Risk Communication >> Subject Areas >> Food Safety Topics Print Friendly

The Use of Veterinary Drug and Food Safety

The recent media reports on the use of veterinary drugs, including antibiotics, in poultry supplied to a fast food chain have raised concerns in some people.

According to the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), prudent use of veterinary drugs (including antibiotics) has tremendous benefits for animal health and judicious use of antibiotics in agriculture should reduce the emergence and spread of resistant bacteria in animals and on produce, and minimise public health risks. The Center for Food Safety (CFS) takes similar view on the issue.

In accordance to the power conferred by the Harmful Substances in Food Regulation (Cap.132AF) and Imported Games, Meats and Poultry Regulation (Cap.132AK), the CFS has legal power to control the level of over 40 veterinary medicines in food as well as to stipulate the need to import games, meats and poultry with official health certificate, therefore protecting the health of the public.

The CFS has collected over 400 samples of poultry products in 2014 for tests of antibiotics, and all results passed the test. In 2012 and 2013, the CFS collected around 350 samples per annum and only one fresh chicken sample was tested positive for chlortetracycline and oxytetracycline which exceeded the legal limit in March 2013.

The CFS has initiated the dialogue with the concerned restaurant on the matter and will continue liaise with the restaurant for more information related to the use of veterinary drugs (including antibiotics) in the imported poultry products.

Since the detection of report, the CFS has already been embarking on a new round of surveillance which collects concerned poultry products from the markets for test of veterinary drugs. Investigation is still ongoing.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 09-03-2015

风险传达>>主题项目>>食物安全专页 友善列印

使用兽药与食物安全

最近有媒体报道一些提供给快餐连锁店的家禽使用了兽药,包括抗生素。这些报道引起了部份人士的担忧。

联合国粮食及农业组织(粮农组织)指出,谨慎使用包括抗生素在内的兽药对动物健康有莫大裨益。在务农过程明智使用抗生素能减少细菌出现抗药性的问题在食用动物及农作物间之发生及蔓延,减低公共卫生的风险。食物安全中心(中心)与粮农组织所持的观点相近。

根据现行法律赋予中心的权力,中心可按香港法例第132AF章《食物内有害物质规例》规管四十多种兽药(包括抗生素)在食物内的含量。此外,根据香港法例第132AK章《进口野味、肉类及家禽规例》,进口野味、肉类或禽肉必须附有卫生证书。这些现行法例已赋予中心权限来保障公衆健康。

中心于2014年共抽取超过400个禽肉样本作抗生素测试,测试结果全部合格。中心在2012及2013年每年抽取约350个禽肉样本,其中只有一个鲜鸡样本于2013年3月被检出金霉素和土霉素的兽药残余超出法例标准。

中心已跟有关的餐厅取得联络,并会继续就事件向该公司了解进口禽肉使用兽药的详情。

中心自得悉有关报告后,已即时开始在市场抽取相关样本作兽检测。调查仍然继续。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 09-03-2015