Banner of Iodine in Infant formula

Frequently Asked Questions

Concerns of Locally Available Infant Formula (Q 1.1 - 1.3) Iodine for Infants (Q 2.1 - 2.9) Iodine Content Requirements in Infant Formula (Q 3.1 - 3.9) Comparison of the Iodine Content in Infant Formula with Codex standards (Q 4.1 - 4.6) Comparison of the Iodine Content in Infant Formula with WHO daily iodine intake requirement (Q5.1-5.3)

Iodine for Infants

2.1 What is iodine and what is its function?
  Iodine is an essential nutrient used for the production of thyroid hormones. In the body, thyroid hormones are responsible for some metabolic processes and are required for normal growth, bone formation, the development of the brain, and energy metabolism.
2.2 What are the sources of iodine in infants?
  Diet is the major source of iodine intake for human. Iodine is present in breast milk. Before the introduction of complementary food (i.e. weaning or transition to solid foods, normally at around 6 months of age), breastmilk is the only food source of dietary iodine for exclusively breast-fed infants. If infant formula has been chosen to partially or wholly replace breastmilk, the iodine content in the infant formula will affect the dietary iodine intake of the infant.

During weaning, the sources of dietary iodine of the infants will depend on the foods taken, including breastmilk (or infant formula) and the complementary foods.

Small amount of iodine is present in local tap water (about 10 μg/L). Certain foods such as marine fish and seaweed are naturally relatively rich in iodine.
2.3 How much iodine is needed for infants?
  WHO recommends dietary intakes of iodine for infants aged 0-12 months at 15 μg/kg body weight/day (i.e. 90μg/day, assuming a 6-month infant weighing 6 kg). Nevertheless, when the iodine intake is about one third of this value (i.e. 5μg/kg body weight /day), this may affect the functioning of the thyroid gland. If the thyroid gland's normal functions are significantly affected, there may be potential impact on the brain development of infants.
2.4 What are the health risks of insufficient iodine intake in infants?
  Thyroid hormones play a major role in the growth and development of the body and brain in humans. If iodine deficiency exists during this period , it may result in thyroid hormone deficiency (hypothyroidism) . If the thyroid gland's normal functions are significantly affected, there may be potential impact on the brain development of infants.
2.5 How much iodine is in breastmilk?
  According to literature, the iodine content of breastmilk varies markedly as a function of the iodine intake of the population, which is affected by the iodine content in the diet being consumed, and whether there is iodine fortification policy. It can vary from tens to thousands of micrograms per liter of breastmilk.

Currently, there is very limited data on the iodine content in breastmilk of Hong Kong lactating women.
2.6 How to choose infant formula? New
 

Breastmilk is the best for infants. However, when it is necessary to feed your baby with infant formula, you may check the nutrition label on the product for its nutritional composition. Codex develops harmonised international food standards to protect the health of the consumers and ensure fair trade practices in the food trade. The goal of Codex in establishing the minimum and maximum values for the essential composition of infant formula is to provide safe and nutritionally adequate infant formula products that meet the normal nutritional requirements of infants. An infant formula product meeting the Codex recommendation should contain nutrients in amount shown in the table below-

Energy/ Nutrient Unit Content
Energy kcal/100ml 60 - 70
Protein g/100kcal 1.8 - 3.0
Total fat g/100kcal 4.4 - 6.0
Linoleic acid mg/100kcal 300 - 1400
α -Linolenic acid mg/100kcal ≥ 50
Total carbohydrates g/100kcal 9.0 - 14.0
Vitamin A µgRE/100kcal 60 - 180
Vitamin D 3 µg/100kcal 1 - 2.5
Vitamin E mg α-TE/100kcal 0.5 - 5
Vitamin K µg/100kcal 4 - 27
Thiamin µg/100kcal 60 - 300
Riboflavin µg/100kcal 80 - 500
Niacin µg/100kcal 300 -1500
Vitamin B6 µg/100kcal 35 - 175
Vitamin B12 µg/100kcal 0.1 - 1.5
Pantothenic acid µg/100kcal 400 - 2000
Folic acid µg/100kcal 10 - 50
Vitamin C mg/100kcal 10 - 70
Biotin µg/100kcal 1.5 - 10
Iron mg/100kcal ≥ 0.45
Calcium mg/100kcal 50 - 140
Phosphorus mg/100kcal 25 - 100
Magnesium mg/100kcal 5 - 15
Sodium mg/100kcal 20 - 60
Chloride mg/100kcal 50 - 160
Potassium mg/100kcal 60 - 180
Manganese µg/100kcal 1 - 100
Iodine µg/100kcal 10 - 60
Selenium µg/100kcal 1 - 9
Copper µg/100kcal 35 - 120
Zinc mg/100kcal 0.5 – 1.5
Choline mg/100kcal 7 - 50
Myo-Inositol mg/100kcal 4 - 40
L-Carnitine mg/100kcal ≥ 1.2

