of different products. For example, if you want to choose a food with lower fat, you can compare the total fat contents of different products. Suppose product A contains 5g of total fat per 100g, whereas product B contains 3g of total fat per 100g, then product B is the choice if you would like to choose lower fat food.

One serving, e.g. three pieces of biscuit, is the amount of food people usually eat in one sitting. Based on the number of servings you eat, you can determine the energy and nutrient intake with reference to their values expressed as per serving. For example if you double the servings of food you eat, you double the energy and nutrient intake from the food.

When a food product is usually consumed as a single serving, the energy and nutrient content may be expressed as per package, e.g. a small container of yogurt or a can of soft drink. In other words, if you consume the whole package of food/drink, you will get the energy and nutrient content as stated in the nutrition label.

Q11. How is the "serving size" on the nutrition label determined?

The "serving size" of a food product is determined by the manufacturer and it varies among different products and different brands. It tells you the amount of food people usually eat in one eating occasion and is expressed in common household measures such as tablespoon, teaspoon, cup, slice or piece followed by metric unit such as gram (g) or milliliter (mL). You will find both the number of servings and the serving size on a food.

For example, the serving size of Brand A biscuit in Fig. 1 is 5 pieces with a total weight of 50g. The whole package of Brand A biscuit contains 3 serves of biscuit. Therefore, the total number of pieces of biscuit (total weight of biscuit) in the whole package of Brand A biscuit is

= 5 pieces x3 (50g x3)

= 15 pieces of biscuit (150g)

C) Nutrition Information

Q12. Why do I sometimes find two values next to the energy content in the nutrition label?

The energy value of a food can be expressed as kilocalorie (kcal) or kilojoule (kJ) or both in the nutrition label. 1 kcal is roughly equal to 4.2 kJ.

If you want to compare the energy contents of two different products which are expressed differently, you have to do a simple calculation so that the unit of expression is the same. For example, the energy content of 100 g of Brand A biscuit in Fig. 1 is 1848kJ and that of Brand B biscuit is 400 kcal. If you want to choose one with lower energy, you have to do a simple calculation as below and you will find out that Brand B biscuit is your choice.

The energy content of 100g of Brand A biscuit is 1848 kJ

= 1848 kJ/4.2

= 440 kcal

Q13. Why do some products express the amount of carbohydrates as "Total Carbohydrates" whereas some express as "Carbohydrates" or "Available Carbohydrates"?

Amount of total carbohydrates equals to the sum of the amounts of available carbohydrates and dietary fibre. You will find two different ways to present the amount of carbohydrates in nutrition labels. If the label lists the amount of "Total Carbohydrates", you will also find the amount of "Dietary fibre" similar to the one in Fig.3. The amount of "Available Carbohydrates" of the food product is 20.4g (22.8g – 2.4g) upon calculation.


Fig. 3. (Partial) Nutrition Label of Brand B breakfast cereal

If the amount of "Carbohydrates" is expressed in a nutrition label, it means the amount of "Available Carbohydrates" and the amount of "Dietary fibre" may not be available in the nutrition label.

Q14. Why is the total fat value listed in some Nutrition Labels not equal to the sum of the saturated fat and trans fat?

The amount of total fat listed in the nutrition label includes saturated fat, trans fat, monounsaturated fat and polyunsaturated fat that may be present in food.


Fig.4. Nutrition Label of Brand C oil

For example, in the nutrition label of the oil (Fig. 4), the sum of the trans fat and saturated fat is 2g whereas the amount of total fat is 10g. Therefore, this oil has 8g of fat coming mostly from monounsaturated fat and polyunsaturated fat which are not listed in the label.

Q15. Will nutrients other than the 7 nutrients specified for labelling be available in the nutrition label?

In addition to the 7 specified nutrients, you may also find information on other nutrients (e.g. Vitamin C and Potassium) in the nutrition label. If a nutrition claim is made on a certain nutrient on the food product, e.g. high Calcium, you will find the amount of the claimed nutrient, i.e. amount of Calcium, in the label. If the nutrition claim is in relation to any type of fat, e.g. low in saturated fat, the amount of cholesterol will also be available in the label.

Q16. What is Nutrient Reference Value (NRV)?

