Risk Communication >> Subject Areas >> Food Safety Topics Print Friendly

橫額

Not to consume any food found abandoned on the street

Media reported that some people took home expired frozen ham and cheese abandoned at a refuse collection point in Yuen Long and on a roadside in Kwai Chung. The Centre for Food Safety considers that from the food safety angle, any food found abandoned on the street should not be collected for consumption, even though its appearance may be normal.

Refrigerated ready-to-eat foods including ham and cheese are perishable. They may contain and support the growth of food poisoning bacteria to unsafe levels before noticeably spoiled. They are therefore likely to constitute an immediate danger to human health after their expiry dates. Furthermore, the adverse effects of eating expired perishable foods can be worse after they have been kept without refrigeration for hours.

Under suitable temperature (i.e. from 4 oC to 60 oC, regarded as temperature danger zone), bacteria can multiply very quickly on high-risk foods; their number can double every 10 to 20 minutes. When some pathogenic bacteria multiply to a certain amount, they can cause food poisoning. Symptoms of food poisoning include upset stomach, abdominal cramps, nausea and vomiting, diarrhoea, fever, and dehydration. Symptoms may range from mild to severe. Perishable food items should be discarded if stored above 4oC for more than 4 hours.

   
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 26-08-2015

风险传达>>主题项目>>食物安全专页 友善列印

橫額

切勿进食被弃置在街上的食物

有传媒报道指有市民把被弃置在元朗垃圾站和葵涌路边的急冻火腿、芝士搬回家中。食物安全中心指出,从食物安全的角度而言,被弃置在街上的食物即使外观看起来没有问题,也不应捡来吃。

火腿和芝士等冷藏即食食品本身容易变坏,在出现明显的变坏迹象之前,食品所含有的致病菌数目可能已达不安全水平,并且一直在增加。因此,进食这类过期食品有可能对身体有即时危险,尤其是当这些过期的易坏食品在室温已放置一段时间,吃了对身体的影响更加严重。

在适合的温度(即摄氏4度至60度的危险温度范围)下,高风险食物中的细菌繁殖非常迅速,每10至20分钟便可增加一倍。当致病菌繁殖至一定数量,便会造成食物中毒。食物中毒的症状由轻微至严重不等,包括胃部不适、腹部绞痛、恶心、呕吐、腹泻、发烧和脱水等。易坏食品在摄氏4度以上的环境中放置超过4小时后便应丢弃。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 26-08-2015