Risk Communication >> Subject Areas >> Food Safety Topics Print Friendly

Food Safety Control in Response to Nuclear Incident in Japan

It has been over two years since the Fukushima nuclear incident in Japan. Occasionally, there are media reports on safety concerns related to food produced in Japan. For example, observations in Japan related to increased incidence of thyroid nodules and cysts have been reported by the media. Are foods imported from Japan to Hong Kong safe for consumption?

The Japanese authorities have been monitoring the levels of radioactivity in the environment and foodstuffs. Specific food categories from five prefectures of Japan (namely, Fukushima, Ibaraki, Tochigi, Gunma and Chiba) are allowed for exportation to Hong Kong provided that they are accompanied by radiation certificate attesting that the radiation levels do not exceed the Codex Guideline Levels.

In Hong Kong, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has a surveillance programme to monitor the radioactivity in food. After the nuclear incident in Japan , the CFS has stepped up surveillance at both the import and retail levels for food imported from Japan and the surveillance results have been regularly uploaded at the designated webpage of Nuclear Event and Food Safety. So far, except the three vegetable samples collected at import level were found to contain Iodine-131 exceeding the Codex Standard at the beginning of the Fukushima incident in March 2011, no excessive radioactivity has been detected in food available for sale in the local market and consumption of food imported from Japan is not likely to pose adverse effects to human health. To ensure food safety, the CFS will keep in view the development of the incident and continue to monitor radioactivity in food imported from Japan.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 21-08-2013

风险传达>>主题项目>>食物安全专页 友善列印

针对日本核事故的食物安全监控

日本福岛核事故已过去两年多,仍不时有传媒报道日本食物的安全问题。例如,有报道指日本患甲状腺结节和甲状腺囊肿的人数上升。那么,本港从日本进口的食物安全吗?

日本政府一直有监察环境和食物中的辐射水平。日本五个县(即福岛、茨城、枥木、千叶及群马)的若干食品种类必须附有辐射水平证明书,证明其辐射水平低于食品法典委员会的指引限值,才能出口到香港。

本港的食物安全中心亦设有监察计划,监察食物中的辐射水平。日本发生核事故后,中心已在进口和零售层面加强对日本进口食品的辐射检测,并把检测结果定期上载核事故与食物安全专页。直至目前为止,除了二零一一年三月福岛核事故发生初期,有三个在进口时抽取的蔬菜样本检出碘─131超出食品法典委员会的指引限值外,本港市场上抽取的样本均没有检出过量辐射。所以,食用日本进口的食物不大可能对人类健康造成不良影响。为确保食物安全,中心会留意事态发展,并继续监察日本进口食物的辐射水平。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期:21-08-2013