Nutrient Reference Value (NRV) is derived for nutrition labelling purposes making reference to the recommended intake levels of various nutrients. It is based on a 2000-kcal diet. The set of Chinese NRVs are more applicable for people in Hong Kong and the Mainland because they are derived for Chinese. For example, the Chinese NRV of saturated fat is 20g, it means that based on a 2000-kcal diet, we should aim at eating not more than 20g of saturated fat per day.

There are food products available which are imported from other overseas countries. Instead of using Chinese NRVs, these products may use different reference values, such as Daily Value (DV) adopted in the US and Canada , or Daily Intake (DI) in Australia . Their reference values are derived based on their own people, not that of Chinese.

Q17. There is a column known as %NRV in some nutrition labels. What is it used for?

The column %NRV expresses the nutrient contents on the basis of percentage of NRV per serving or per 100g/mL of food. For example, Brand C oil in Fig. 4 contains 1g of saturated fat per serving; the %Chinese NRV of saturated fat per serving of Brand C oil will be equal to 5% [(1g/ 20g) x 100%]. The %NRV gives you a quick reference of the nutritional value of a food so that you can tell whether there is a lot or a little of a nutrient using a scale from 0% to 100%. A high %NRV means the food contains a lot of a nutrient whereas a low percentage means it contains just a little.

A general and simple rule is to look for foods that have lower percentages of NRV on nutrients that you need to limit e.g. saturated fat and sodium and higher percentages of NRV on nutrients that are good to your health such as dietary fibre.


Q18. Sometimes I notice that the nutrient values listed on the nutrition labels of the same food product bought at different occasions are slightly different. Why does that happen?

As nutrient composition of foods may be different due to variations in seasons, processing practices and ingredient sources, it may lead to differences in the listed nutrient values among different product batches or products with different expiry dates.

Q19. Sometimes I notice that two nutrition labels appear on the same food package, and the nutrient values listed on these nutrition labels may be slightly different. Why does that happen?

Some prepackaged food may have two nutrition labels on their package, of which one is prepared to comply with the new Nutrition Labelling Scheme in Hong Kong and the other one may have been prepared according to the nutrition labelling requirements of other countries/regions. As the requirements of these countries/regions may be different (e.g. the contents of nutrients that can be stated as "zero" in the nutrition label) from those of Hong Kong, the nutrient values listed on the nutrition labels may be slightly different.

D) Nutrition Claim

Q20. Can I believe the nutrition claims on the prepackaged foods?

When the Amendment Regulation comes into operation on 1 July 2010 , the nutrition claims are trustworthy because all food products with nutrient content claim, nutrient comparative claim or nutrient function claim must meet specific criteria. In addition, nutrient function claim e.g. calcium builds stronger bones, to be made on food products must be based on sound scientific evidence so that they are credible for consumers.

Q21. The cereal that I used to have every morning has the description of "high fibre" on the front of the package, is it trustworthy?

When the Amendment Regulation comes into operation on 1 July 2010 , this cereal product must contain at least 6g of dietary fibre per 100g of food before it can claim itself as "high fibre".

Q22. My mother bought a pack of low salt breakfast cereal from the supermarket on the other day. Does it mean the cereal is low in Sodium?

Yes, salt is also known as sodium chloride (NaCl). Sodium may be used as food additives such as sodium nitrate or sodium nitrite whereas some foods including milk naturally contain sodium. If the cereal makes a claim of “low salt” after 1 July 2010 , it must contain not more than 120mg of sodium per 100g of food.

Q23. If Brand A potato chips claims that it contains less fat, does it mean that it is a low fat product?

It depends on the amount of fat as shown on the nutrition label. The phrase "contain less fat" is a nutrient comparative claim. This type of claim compares the energy value or the nutrient contents (in this case, the fat content) in the same or similar types of food, e.g. Brand B potato chips. It does not necessarily mean the food being low in energy or any particular nutrient.

By stating itself as containing less fat, the fat content of Brand A potato chips should be at least 25% less than and at least 3g per 100g of food less than that of Brand B potato chips. You can find the amount of difference next to the claim on the package.