You may wish to note that nutrient level below or above Codex standard does not necessarily mean the consumer's health is at risk. When assessing whether a product may pose health risk to the targetted consumer, risk assessment has to be carried out, taking into account of feeding instruction of each product, average body weight of local infants, etc. You should consult your family doctor or paediatrician if in doubt.

2.7 How can I know the iodine content in infant formula?
  The iodine content in infant formulae available in the market may vary from brand to brand. Generally, the iodine content of an infant formula is declared on the container. Use the nutrition labelling on the product to find out its iodine content. Refer to Iodine Content Requirements in Infant Formula to check the iodine content of an infant formula and help you choose one which suits your baby. Centre for Food Safety has also uploaded the Iodine Level in Selected Infant Formulae available in Hong Kong to it's website for public enquiries.
2.8 Would there be any difference in the iodine content in the prepared liquid infant formula milk if I use bottled distilled water or boiled tap water when preparing it?
  It has been revealed from laboratory analysis that s mall amount of iodine (about 10 μg/L) is present in local boiled tap water whereas iodine is not detected in bottled distilled water. As such, using boiled tap water to prepare infant formula will add extra iodine in the prepared liquid infant formula milk.
2.9 Where can I find more information about nutrition for infants and lactating women?
  Visit the Department of Health (DH)'s Family Health Services website on infant nutrition, on nutritional advice to pregnant and lactating mothers, or consult your family doctors or paediatricians . For foods rich in iodine, visit the CFS website on the Risk Assessment Report of the Dietary Iodine Intake in Hong Kong Adults.

嬰兒配方奶粉中的碘橫額

常見問題

關注市面上的嬰兒配方奶粉 (Q1.1-1.3)嬰兒與碘 (Q2.1-2.9)嬰兒配方奶粉的含碘量要求 (Q3.1-3.9)嬰兒配方奶粉中的碘含量與食品法典委員會標準作比較 (Q4.1-4.6)嬰兒配方奶粉中的碘含量與世衛建議的嬰兒每日碘攝入量作比較(Q5.1-5.3)

嬰兒與碘

2.1 碘的功能是甚麼?
  碘是一種用來製造甲狀腺激素的必需營養素。在人體中,甲狀腺激素是負責一些代謝過程。在正常生長、骨骼形成、大腦發育和能量代謝都需要甲狀腺激素。
2.2 嬰兒的碘來源是甚麼?
 

人體的碘主要來自膳食。母乳含有碘。在引進輔助食品前(引進固體食物的過渡期通常大約在6月齡),母乳是純母乳餵哺嬰兒膳食碘的唯一食物來源。如果已選擇以嬰兒配方奶粉代替部分或全部母乳,嬰兒配方奶粉中的碘含量就會影響嬰兒的膳食碘攝入量。

在引進輔助食品期間,嬰兒的膳食碘來源取決於食用的食物包括母乳(或嬰兒配方奶粉)和輔助食品。

本地自來水含少量碘(每公升約10微克)。某些食物,如海魚和海藻等天然含有相對豐富的碘。

2.3 嬰兒需要多少碘?
  世衞建議0至12月齡的嬰兒的膳食碘攝入量為每日每公斤體重15微克(假設一個體重6公斤的6月齡嬰兒,即每日90微克)。然而,如果其碘攝入量少於世衞建議的三分之一(即每日每公斤體重5微克), 有可能影響甲狀腺功能,如甲狀腺功能顯著受損,不排除嬰兒腦部發育可能受影響。
2.4 碘攝入量不足的嬰兒有甚麼健康風險?
  甲狀腺激素對身體及大腦的生長和發育有重要的作用。如果在這段期間缺乏碘可能引致甲狀腺激素不足。如甲狀腺功能顯著受損,不排除嬰兒腦部發育可能受影響。
2.5 母乳中的碘含量是多少?
  根據文獻記載,母乳中的碘含量視乎不同人群的碘攝入量而有明顯的差異。人群的碘攝入量取決於膳食中碘含量,以及是否有強化碘的政策。母乳中的碘含量可介乎每公升幾十至數千微克不等。

