Risk Communication >> Subject Areas >> Food Safety Topics Print Friendly

Food Products with False Description

In recent years, there have been media reports of food products with false description. Some examples were counterfeit rice, counterfeit oranges, fake crocodile meat, and horse meat sold as beef. What is the role of Centre for Food Safety (CFS) in this type of incidents?

The CFS is responsible for ensuring that food for sale in Hong Kong is fit for human consumption. The CFS carries out regulatory and enforcement work in accordance with the provisions on food safety, food standards and labelling requirements under the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132) and its subsidiary legislation.# Besides, consumers are protected by the Trade Descriptions Ordinance (Cap. 362) which prohibit false trade descriptions and misstatements in respect of goods provided in the course of trade. The Customs & Excise Department (C&ED) is responsible for enforcing the Trade Descriptions Ordinance. The CFS is ready to collaborate and support if the situation warrants.

#Some of the relevant provisions are listed below:.

  • According to Section 54 of Cap. 132, any person who sells any food unfit for human consumption shall be guilty of an offence.
  • Under Section 52 of Cap. 132, if any person sells to the prejudice of a purchaser any food which is not of the nature, or not of the substance, or not of the quality, of the food demanded by the purchaser, he shall be guilty of an offence.
  • Under Section 61 of Cap. 132, if any person falsely describes the food or misleads as to the nature of the food on a label of the food sold by him, he shall be guilty of an offence.
  • Section 4A of the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations (Cap. 132W) stipulates that prepackaged food shall be marked and labelled in the prescribed manner. The food name or designation so marked and labelled shall not be false, misleading or deceptive in any respect as to the nature of the food.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 22-07-2014

风险传达>>主题项目>>食物安全专页 友善列印

食物虚假说明

近年来,不时有媒体报道食物的说明与事实不符的事件,例如冒牌米、冒牌橙、假鳄鱼肉、以马肉冒充牛肉出售等。食物安全中心(中心)在这类事件担当什麽角色呢?

中心的职责是确保本港出售的食物可供安全食用。中心会依据《公众卫生及市政条例》(第132章) 及其附属法例中有关食物安全、食物标准及标签要求的条文进行规管及执法工作。#另一方面,《商品说明条例》(第362章)禁止在营商过程中,对提供的货品作出虚假商品说明及错误陈述,以保障消费者。香港海关负责执行《商品说明条例》,而中心则会视乎情况予以配合和支持。

# 一些相关的法例规定列举如下:

  • 《公众卫生及市政条例》(第132章) 第54条规定,任何人如售卖不宜供人食用的食物,即属违法。
  • 《公众卫生及市政条例》(第132章) 第52条规定,任何人如售卖食物,而其性质、物质或品质与购买人所要求的食物所具有者不符,以致对购买人不利,即属违法。
  • 《公众卫生及市政条例》(第132章) 第61条规定,任何人如在其标签上对所售卖的食物作出虚假说明或在食物的性质方面误导他人,即属违法。
  • 《食物及药物(成分组合及标签)规例》(第132W章) 第4A条规定,预先包装食物须依照订明的方式加上标签,包括食物名称或称号,不得在任何方面就食物的性质有虚假、误导或诈骗成分。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期:22-07-2014