If you want to choose a low fat chips, you have to read the fat content. If Brand A potato chips contains less than 3g total fat per 100g of food, it can claim itself as a "low fat" product.

Q24. Brand C cheese contains 3g of fat per 100g of food and claims itself as low fat. Brand D milk contains only 2g of fat per 100mL of food but it does not claim itself as low fat. Why?

Manufacturers can choose whether or not to put a nutrition claim on their products. Therefore, you may or may not find nutrition claims on the prepackaged foods even though it fulfills the requirement of carrying such claims. For a solid food product to claim as "low fat", it must contain not more than 3g of total fat per 100g of food but for a liquid product to claim as "low fat", it must contain not more than 1.5g of total fat per 100mL of food so Brand D milk cannot claim itself as “low fat”.

Q25. People say we should only choose products with nutrition claims such as "low fat", "sugar free" or "no sodium" in order to have a healthy diet. Is it true?

No. Even though nutrition claims can be used as a quick reference for choosing food, you should also read information of other nutrients in the nutrition label for a nutritional overview of food. For example, reduced fat cookies may be high in energy and sugars whereas low sodium potato chips may be high in fat.

Reading nutrition claim together with nutrition label can help you choose a healthy diet, the ingredient list on the label is also useful. Individual ingredients of food are listed by weight from the most to the least. For example, if oat is put in the second place of the ingredient list, right after flour, of a biscuit, you know that this biscuit may contain more dietary fibre when compared with other biscuit putting oat in the last place of the ingredient list.


Back  Back to Top
 
 
Last Revision Date : 07-01-2010

常見的問題 友善列印

 

營養標籤的常見問題 (公眾篇)

A.《修訂規例》與營養資料標籤制度
B. 營養標籤
C. 營養資料
D. 營養聲稱

A) 《修訂規例》與營養資料標籤制度

問1 《2008年食物及藥物(成分組合及標籤)(修訂:關於營養標籤及營養聲稱的規定)規例》(《修訂規例》 )是什麼?

《修訂規例》旨在推行營養資料標籤制度,而有關制度涵蓋在食物標籤上的營養標籤和營養聲稱兩類營養資料。由二零一零年七月一日起,你可在大部分預先包裝食物上找到營養標籤。

問2 為何在本港推行營養資料標籤制度?

營養資料標籤制度可幫助消費者作出有依據的食物選擇;鼓勵食物製造商提供符合營養準則的食品;以及規管有誤導或欺詐成分的標籤和聲稱。

問3 營養標籤必須載有哪些資料?

營養標籤必須載有能量(Energy)和七種指定標示營養素 (1+7),即蛋白質(Protein)、碳水化合物(Carbohydrates)、總脂肪(Total Fat)、飽和脂肪酸 (Saturated fatty acids)、反式脂肪酸(Trans fatty acids)、鈉(Sodium)和糖(Sugars)的資料,並須列明各種涉及聲稱的營養素含量。如營養聲稱涉及任何脂肪,須同時標示膽固醇(Cholesterol)含量。

問4 為何選擇這七種營養素在營養標籤上列出?

我們選擇的營養素是消費者、醫學專家和科學人員認為對個人健康十分重要的營養素,而我們的制度(1+7)亦與世界衞生組織於2007年的建議一致。

問5 是否所有預先包裝食物都會附有營養標籤?

根據《修訂規例》,部分食物將不須要提供營養標籤,包括以下例子:

  • 包裝在總表面面積小於100平方厘米的容器內的預先包裝食物
  • 無添加其他配料的新鮮、冷凍、冷藏或乾的水果和蔬菜
  • 能量及指定標示營養素含量極低(接近零)的食物(如泉水)
  • 因銷量小而獲豁免的食物;這些食物會在包裝上附有圓形、正方形或長方形的標貼以表明其豁免資格

問6 為何會發現有些食物包裝上的某些字句被塗黑或遮蓋?

銷量小的預先包裝食物可獲豁免提供營養標籤,但包裝上不能載有營養聲稱。因此,有些業界可能會把這類食物包裝上的營養聲稱字句塗黑或遮蓋,以便令這類食物得到豁免。另外,有些食物包裝上的營養聲稱可能未能符合修訂規例的特定條件,因此,業界可能會把有關字句塗黑或遮蓋。

插圖:食物包裝上的某些字句被塗黑或遮蓋。

B) 營養標籤

問7 我為什麼要看營養標籤?

