Frequently Asked Questions Print Friendly

Food Allergen

1. Is there any minimum threshold or tolerance limit for allergens in prepackaged food?

At present, there is no tolerance limit for allergens in food as it is generally considered that a trace of allergens can lead to allergic reactions.

2. Are the eight allergens listed in the law adopted according to international standards? Do they have corresponding international identification numbers?

The eight allergens listed in the law are adopted according to the standards of the Codex Alimentarius Commission. Sulphite is one of food allergens requiring for labelling that belongs to a food additive. There are nine food additives containing sulphite and their international identification numbers are 220, 221, 222, 223, 224, 225, 226, 227 and 539 respectively. Other allergens, such as milk, eggs and peanuts, do not have international identification numbers as they are natural food instead of food additives.

3. Are there any prepackaged food exempted from the labelling requirements on allergens?

According to Schedule 4 to the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations, some prepackaged food are exempted from the requirements of declaring allergens in the list of ingredients in paragraph 2 of Schedule 3. They include prepackaged food packed in a container the largest surface of which has an area of less than 10 cm2, individually wrapped preserved fruits which are intended for sale as single items, any food consisting of a single ingredient, etc.

4. Is food allergy common?

In fact, of all the individuals who have adverse reactions to certain foods, only a few have true food allergy. The World Health Organization estimates that around 1-3% of adults and 4-6% of children suffer from food allergy. One should seek medical advice if an adverse reaction to a certain food is suspected.

5. How much food allergens have to be taken to cause an allergy?

The reactions to food allergens vary with individuals. Even trace amount of allergens can cause an allergic reaction. Food allergen cannot be eliminated by cooking methods, therefore people suffering from food allergies should pay special attention to food ingredients.

6. Are all shellfishes common food allergens?

No. According to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, crustacean shellfish (such as shrimp, crab, or lobster) are major sources of food allergen, but molluscan shellfish (such as oysters, scallops or clams) are not.

7. What are tree nuts?

Tree nuts are the seeds of trees which are enclosed in hard shells. Its edible portions are called kernels. The nuts that are most likely causing allergic reactions are almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, cashew nuts, pine nuts, Brazil nuts, macadamia nuts, and pecans.

8 . Does the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) carry out inspections to see if allergens are present in prepackaged food in the market since the Amendment Regulation came into effect on 10 July 2007? Does it focus on certain types of food?

Since the Regulation came into effect on 10 July 2007, the CFS has carried out law enforcement by three different means: (1) taking samples in the market, requesting manufacturers/importers to correct the labels if undeclared allergen(s) is/are found in prepackaged food and considering prosecution if they fail to follow instructions. The samples taken are mainly food that may contain allergens; (2) inspecting the labels on prepackaged food in the market and issuing warning letters to manufacturers/importers for labels not complying with the required format (e.g. should mark Tuna (fish) instead of Tuna); (3) taking follow-up actions upon receipt of complaints.

9. Is it required to declare allergens in both Chinese and English?

According to paragraph 8 of Schedule 3 to the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations, the labelling of prepackaged food shall be in either the English or the Chinese language or in both languages.


Back  Back to Top
 
 
2007 copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 30-07-2007

常見的問題 友善列印

食物致敏物

1. 現時有否就預先包裝食物中的致敏物制定最低標準或容忍限量?

目前並沒有為食物中的致敏物含量訂定容忍限量,因為一般相信很小量的致敏物也會引起過敏反應。

2. 法例訂明的八種致敏物是否根據國際標準訂立?有沒有相對應的國際編號?

法例訂明的八種致敏物是根據聯合國食品法典委員會的標準訂立。其中一種須標籤的致敏物亞硫酸鹽屬於食品添加劑。現時,有九種食品添加劑含有亞硫酸鹽,其國際識別編號分別是220、221、222、223、224、225、226、227及539。其他致敏物例如奶、蛋及花生等,屬於天然食物而不是食品添加劑,所以沒有國際識別編號。

3. 有沒有預先包裝食物獲豁免標示致敏物?

根據《食物及藥物(成分組合及標籤)規例》附表4,有些預先包裝食物獲豁免遵從附表3第2段的規定,無須在配料表列明致敏物。這些食物包括其包裝容器最大平面面積少於10平方厘米的食物,獨立包裝並擬作單份出售的涼果和含有單一種配料的食物等。

4. 食物過敏普遍嗎?

事實上,對某種食物有不良反應的人當中,只有少數屬真正的食物過敏。據世界衞生組織估計,約有1~3%成人及4~6%兒童患有食物過敏。如果懷疑自己對某種食物有不良反應,應諮詢醫生的意見。

5. 要吃多少含致敏物的食物才會有過敏反應?

對食物中致敏物的反應因人而異,即使微量的致敏物亦可引起過敏。烹煮過程不能消除致敏物,因此過敏人士須特別留意食物的成分。

6. 所有介貝類水產都是常見的致敏食物嗎?

不是的。根據美國食物及藥物管理局,甲殼類介貝如蝦、蟹、龍蝦是常見的致敏食物,而軟體動物類介貝如蠔、帶子、蜆等則較少引起過敏。

7. 甚麼是木本堅果?

木本堅果是指樹木的種子,有硬殼包裹,可食用的部分稱為果仁。最常令人產生過敏的木本堅果包括杏仁、榛子、合桃、腰果、松子、巴西果仁、夏威夷果仁及美洲胡桃。

8. 修訂規例於2007年7月10日生效後,食物安全中心會否抽查市面上預先包裝食物是否含致敏物?會否集中在某類食物?

在今年7月10日規例生效後,中心已循三個不同途徑進行執法:(1) 在市面抽取樣本,若發現預先包裝食物含有沒有標示的致敏物,會要求生產商/入口商更正標籤,若業界未能跟從有關指示,當局會考慮作出檢控。所抽取的樣本集中於一些可能含致敏物的食物;(2) 查看市面上預先包裝食物的標籤,並向未符合規定的生產商/入口商發警告信要求更正標籤(例如應標示榛子(木本堅果)而不是榛子);(3) 按投訴個案採取跟進行動。

9. 是否需要以中文及英文標示致敏物?

根據《食物及藥物(成分組合及標籤)規例》附表3第8段的規定,預先包裝食物的標籤須使用中文或英文,或中英文兼用。


上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 30-07-2007