目前,香港哺乳婦女乳汁中碘含量的數據非常有限。
2.6 如何選擇嬰兒配方奶粉? 新
 

母乳是嬰兒的最佳食品。然而,如必須以嬰兒配方奶粉餵哺你的嬰孩,你可查閱產品標籤上的營養標籤,以瞭解產品的營養成分。食品法典委員會制訂協調一致的國際食品標準,以保障消費者的健康和確保食品公平貿易。食品法典委員會制訂嬰兒配方奶粉的基本成分的最高及最低值,其目的是提供符合嬰兒正常營養需求、安全和營養充足的嬰兒配方奶粉。如嬰兒配方奶粉的營養素含量與下表所示相符,便能符合食品法典委員會的有關建議。

能量營養素 單位 含量
能量 千卡 /100 亳升 60 - 70
蛋白質 克 /100 千卡 1.8 - 3.0
總脂肪 克 /100 千卡 4.4 - 6.0
亞油酸 亳克 /100 千卡 300 - 1400
α-亞麻酸 亳克 /100 千卡 ≥ 50
總碳水化合物 克 /100 千卡 9.0 - 14.0
維生素 A 微克 RE/100 千卡 60 - 180
維生素 D 3 微克 /100 千卡 1 - 2.5
維生素 E 亳克 α-TE /100 千卡 0.5 - 5
維生素 K 微克 /100 千卡 4 - 27
維生素 B1 微克 /100 千卡 60 - 300
核黃素 微克 /100 千卡 80 - 500
煙酸 微克 /100 千卡 300 -1500
維生素 B6 微克 /100 千卡 35 - 175
維生素 B12 微克 /100 千卡 0.1 - 1.5
泛酸 微克 /100 千卡 400 - 2000
葉酸 微克 /100 千卡 10 - 50
維生素 C 亳克 /100 千卡 10 - 70
生物素 微克 /100 千卡 1.5 - 10
亳克 /100 千卡 ≥ 0.45
亳克 /100 千卡 50 - 140
亳克 /100 千卡 25 - 100
亳克 /100 千卡 5 - 15
亳克 /100 千卡 20 - 60
亳克 /100 千卡 50 - 160
亳克 /100 千卡 60 - 180
微克 /100 千卡 1 - 100
微克 /100 千卡 10 - 60
微克 /100 千卡 1 - 9
微克 /100 千卡 35 - 120
亳克 /100 千卡 0.5 – 1.5
膽鹼 亳克 /100 千卡 7 - 50
肌醇 亳克 /100 千卡 4 - 40
L-肉鹼 亳克 /100 千卡 ≥ 1.2

請注意:高於或低於食品法典委員會標準的營養素含量並不一定對消費者的健康構成風險。在評估一個產品是否對目標消費者構成健康風險時,要進行風險評估,並考慮各產品的餵哺指引、本地嬰兒的平均體重等因素。如有疑問,應向家庭醫生或兒科醫生查詢。

2.7 我如何知道嬰兒配方奶粉中的碘含量?
  市面上不同品牌嬰兒配方奶粉的碘含量可能各有差異。一般來說,嬰兒配方奶粉的碘含量會標示在容器上。你可利用產品上的營養標籤來找出它的碘含量。請參閱嬰兒配方奶粉的含碘量要求來檢查嬰兒配方奶粉的碘含量和助你為寶寶選擇合適的嬰兒配方奶粉。食物安全中心亦已將香港部分品牌的嬰兒配方奶粉中的碘含量上載至中心網頁,供消費者查詢。
2.8 如果我使用瓶裝蒸麪水或煮沸的自來水來沖調嬰兒配方奶粉,其碘含量是否有差異?
  化驗分析指出,本地煮沸的自來水含有少量的碘(每公升約10微克),但瓶裝蒸麪水卻檢測不到碘。因此,以煮沸的自來水來沖調嬰兒配方奶粉會額外增加沖調好的液態嬰兒配方奶的碘含量。
2.9 我在哪裡可以找到更多有關嬰兒及授乳女性營養的資訊?
  你可以瀏覽衞生署家庭健康服務的網站有關嬰兒營養及有關懷孕期與哺乳期的營養,或諮詢你的家庭醫生或兒科醫生。你亦可瀏覽食物安全中心的網站有關香港成年人從膳食攝入碘的情況的風險評估研究報告中,查詢碘含量較豐富的食物。