營養標籤可幫助你作出有依據的食物選擇,以便保持均衡飲食和身體健康。你可比較不同的食物,並根據個人膳食需要作出選擇,例如糖尿病患者可查看有關食物的糖含量,以了解是否符合醫生或營養師的膳食建議。

問8 營養標籤是怎樣的?

營養標籤上的營養資料會採用與圖1所示類似的列表形式列出。你可在預先包裝食物上的當眼位置找到營養標籤。

圖1 牌子A餅乾的營養標籤(列表形式)

你會看到“營養標籤”、“營養資料”或“營養成分”等標題。此外,能量和七種 指定標示 營養素含量會以“每100克”(Per 100g)、“每100毫升”(Per 100mL)、“每食用分量”(Per Serving)或“每包裝”(Per Package)標示。

你會找到以英文、中文(簡體字或繁體字)或中英文兼用的營養標籤。

 

9 營養標籤會否採用其他格式標示?

如食物包裝的總表面面積小於200平方厘米,營養資料可採用圖2所示的直線格式標示:

Nutrition information 營養資料 Per 100g/克
Energy/能量 440 kcal/千卡(1848 kJ/千焦), Protein/蛋白質 11g/克,
Total fat/總脂肪 16g/克, Saturated fat/飽和脂肪 7g/克,
Trans fat/反式脂肪 0g/克, Carbohydrates/碳水化合物 62g/克,
Sugars/糖 2g/克, Sodium/鈉 730mg/毫克

2 牌子A餅乾的營養標籤(直線格式)

 

問10 “每100克/毫升”、“每食用分量”和“每包裝”三者有何分別?

現時,營養標籤有三種標示能量和營養素含量的方法,即每100克/毫升、每食用分量或每包裝。

如食物的能量及營養素含量以相同的食物參考量(即每100克/毫升)來標示,你可輕易比較不同產品的數值。舉例來說,如有意選吃較低脂的食物,你可比較不同食物的總脂肪含量。假設牌子 A 食物每 100 克含 5 克總脂肪,而牌子 B 食物每 100 克含 3 克總脂肪,如你希望選吃較低脂的食物,便應選擇牌子 B 。

每食用分量是指人們每次進食有關食物時通常會進食的分量,例如3塊餅乾。根據進食的食用分量的數目(number of servings)及每食用分量的食物提供的能量及營養素含量,你可計算出你所攝取到的能量及營養素的分量。舉例來說,如吃了兩個食用分量的有關食物,你從有關食物攝取到的能量及營養素分量便會增加一倍。

如某食品通常會作一次過食用(例如一小杯乳酪或一罐汽水 ),其能量及營養素含量可以每包裝標示。換言之,如進食整個包裝的食物/飲品,你會攝取到營養標籤所列的能量和營養素分量。

問11 營養標籤上的“食用分量”(serving size)是怎樣釐定?

食物的“食用分量”是由製造商決定的,故不同的食物或牌子會有不同。食用分量說明 人們每次進食有關食物時通常會進食的分量,並先以湯匙、茶匙、杯、片或塊等家居常用的計量單位標示,然後才列出克或毫升等公制單位。你會在食物上找到食用分量的數目及食用分量。

舉例來說,圖1中牌子A餅乾的食用分量是5塊餅乾(總重量為50克),而整個包裝共有3份,因此,牌子A餅乾整個包裝內的餅乾總數(餅乾總重量)是:

= 5 塊 x 3(50 克 x 3)

= 15 塊餅乾(150 克)

 

C) 營養資料

問12 我為什麼有時會在營養標籤上的能量值旁邊找到兩個數值呢?

食物的能量在營養標籤上可以千卡(kcal)或千焦(kJ)標示,又或兩者同時列出。 1千卡大約相等於4.2千焦。

如欲比較兩款以不同單位標示能量值的食物,你須進行簡單的運算以便得到相同的標示單位。舉例來說,圖1中牌子A餅乾100克所含的能量是1848千焦,而牌子B餅乾100克所含的能量則是400千卡。如欲選吃較低能量的餅乾,你須進行下列簡單的運算,方可得知牌子B餅乾才是你的選擇。

牌子A餅乾100克所含的能量是1848千焦

= 1848 千焦 / 4.2

= 440 千卡

問13 為什麼有些食物會把碳水化合物含量標示為“總碳水化合物”(Total Carbohydrates),而有些則標示為“碳水化合物”(Carbohydrates)或“可獲得的碳水化合物”(Available Carbohydrates)?

總碳水化合物含量相等於可獲得的碳水化合物含量和膳食纖維含量的總和。你會在營養標籤上找到兩種不同的碳水化合物含量標示方法。如標籤標示了“總碳水化合物”含量,你亦會找到 “膳食纖維”(Dietary fibre)含量,與圖3所示的類似。在運算後,有關食物的“可獲得的碳水化合物”含量是20.4克(22.8克 – 2.4克)。

圖3 牌子B穀類早餐食物的營養標籤(部分)

如營養標籤標示了“碳水化合物”含量,即相等於“可獲得的碳水化合物”含量而標籤上則未必會載有“膳食纖維”含量。

問14 為什麼部分營養標籤所列的總脂肪值並不等於飽和脂肪和反式脂肪的總和?

營養標籤上的脂肪總量包括可能於食物中存在的飽和脂肪、反式脂肪、單元不飽和脂肪及多元不飽和脂肪。

圖4 牌子C食油的營養標籤

舉例來說,在有關食油的營養標籤(圖4)上,反式脂肪及飽和脂肪的總和是2克,而總脂肪含量是10克,因此,有關食油有8克脂肪主要來自未有在標籤上列出的單元不飽和脂肪及多元不飽和脂肪。

問15 營養標籤會否列出七種指定標示營養素以外的營養素?

除了七種指定標示營養素外,你亦有機會在營養標籤上找到其他營養素(如維他命C(Vitamin C)和鉀(Potassium))的資料。如食物就某一種營養素作出營養聲稱(如高鈣(High Calcium)),你會在營養標籤上找到涉及聲稱的營養素含量(即鈣含量)。如營養聲稱涉及任何脂肪(如低飽和脂肪),膽固醇含量亦會同時在標籤上標示出來。

問16 營養素參考值(Nutrient Reference Value(NRV))是什麼?

營養素參考值是為推行營養標籤而制定的。有關參考值已參照不同營養素的建議攝入水平,並以一個2000千卡能量的膳食為基礎。由於中國營養素參考值專為中國人而制定,故這一組參考值較適合本港和內地居民。舉例來說,飽和脂肪的中國營養素參考值是20克,即表示基於一個2000千卡能量的膳食,我們應以每天進食不多於20克飽和脂肪作目標。

市面上有些食物是來自其他海外國家,它們可能不會採用中國營養素參考值,而採用不同的參考值,例如美國或加拿大使用 Daily Value 、澳洲使用 Daily Intake 。這些參考值是根據該國居民而非中國人來制定的。

問17 部分營養標籤會有“營養素參考值百分比”(%NRV)一欄。此欄有何作用?

“營養素參考值百分比”一欄旨在標示每食用分量或每100克/毫升食物的營養素含量佔營養素參考值的百分比。舉例來說,圖4中牌子C食油每食用分量含1克飽和脂肪,即每食用分量的飽和脂肪含量佔中國營養素參考值的5%[(1克 / 20克)x 100%]。“營養素參考值百分比”可就食物的營養數值提供方便快捷的參考,讓你透過0%至100%的標準得知食物究竟含有大量抑或小量營養素。“營養素參考值百分比”偏高代表食物含大量某一種營養素,而偏低則表示只含小量。

一般來說,對於需限制攝入量的營養素(如飽和脂肪和鈉),你應選吃“營養素參考值百分比”偏低的食物,而對於健康有益的營養素(如膳食纖維),則應選吃“營養素參考值百分比”偏高的食物。

問18 為什麼有時會發現在不同時間購買同一食品的營養標籤上的營養素數值有少許差異?

由於食物的營養素成分可能因季節、加工過程、配料來源的不同而有差異,以致不同批次或不同食用限期的同一食品的營養素數值可能會有所不同。

問19 為什麼有時會發現在同一個食品的包裝上載有兩個營養標籤,而這些營養標籤上的營養素數值又可能會有少許差別?

有些預先包裝食物的包裝上可能會載有兩個營養標籤,其中一個是為符合香港新的營養資料標籤制度而製備,另外的則可能是根據其他國家∕地區的營養標籤要求而製備。由於這些國家∕地區的營養標籤要求可能有別於香港(例如可於營養標籤上標示為「零」的營養素含量),因此這些營養標籤上的營養素數值可能會有少許差別。

D) 營養聲稱

問20 我可否相信預先包裝食物上的營養聲稱?

《修訂規例》將於二零一零年七月一日生效,屆時營養標籤將會十分可靠,因為所有附有營養素含量聲稱、營養素比較聲稱或營養素功能聲稱的食物均須符合特定條件。此外,食物如要作出營養素功能聲稱(如鈣可令骨骼強健),必須以有力的科學證據作為基礎,故此消費者可以相信這些聲稱。

問21 我以往每天早上所吃的麥片的包裝正面標有“高纖” (high fibre) 一詞,這是否可信?

《修訂規例》將於二零一零年七月一日生效,屆時這麥片每100克必須含有至少6克膳食纖維,才可作出“高纖”的聲稱。

問22 我的母親有一天在超級市場買了一包低鹽(low salt)穀類早餐。這是否代表此穀類早餐的鈉含量低?

是,鹽又稱為氯化鈉。鈉可用作食物添加劑(如硝酸鈉或亞硝酸鈉),而部分食物(包括奶類)天然含有鈉。如在二零一零年七月一日之後此穀類早餐作出“低鹽”的聲稱,每100克食物必須含不多於120毫克鈉。

問23 如牌子A薯片聲稱含較少脂肪(less fat),是否代表該薯片是低脂(low fat)食物?

這視乎營養標籤上標示的脂肪含量而定。“含較少脂肪”一詞屬於營養素比較聲稱。這類聲稱旨在比較相同或同類食物(如牌子B薯片)的能量或營養素含量(在這個例子中是脂肪含量),未必代表該食物的能量或某一種特定營養素含量低。

牌子A薯片列明含較少脂肪,則表示它的脂肪含量較牌子B薯片低至少25%,同時每100克牌子A薯片的脂肪含量應較每100克牌子B薯片低至少3克。你可在包裝上有關的聲稱附近找到含量的差異。

如欲選吃低脂薯片,你須查看脂肪含量。如牌子A薯片每100克含少於3克總脂肪,方可聲稱為“低脂”食物。

問24 牌子C芝士每100克含3克脂肪,聲稱為“低脂” (low fat)食物。牌子D奶每100毫升只含2克脂肪,卻沒有聲稱為“低脂”食物。為什麼呢?

製造商可選擇是否在食物上加上營養聲稱,因此,即使預先包裝食物符合附有聲稱的條件,你未必一定會找到營養聲稱。如固體食物聲稱為“低脂”食物,每100克須含不多於3克總脂肪。不過,如液體食物欲聲稱為“低脂”食物,則每100毫升須含不多於1.5克總脂肪,因此,牌子D奶不能聲稱為“低脂”食物。

問25 有人說,為保持健康飲食,我們只應選吃附有營養聲稱(如“低脂”、“無糖”(no sugar)或“不含鈉”(no sodium)的食物。這種說法是否正確呢?

不正確。即使營養聲稱可用作方便快捷的參考準則選擇食物,你亦應查看營標籤上其他營養素的資料,以了解食物的整體營養成分。舉例來說,低脂曲奇餅可能含有大量能量和糖,而低鈉薯片則可能含有大量脂肪。

查看營養聲稱和營養標籤可幫助你選擇健康的飲食,而標籤上的配料表亦十分有用。食物的個別配料會按重量由最多至最少依次列出。舉例來說,如某款餅乾的配料表最先列出麪粉,其次是燕麥,而另一款餅乾的配料表最後才列出燕麥,你便知道前者比後者可能含較多膳食纖維。

 

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 07-01-2010